默沙东 诊疗手册

欢迎来到默沙东诊疗手册专业版医讯网站 本网站旨在为医药专业人员提供在线服务,如果您不是医药专业人员,建议您退出网站,登录默沙东中国官方网站了解相关信息。默沙东诊疗手册网站将对所有注册用户信息进行验证,医药专业人员必须接受并遵守用户协议条款才能使用本网站。如注册人员信息没能通过验证,默沙东诊疗手册网站有权终止该用户使用本网站的权利,在本网站每一网页下方均有链接功能,您可随时通过链接浏览用户使用协议条款与网站保护政策。

honeypot link

肠易激综合征(IBS)

(痉挛性结肠)

作者:

Stephanie M. Moleski

, MD, Sidney Kimmel Medical College at Thomas Jefferson University

最后一次全面审校/修订者 11月 2017| 内容末次修改日期 12月 2017
点击此处 进行患者培训

肠易激综合征(IBS)的临床特征是反复发作腹部不适或者腹痛,符合至少两项特征:症状与排便有关、大便次数改变或大便性状改变。目前病因未知,病理生理机制尚不清。诊断是基于临床的。主要进行对症治疗,可行饮食治疗与药物治疗。治疗药物包括:抗胆碱能药物、5-羟色胺受体激动剂。

病因

肠易激综合征病因仍然未知。实验室检查、X线检查及活检未见解剖学异常。情感因素、饮食、药物或者激素可能诱发或者加重消化道症状。既往观点认为肠易激综合征为身心疾病。尽管与心理因素有关,但肠易激综合征是由社会心理因素及生理因素共同作用所致。

心理因素

IBS患者常见焦虑,尤其是寻医就诊者。一些患者有焦虑障碍、抑郁或者躯体化障碍。可见睡眠障碍共存。然而,焦虑及情感冲突并不总是与症状发生、疾病反复一致。某些IBS患者可有习得性病态行为(如,他们通过胃肠道症状表达情感冲突,通常表现为腹痛)。评估IBS患者,尤其难治性病例时,医生需注意是否有未解决心理事件,包括性侵或躯体虐待的可能性。心理社会因素亦影响IBS预后。

生理因素

多种生理因素似与IBS症状相关。包括动力改变、肠道敏感性增高(内脏痛觉过敏)以及多种基因及环境因素。

内脏痛觉高敏感指肠腔正常扩张时敏感性增强;肠内积气正常,而痛感增强,可能原因为脑-肠轴神经通路重塑。部分患者(可能占七分之一)急性胃肠炎后,出现IBS症状(称为感染后IBS)。部分IBS病人可有自主神经功能障碍。但是,许多患者并无器质性问题;即使有,也可能与症状无关。

便秘腹泻 可能分别与结肠转运过慢或太快有关。某些便秘患者结肠高幅推进性收缩较少。该收缩可将结肠内容物向前推进数段。相反,对于功能性便秘患者,乙状结肠过度活动可能减慢结肠转运时间。

餐后腹部不适可能由于过度的胃结肠反射(餐后结肠反射性收缩)、结肠高幅推进性收缩、内脏痛觉过敏)或者上述因素共同作用所致。脂肪摄入可能增加肠壁通透性,加剧内脏痛觉过感。摄入可发酵寡糖、双糖、单糖、多元醇(统称FODMAPs)含量高的食物后,由于小肠内吸收极少,故其可增加结肠蠕动及分泌。

女性激素水平变化可影响肠道功能。月经期间直肠敏感性增加,月经周期的其余时间则无此情况。性激素对胃肠蠕动影响甚小。小肠细菌过度生长对于IBS发病机制的作用仍存有争议。

症状及体征

肠易激综合征起病于青春期及20岁左右,症状反复发作,发作周期并无规律。年龄更大者发病不常见。IBS的症状极少影响睡眠。食物或压力可诱发症状。

患者腹部不适症状各不相同,以下腹不适为主,主要表现为持续性或痉挛性疼痛,与排便相关。另外,腹部不适与排便次数改变相关(腹泻型IBS中排便次数增加;便秘型IBS中排便次数减少)以及粪便性状改变(如,稀便或干结硬)相关。与排便相关的腹痛或不适可能为肠道因素所致;而与运动、活动、排尿、月经相关者,通常由其他因素所致。

