默沙东 诊疗手册

欢迎来到默沙东诊疗手册专业版医讯网站 本网站旨在为医药专业人员提供在线服务,如果您不是医药专业人员,建议您退出网站,登录默沙东中国官方网站了解相关信息。默沙东诊疗手册网站将对所有注册用户信息进行验证,医药专业人员必须接受并遵守用户协议条款才能使用本网站。如注册人员信息没能通过验证,默沙东诊疗手册网站有权终止该用户使用本网站的权利,在本网站每一网页下方均有链接功能,您可随时通过链接浏览用户使用协议条款与网站保护政策。

honeypot link

缺血性视神经病变

作者:

James Garrity

, MD, Mayo Clinic College of Medicine

最后一次全面审校/修订者 10月 2017| 内容末次修改日期 11月 2017
点击此处 进行患者培训

缺血性视神经病变是由于视盘的梗死造成的。它可以是动脉炎性的或非动脉炎性的。唯一恒定的症状就是无痛性视力下降。诊断是基于临床的。非动脉炎型的治疗是无效的。动脉炎型的治疗并不能恢复视力,但可以帮助保护未受影响的眼睛。

视神经梗死有两种类型:动脉炎型非动脉炎型

非动脉炎型的比例更高,典型的见于50岁以上的人群。视力下降往往不像动脉炎型那样严重,其通常见于年龄较大的老年人,典型的约70岁及以上。

大部分缺血性视神经病变为单侧发病。双侧先后发病的发生率约为20%,但是双眼同时发病少见。双侧累及在动脉炎型中比非动脉炎型的更加多见。

睫状后动脉粥样硬化性狭窄易导致非动脉性视神经梗塞,特别是在低血压发作后。任何一种炎症性动脉炎,尤其是巨细胞动脉炎能够促发动脉炎型缺血性视神经病变。

急性缺血造成视神经水肿,又进一步加重缺血。杯盘比值小是非动脉炎性缺血性视神经病变的危险因素,但是不增加动脉炎型的危险。虽然有部分患者合并有动脉粥样硬化(如 糖尿病吸烟高血压)、阻塞性睡眠呼吸暂停、某些药物(如胺碘酮,可能是磷酸二酯酶-5抑制剂)和高凝性疾病等,被认为是相关的危险因素,但通常认为全身状况与非动脉炎型缺血性视神经病变的发生无直接关系。由于视力下降多发生在晨间清醒时,导致研究者怀疑夜间低血压可能是非动脉炎型缺血性视神经病变的潜在病因。

症状和体征

两种类型视神经梗死引起的视力下降典型地都表现为发病快(数分钟、数小时至数天)和无痛性。有些患者的视力下降发生在清晨觉醒时。巨细胞动脉炎的患者可能出现全身不适感、肌肉疼痛、颞侧头痛、梳头发时疼痛、咀嚼暂停和颞动脉走行处的触痛等症状;但这些症状可出现在发生视力下降之后。视力下降,伴有传入性瞳孔障碍。

视盘水肿和隆起,水肿的神经纤维掩盖了视神经表面的微小血管。常有视盘周围的出血。动脉炎型的视盘可表现为苍白,而非动脉炎型的表现为充血。两种类型的视野检查常常显示下方和中心视野的缺损。

诊断

  • ESR、C反应蛋白和CBC

  • 如果进展性视力下降,要行CT或者MRI检查

视神经梗死的诊断主要依据临床,但可能需要进行一些辅助检查。最重要的是需要排除动脉炎型,因为如果不及时治疗,另一眼也存在发病的风险。立即检查包括ESR,CBC和C反应蛋白。通常动脉炎型的血沉(ESR)显著升高,常超过100mm/h。而非动脉炎型的正常。CBC是为了辨别血小板增多症(> 400×103/μL),这补充了单独使用ESR的阳性和阴性预测值。

如果怀疑巨细胞动脉炎,应尽快做颞动脉活检(至少在1至2周内,因为强的松治疗效果可能会降低组织病理学诊断率)。C反应蛋白水平变化用于监测疾病的活动性和对治疗的效果。对于进行性视力减退的孤立个案,应做CT或MRI排除压迫性病变。

对于非动脉炎型缺血性视神经病变,可根据怀疑的病因或危险因素进行额外的检查。例如,如果患者白天睡眠过多或打鼾或肥胖,应考虑做多导睡眠监测以诊断阻塞性睡眠呼吸暂停。如果患者在觉醒时视力丧失,可进行24小时血压监测。