尽管大部分患者症状相对恒定不变,但症状介于腹泻型与便秘型之间的患者也并不少见。患者亦可有异常排便症状(如,排便费力、紧迫感、排便不净)、黏液便、胀气或腹胀。许多患者亦有消化不良症状。肠外表现(如,疲劳感、纤维肌痛、睡眠障碍、慢性头痛)亦常见。

诊断

  • 根据罗马标准进行临床评估

  • 常规实验室检查、乙状结肠镜或结肠镜检查,筛查器质性疾病

  • 具警报症状患者行相应的检查(如,直肠出血、体重减轻、发热)

对IBS的诊断主要基于特征性排便模式、疼痛的时间及特点,以及通过体格检查与常规检查对其他疾病的排除。

危险信号

无论发病初期或诊断后任何时间,若出现下列报警症状应进行更加深入的检查:

  • 高龄

  • 发热

  • 体重下降

  • 直肠出血

  • 呕吐

鉴别诊断

因IBS患者可能发展为器质性病变,故病程中患者若出现警报症状或明显不同症状,应进行相应检查。可能与IBS混淆的常见疾病包括:

然而,结肠憩室若无炎症不会引起症状,不能以此作为病因解释。

炎症性肠病年龄分布呈双峰状,因此对于年轻及高龄患者,应考虑该诊断。> 60岁伴急性症状患者, 应考虑缺血性结肠炎 。便秘患者若无解剖结构异常,应评估是否有甲状腺功能减退高钙血症。若患者症状提示吸收不良,需考虑热带口炎性腹泻乳糜泻Whipple病。对排便困难者,排便障碍性疾病可能是造成便秘的一大原因。

腹泻罕见病因包括: 甲状腺功能亢进甲状腺髓样癌类癌综合征胃泌素瘤血管活性肠肽瘤。但是,这些原因导致的腹泻通常导致排便量 > 每日1000毫升,可与IBS鉴别。

经验与提示

  • 然而,结肠憩室无炎症时并无症状,不能作为病因解释症状。

病史

应特别关注疼痛性质、排便习惯、家庭关系、用药史及饮食史。同样重要的是患者总体情绪状态、对自身问题的认识以及生活质量。医患沟通的质量是有效诊治的关键。

罗马标准基于症状出发,为IBS诊断标准。根据罗马标准,腹痛在最近三月内每周至少有1天出现, 并且满足下列标准中 2项(1):

  • 疼痛与排便有关。

  • 疼痛与排便次数改变相关。

  • 疼痛与粪便性状改变相关。

体格检查

患者一般情况可。腹部触诊可有压痛,尤其是左下腹,有时可触及乙状结肠,伴压痛。所有患者均需行直肠指检及粪便隐血检查。对于女性患者,盆腔检查有助除外卵巢肿瘤、囊肿或者子宫内膜异位症,上述疾病可有类似IBS症状。

检查

若患者无报警症状:如,直肠出血、体重下降、发热或者提示其他疾病的临床表现,可根据罗马标准做出IBS诊断。很多IBS患者接受过度检查;然而,应考虑进行下列检查:血常规、血生化(包括肝功能)、乳糜泻的血清学标志物(抗组织型转谷氨酰胺酶抗体IgA水平)、粪便虫卵及寄生虫检查(以腹泻为主要症状的患者)、TSH及血钙(以便秘为主症状的患者)、乙状结肠镜或结肠镜检查。

行纤维乙状结肠镜检查时,内镜进入及空气注入常引发肠痉挛及疼痛。IBS患者肠道黏膜及血管形态通常正常。> 50岁的患者首选结肠镜检查以排除结肠息肉和肿瘤。慢性腹泻患者,尤其老年妇女,行粘膜活检除外镜下结肠炎可能。

仅当有其他客观异常表现时,进行额外检查(如,超声、CT、钡剂灌肠、胃镜、小肠X线摄片)。考虑为脂肪泻时,行粪便脂肪含量测定。当怀疑吸收不良时,建议进行小肠评估(如肠镜检查,胶囊内镜检查)。相应情况下,需考虑行碳水化合物不耐受试验或小肠细菌过度生长试验。

并发疾病

随后IBS患者可能罹患其他消化道疾病,因此医生不能忽视患者的主诉。症状的改变(如,部位、类型、疼痛强度、排便习惯、便秘及腹泻)或出现新症状或主诉(如,夜间腹泻),可能提示其他疾病。若有下列症状,需进一步检查:鲜血便、体重下降、剧烈腹痛或异常腹胀、脂肪泻或者粪便恶臭、发热或寒战、持续呕吐、呕血、症状影响睡眠(由于疼痛、排便而醒来)及症状持续加重。>40岁患者较年轻人更容易并发器质性疾病。

诊断参考文献

治疗

  • 支持及理解

  • 正常饮食,避免食用产气或导致腹泻食物

  • 便秘者增加纤维素摄入

  • 药物治疗针对主要症状

治疗主要针对特定症状。有效的治疗关系对于有效控制IBS至关重要。需鼓励患者表述症状、对症状的理解及就诊原因(如,对于严重疾病的恐惧)。对患者进行相应宣教(如,正常的肠道生理,肠道对压力及食物高敏感性);完善相关检查若无阳性发现,应宽慰患者目前并无严重或危及生命疾病。设定合适的治疗目标(如,对正常病程或变化的预期、药物副作用、恰当的医患关系)。

最后,患者积极参与治疗有助于疾病恢复。若上述方法取得成功,可增强患者的治疗依从性、建立更良性的医患关系,并促使最为被动的患者动用应对资源。需要识别、评估及处理患者的心理压力、焦虑或者情绪障碍。定期锻炼有助减轻压力、恢复肠道功能,尤其对于便秘患者。

饮食

总体而言,应遵循合理膳食。忌暴饮暴食,应细嚼慢咽。腹胀、胀气患者应减少摄入:豆类、卷心菜及其他含有可发酵碳水化合物食物。减少天然或加工食品(苹果及葡萄汁、香蕉、坚果、葡萄干)中的甜味剂(如山梨醇、甘露醇、果糖)摄入,可能减轻肠胃胀气、腹胀、腹泻。而乳糖不耐受者应减少牛奶及乳制品的摄入。低脂饮食可减轻餐后腹部症状。

补充膳食纤维素可软化粪便,有助排便。摄入相关制剂以增加粪便体积(如粗糠,起始剂量为每次随餐服用15 mL [1汤勺],同时增加饮水量)。另外,亦可选用车前子亲水胶散剂,以两杯水冲服。然而,过量摄入膳食纤维可致腹胀及腹泻,故摄入量需因人而异。有时,改用合成纤维制剂(如,甲基纤维素),可缓解腹胀。

药物治疗

(参见美国胃肠病学会肠易激综合征的综述 技术综述 及有关肠易激综合征药物治疗 指南 。)

药物治疗针对主要症状。抗胆碱能药物(如,莨菪碱0.125 mg,餐前30~60分钟口服)可用于缓解肠痉挛。

便秘型肠易激综合征(IBS-C)患者,予氯离子通道激活剂鲁比前列酮8 mcg或24 mcg,po,bid;鸟苷酸环化酶C激动剂利那洛肽145 mcg或290 mcg,po,qd,有助缓解症状。有关聚乙二醇缓泻剂用于IBS的研究尚不完善。然而,已证实其可有效治疗慢性便秘、可用于结肠镜检查前的肠道准备,因此常用于IBS-C治疗。

对于以腹泻为主IBS((IBS-D)患者,可餐前口服苯乙哌啶2.5 mg~5 mg或洛哌丁胺2 mg~4 mg。洛哌丁胺逐渐加量,以缓解腹泻,同时应避免便秘发生。抗生素利福昔明,已被证明能减轻腹胀及腹痛,并缓解IBS-D患者稀便症状。利福昔明用于治疗IBS-D推荐剂量为550 mg po tid,疗程14日。5-羟色胺(血清素)3(5HT3)受体拮抗剂,阿洛司琼,有助于治疗严重IBS-D女性患者,特别是其余药物治疗无效时。但是阿洛司琼会导致缺血性结肠炎,因此在美国属限制性处方。艾沙度林具混合阿片受体活性,可用于IBS-D的治疗。

对于多数病人,三环类抗抑郁药(TCAS)有助于缓解腹泻、腹痛及腹胀。上述药物下调脊髓及大脑皮质传入通路活动,从而减轻疼痛。仲胺类TCA(如,去甲替林、去郁敏)较叔胺类TCA(如,阿米替林、丙咪嗪、多虑平)耐受性好,因其抗胆碱、抗组胺镇静作用及α-肾上腺素的副作用较小。TCA治疗需从极小剂量开始(如,去郁敏10 mg~25 mg 睡前服用一次),据需要及耐受性逐渐加量至100 mg~150 mg qd。

SSRIs类药物可用于焦虑或情感障碍患者,但研究未显示IBS患者服用可有显著益处,反而可能加剧腹泻。

初步数据表明,某些益生菌(如,婴儿双歧杆菌)可减轻IBS症状,尤其腹胀。益生菌的有益作用并非所有菌种均有,只限于特定菌株。某些芳香油(驱风剂)可松弛平滑肌,减轻部分患者痉挛性疼痛。此类制剂中最常用薄荷油。

心理治疗

认知行为治疗、标准心理疗法、催眠疗法 可有助于IBS患者。

关键点

  • IBS表现为复发腹部不适或者腹痛,伴下列症状中至少2项:疼痛与排便相关、排便次数改变(腹泻或者便秘)、粪便性状改变。

  • 病因尚不清,但与心理及生理因素可能均相关。

  • 通过检查排除更危险疾病,特别是对于有警报症状患者:如,高龄、发烧、体重减轻、直肠出血或呕吐。

  • 可能与IBS混淆的常见疾病包括:乳糖不耐受、药物相关性腹泻、胆囊切除术后腹泻、缓泻剂滥用、寄生虫疾病、嗜酸粒细胞性胃肠炎、显微镜下结肠炎、小肠细菌过度生长、乳糜泻及早期炎症性肠病。

  • 需考虑的常规检查包括:血常规、血生化(含肝功能检查)、乳糜泻的血清学标志、粪便虫卵及寄生虫检查(腹泻型患者)、TSH、血钙(便秘型患者),纤维乙状结肠镜或者结肠镜。

  • 支持、理解及良好的治疗关系十分关键;药物治疗应针对主要症状。

点击此处 进行患者培训
注: 此为专业版。 家庭用户: 点击此处进入家庭版
获得

其他感兴趣资源

顶部

MSD Manual

Please confirm that you are a health care professional

Loading

Irritable Bowel Syndrome (IBS)

By

Stephanie M. Moleski

, MD, Sidney Kimmel Medical College at Thomas Jefferson University

Last full review/revision Sep 2020| Content last modified Sep 2020
Click here for Patient Education
NOTE: This is the Professional Version. CONSUMERS: Click here for the Consumer Version
Topic Resources

Irritable bowel syndrome is characterized by recurrent abdominal discomfort or pain with at least two of the following characteristics: relation to defecation, association with a change in frequency of stool, or association with a change in consistency of stool. The cause is unknown, and the pathophysiology is incompletely understood. Diagnosis is clinical. Treatment is symptomatic, consisting of dietary management and drugs, including anticholinergics and agents active at serotonin receptors.

Etiology

The cause of irritable bowel syndrome (IBS) is unknown. No anatomic cause can be found on laboratory tests, x-rays, and biopsies. Emotional factors, diet, drugs, or hormones may precipitate or aggravate gastrointestinal symptoms. Historically, the disorder was often considered as purely psychosomatic. Although psychosocial factors are involved, IBS is better understood as a combination of physiologic and psychosocial factors.

Physiologic factors

A variety of physiologic factors seem to be involved in IBS symptoms. These factors include

  • Altered intestinal motility

  • Increased intestinal sensitivity (visceral hyperalgesia)

  • Various genetic and environmental factors

Visceral hyperalgesia refers to hypersensitivity to normal amounts of intraluminal distention and heightened perception of pain in the presence of normal quantities of intestinal gas; it may result from remodeling of neural pathways in the brain-gut axis. Some patients (perhaps 1 in 7) have reported their IBS symptoms began after an episode of acute gastroenteritis (termed postinfectious IBS). A subset of patients with IBS has autonomic dysfunctions. However, many patients have no demonstrable physiologic abnormalities, and, even in those who do, the abnormalities may not correlate with symptoms.

Constipation may be explained by slower colonic transit, and diarrhea may be explained by faster colonic transit. Some patients with constipation have fewer colonic high amplitude-propagated contractions, which propel colonic contents over several segments. Conversely, excess sigmoid motor activity may retard transit in functional constipation.

Postprandial abdominal discomfort may be attributed to an exaggerated gastro-colonic reflex (the colonic contractile response to a meal), the presence of colonic high amplitude-propagated contractions, visceral hyperalgesia, or a combination of these factors. Fat ingestion may increase intestinal permeability and exaggerate hypersensitivity. Ingestion of food high in fermentable oligosaccharides, disaccharides, monosaccharides, and polyols (collectively called FODMAPs) are poorly absorbed in the small intestine and may increase colonic motility and secretion.

Hormonal fluctuations affect bowel functions in women. Rectal sensitivity is increased during menses but not during other phases of the menstrual cycle. The effects of sex steroids on gastrointestinal transit are subtle. The role of small-bowel bacterial overgrowth in IBS is controversial.

Psychosocial factors

Psychologic distress is common among patients with IBS, especially in those who seek medical care. Some patients have anxiety disorders, depression, or a somatization disorder. Sleep disturbances also coexist. However, stress and emotional conflict do not always coincide with symptom onset and recurrence. Some patients with IBS seem to have a learned aberrant illness behavior (ie, they express emotional conflict as a gastrointestinal complaint, usually abdominal pain). The physician evaluating patients with IBS, particularly those with refractory symptoms, should investigate for unresolved psychologic issues, including the possibility of sexual or physical abuse. Psychosocial factors also affect the outcome in IBS.

Symptoms and Signs

Irritable bowel syndrome tends to begin in adolescence and the 20s, causing bouts of symptoms that recur at irregular periods. Onset in late adult life is less common. Symptoms of IBS rarely rouse the sleeping patient. Symptoms are often triggered by food or by stress.

Patients have abdominal discomfort, which varies considerably but is often located in the lower abdomen, is steady or cramping in nature, and is related to defecation. In addition, abdominal discomfort is temporally associated with alterations in stool frequency (increased in diarrhea-predominant IBS and decreased in constipation-predominant IBS) and consistency (ie, loose or lumpy and hard). Pain or discomfort related to defecation is likely to be of bowel origin; that associated with exercise, movement, urination, or menstruation usually has a different cause.

Although bowel patterns are relatively consistent in most patients, it is not unusual for patients to alternate between constipation and diarrhea. Patients may also have symptoms of abnormal stool passage (straining, urgency, or feeling of incomplete evacuation), pass mucus, or complain of bloating or abdominal distention. Many patients also have symptoms of dyspepsia. Extraintestinal symptoms (eg, fatigue, fibromyalgia, sleep disturbances, chronic headaches) are common.

Diagnosis

  • Clinical evaluation, based on Rome criteria

  • Screening for organic causes with basic laboratory tests and sigmoidoscopy or colonoscopy

  • Other tests for patients with red flag findings (eg, rectal blood, weight loss, fever)

Diagnosis of irritable bowel syndrome is based on characteristic bowel patterns, time and character of pain, and exclusion of other disease processes through physical examination and routine diagnostic tests.

Red flags

Diagnostic testing should be more intensive when the following red flags are present either at initial presentation or at any time after diagnosis:

  • Older age

  • Fever

  • Weight loss

  • Rectal bleeding

  • Vomiting

Differential diagnosis

Because patients with IBS can develop organic conditions, testing for other conditions should also be considered in patients who develop alarm symptoms or markedly different symptoms during the course of IBS. Common illnesses that may be confused with IBS include

However, uninflamed colonic diverticula do not cause symptoms, and their presence should not be considered explanatory.

The bimodal age distribution of patients with inflammatory bowel disease makes it imperative to evaluate both younger and older patients. In patients > 60 with acute symptoms, ischemic colitis should be considered. Patients with constipation and no anatomic lesion should be evaluated for hypothyroidism and hypercalcemia. If the patient’s symptoms suggest malabsorption, tropical sprue, celiac disease, and Whipple disease must be considered. Defecatory disorders should be considered as a cause of constipation in patients who report symptoms of difficult defecation.

Rare causes of diarrhea include hyperthyroidism, medullary cancer of the thyroid or carcinoid syndrome, gastrinoma, and vipoma. However, these causes of diarrhea are typically accompanied by stool volumes > 1000 mL daily, which differentiates them from IBS.

Pearls & Pitfalls

  • Uninflamed colonic diverticula do not cause symptoms, and their presence should not be considered explanatory.

History

Particular attention should be given to the character of the pain, bowel habits, familial interrelationships, and drug and dietary histories. Equally important are the patient’s overall emotional state, interpretation of personal problems, and quality of life. The quality of the patient–physician interaction is key to diagnostic and therapeutic efficacy.

The Rome criteria are standardized symptom-based criteria for diagnosing IBS. The Rome criteria require the presence of abdominal pain for at least 1 day/week in the last 3 months along with 2 of the following (1):

  • Pain that is related to defecation.

  • Pain is associated with a change in frequency of defecation.

  • Pain is associated with a change in consistency of stool.

Physical examination

Patients generally appear to be healthy. Palpation of the abdomen may reveal tenderness, particularly in the left lower quadrant, at times associated with a palpable, tender sigmoid. A digital rectal examination, including a test for occult blood, should be done on all patients. In women, a pelvic examination helps rule out ovarian tumors and cysts or endometriosis, which may mimic IBS.

Testing

(See also the American Gastroenterological Association's guidelines on the laboratory evaluation of functional diarrhea and diarrhea-predominant irritable bowel syndrome in adults [IBS-D].)

The diagnosis of IBS can reasonably be made using the Rome criteria as long as patients have no red flag findings, such as rectal bleeding, weight loss, and fever, or other findings that might suggest another etiology. Many patients with IBS are overtested; however, complete blood count, biochemical profile (including liver tests), serologic markers for celiac disease (tissue-transglutaminase IgA with an IgA level), stool examination for infection (in patients with diarrhea predominance), thyroid-stimulating hormone and calcium for patients with constipation, and flexible sigmoidoscopy or colonoscopy should be considered. In patients presenting with chronic diarrhea, fecal calprotectin or fecal lactoferrin should be the first-line tests to screen for inflammatory bowel disease. Chronic diarrhea should also prompt testing for Giardia. An antigen test or a polymerase chain reaction test for Giardia is recommended.

During flexible fiberoptic proctosigmoidoscopy, introduction of the instrument and air insufflation frequently trigger bowel spasm and pain. The mucosal and vascular patterns in IBS usually appear normal. Colonoscopy is preferred for patients > 50 to exclude colonic polyps and tumors. In patients with chronic diarrhea, particularly older women, mucosal biopsy can rule out possible microscopic colitis.

Additional studies (such as ultrasonography, CT, barium enema x-ray, upper gastrointestinal esophagogastroduodenoscopy, and small-bowel x-rays) should be undertaken only when there are other objective abnormalities. Fecal fat excretion or pancreatic elastase should be measured when there is a concern about steatorrhea. Small-bowel evaluation (eg, enteroscopy, capsule endoscopy) is recommended when malabsorption is suspected. Testing for carbohydrate intolerance or small-bowel bacterial overgrowth should be considered in appropriate circumstances.

Intercurrent disease

Patients with IBS may subsequently develop additional gastrointestinal disorders, and the clinician must not summarily dismiss their complaints. Changes in symptoms (eg, in the location, type, or intensity of pain; in bowel habits; in constipation and diarrhea) and new symptoms or complaints (eg, nocturnal diarrhea) may signal another disease process. Other symptoms that require investigation include fresh blood in the stool, weight loss, very severe abdominal pain or unusual abdominal distention, steatorrhea or noticeably foul-smelling stools, fever or chills, persistent vomiting, hematemesis, symptoms that wake the patient from sleep (eg, pain, the urge to defecate), and a steady progressive worsening of symptoms. Patients > 40 are more likely than younger patients to develop an intercurrent physiologic illness.

Diagnosis reference

Treatment

  • Support and understanding

  • Normal diet, avoiding gas-producing and diarrhea-producing foods

  • Increased fiber intake and hydration for constipation

  • Drug therapy directed at the dominant symptoms

Therapy is directed at specific symptoms. An effective therapeutic relationship is essential for effectively managing IBS. Patients should be invited to express not only their symptoms but also their understanding of their symptoms and the reasons prompting a visit to the health care practitioner (eg, fear of serious disease). Patients should be educated about the disorder (eg, normal bowel physiology and the bowel’s hypersensitivity to stress and food) and reassured, after appropriate tests, about the absence of a serious or life-threatening disease. Appropriate therapeutic goals (eg, expectations regarding the normal course or variability in symptoms, adverse effects of drugs, the appropriate and available working relationship between the physician and the patient) should be established.

Finally, patients can benefit by being actively involved in the management of their condition. When successful, this can enhance the patient’s motivation to adhere to treatment, foster a more positive physician–patient relationship, and mobilize the coping resources of even the most chronically passive patients. Psychologic stress, anxiety, or mood disorders should be identified, evaluated, and treated. Regular physical activity helps relieve stress and assists in bowel function, particularly in patients with constipation.

(See also the American College of Gastroenterology's monograph on management of irritable bowel syndrome.)

Diet

In general, a normal diet can be followed. Meals should not be overly large, and eating should be slow and paced. Patients with abdominal distention and increased flatulence may benefit from reducing or eliminating beans, cabbage, and other foods containing fermentable carbohydrates. Reduced intake of sweeteners (eg, sorbitol, mannitol, fructose), which are constituents of natural and processed foods (eg, apple and grape juice, bananas, nuts, raisins), may alleviate flatulence, bloating, and diarrhea. Patients with evidence of lactose intolerance should reduce their intake of milk and dairy products. Patients can try reducing their intake of the aforementioned food categories one at a time and noting the effect on their symptoms, or they can try a low-FODMAP (fermentable oligosaccharides, disaccharides, monosaccharides, and polyols) diet, which restricts all of the aforementioned food categories. In addition, a low-fat diet may reduce postprandial abdominal symptoms.

Patients should be encouraged to drink more fluids. Dietary fiber supplements may soften stool and improve the ease of evacuation. Psyllium hydrophilic mucilloid with two glasses of water may be used. However, excessive use of fiber can lead to bloating and diarrhea, so fiber doses must be individualized. Occasionally, flatulence may be reduced by switching to a synthetic fiber preparation (eg, methylcellulose).

Drug therapy

(See also the American Gastroenterological Association’s technical review and guideline on pharmacologic management of irritable bowel syndrome.)

Drug therapy is directed toward the dominant symptoms. Anticholinergic drugs (eg, hyoscyamine 0.125 mg orally 30 to 60 minutes before meals) may be used for their antispasmodic effects.

In patients with constipation-predominant IBS (IBS-C), the chloride channel activator lubiprostone 8 mcg or 24 mcg orally twice a day and the guanylate cyclase C agonists linaclotide 72 mcg, 145 mcg, or 290 mcg orally once a day or plecanatide 3 mg orally once a day may be helpful. Polyethylene glycol laxatives have not been well-studied in IBS. However, they have been shown to be effective for use in chronic constipation and for bowel lavage before colonoscopy and are thus frequently used for IBS-C. Prucalopride is a highly selective serotonin receptor agonist that is approved for chronic constipation.

In patients with diarrhea-predominant IBS (IBS-D), oral diphenoxylate 2.5 to 5 mg or loperamide 2 to 4 mg may be given before meals. The dose of loperamide should be titrated upward to reduce diarrhea while avoiding constipation. Rifaximin is an antibiotic that has been shown to relieve symptoms of bloating and abdominal pain and to help decrease looseness of stools in patients with IBS-D. The recommended dose of rifaximin for IBS-D is 550 mg orally 3 times a day for 14 days. Alosetron is a 5-hydroxytryptamine (serotonin) 3 (5HT3) receptor antagonist that may benefit women with severe IBS-D refractory to other drugs. Because alosetron has been associated with ischemic colitis, its use in the US is under a restricted prescribing program. Eluxadoline has mixed opioid receptor activity and is indicated for treatment of IBS-D; however, because of the risk of pancreatitis, it cannot be used in patients who have had a cholecystectomy, have sphincter of Oddi dysfunction, have liver disease, or drink more than 3 alcoholic drinks a day.

For many patients, tricyclic antidepressants (TCAs) help relieve symptoms of diarrhea, abdominal pain, and bloating. These drugs are thought to reduce pain by down-regulating the activity of spinal cord and cortical afferent pathways arriving from the intestine. Secondary amine TCAs (eg, nortriptyline, desipramine) are often better tolerated than parent tertiary amines (eg, amitriptyline, imipramine, doxepin) because of fewer anticholinergic, sedating antihistaminic, and alpha-adrenergic adverse effects. Treatment should begin with a very low dose of a TCA (eg, desipramine 10 to 25 mg orally once a day at bedtime), increasing as necessary and tolerated up to about 100 to 150 mg orally once a day.

Selective serotonin reuptake inhibitors are sometimes used in patients with anxiety or an affective disorder, but studies have not shown a significant benefit for patients with IBS and they may exacerbate diarrhea.

Preliminary data suggest that certain probiotics (eg, Bifidobacterium infantis) alleviate IBS symptoms, particularly bloating. The beneficial effects of probiotics are not generic to the entire species but specific to certain strains. Certain aromatic oils (carminatives) can relax smooth muscle and relieve pain caused by cramps in some patients. Peppermint oil is the most commonly used agent in this class.

Psychologic therapies

Cognitive-behavioral therapy, standard psychotherapy, and hypnotherapy may help some IBS patients.

Key Points

  • IBS is recurrent abdominal discomfort or pain accompanied by ≥ 2 of the following: pain that is related to defecation, change in frequency of stool (diarrhea or constipation), or change in consistency of stool.

  • Etiology is unclear but appears to involve both physiologic and psychosocial factors.

  • Exclude more dangerous diseases by testing, particularly in patients with red flag findings, such as older age, fever, weight loss, rectal bleeding, or vomiting.

  • Common illnesses that may be confused with IBS include lactose intolerance, drug-induced diarrhea, post-cholecystectomy diarrhea, laxative abuse, parasitic diseases, eosinophilic gastritis or enteritis, microscopic colitis, small-bowel bacterial overgrowth, celiac disease, and early inflammatory bowel disease.

  • Typical testing to consider includes complete blood count, biochemical profile (including liver tests), serologic markers for celiac disease, stool examination for infection (in patients with diarrhea predominance), thyroid-stimulating hormone and calcium (for patients with constipation), and flexible sigmoidoscopy or colonoscopy.

  • A supportive, understanding, and therapeutic relationship is essential; direct drug therapy toward the dominant symptoms.

More Information

The following are some English-language resources that may be useful. Please note that THE MANUAL is not responsible for the content of these resources.

Click here for Patient Education
NOTE: This is the Professional Version. CONSUMERS: Click here for the Consumer Version
Professionals also read

Also of Interest

Videos

View All
Overview of Lactose Intolerance
Video
Overview of Lactose Intolerance
3D Models
View All
Anal Canal
3D Model
Anal Canal

SOCIAL MEDIA

TOP