预后

对于非动脉炎型目前没有有效的治疗手段;但约有40%的病例有一定自愈性,可以恢复部分有用视力。

在由巨细胞动脉炎引起的动脉炎型中,视力和视野的损失通常较大。即时治疗不会恢复受累眼的视力,但保护未受累的眼睛。治疗不充分会导致复发和额外的视力丧失。

治疗

  • 动脉炎型需要口服皮质类固醇

动脉炎型需要口服皮质类固醇治疗(口服泼尼松80mg,每天1次,并根据血沉逐步减量)以保护另一只眼。如果视力减退迫切危险,应考虑静脉注射类固醇。等待活检或其结果的同时应该进行治疗。临床试验的早期结果表明托珠单抗可能有助于维持巨细胞动脉炎的缓解(1).非动脉炎型应用阿司匹林或者皮质类固醇没有治疗效果。控制危险因素。低视力助视治疗(如放大镜、大字体设备、语音手表)对两种类型均可能有帮助。

经验与提示

  • 对于突然、无痛性视力下降的55岁及以上患者,尽快全身使用皮质类固醇,直到排除巨细胞性动脉炎。

治疗参考文献

关键点

  • 缺血性视神经病变通常由巨细胞动脉炎或动脉粥样硬化引起。

  • 55岁及以上患者有突然的、无痛性视力下降,应疑为缺血性视神经病变。

  • 除非排除在外,对巨细胞动脉炎的治疗是为了降低对侧眼发病的风险。

  • 视力预后不良。

  • 如果为巨细胞动脉炎可能,应给予皮质类固醇治疗。

点击此处 进行患者培训
注: 此为专业版。 家庭用户: 点击此处进入家庭版
获得

其他感兴趣资源

顶部

MSD Manual

Please confirm that you are a health care professional

Loading

Ischemic Optic Neuropathy

By

James Garrity

, MD, Mayo Clinic College of Medicine

Last full review/revision Jun 2020| Content last modified Jun 2020
Click here for Patient Education
NOTE: This is the Professional Version. CONSUMERS: Click here for the Consumer Version
Topic Resources

Ischemic optic neuropathy is infarction of the optic disk. It can be arteritic or nonarteritic. The only constant symptom is painless vision loss. Diagnosis is clinical. Treatment for the nonarteritic variety is ineffective. Treatment for the arteritic variety does not restore vision but can help protect the unaffected eye.

Two varieties of optic nerve infarction exist: nonarteritic and arteritic.

The nonarteritic variant occurs more frequently, typically affecting people about 50 years and older. Vision loss tends not to be as severe as in the arteritic variant, which usually affects an older group, typically about 70 years and older.

Most ischemic optic neuropathy is unilateral. Bilateral, sequential cases occur in about 20%, but bilateral simultaneous involvement is uncommon. Bilateral involvement is much more common among arteritic than nonarteritic cases.

Atherosclerotic narrowing of the posterior ciliary arteries may predispose to nonarteritic optic nerve infarction, particularly after a hypotensive episode. Any of the inflammatory arteritides, especially giant cell arteritis, can precipitate the arteritic form.

Acute ischemia causes nerve edema, which further worsens ischemia. A small optic cup to optic disk ratio is a risk factor for nonarteritic ischemic optic neuropathy but not for the arteritic variety. Usually, no medical condition is found as the apparent cause of the nonarteritic variety, although factors contributing to atherosclerosis (eg, diabetes, smoking, hypertension), obstructive sleep apnea, certain drugs (eg, amiodarone, possibly phosphodiesterase-5 inhibitors), and hypercoagulable disorders are present in some patients and are thought to be risk factors. Vision loss on awakening leads investigators to suspect nocturnal hypotension as a potential cause of the nonarteritic variety.

Symptoms and Signs

Vision loss with both varieties of optic nerve infarction is typically rapid (over minutes, hours, or days) and painless. Some patients notice the loss on awakening. Symptoms such as general malaise, muscle aches and pains, headaches over the temple, pain when combing hair, jaw claudication, and tenderness over the temporal artery may be present with giant cell arteritis; however, such symptoms may not occur until after vision is lost. Visual acuity is reduced, and an afferent pupillary defect is present.

The optic disk is swollen and elevated, and the swollen nerve fibers obscure the fine surface vessels of the optic nerve. Often hemorrhages surround the optic disk. The optic disk may be pale in the arteritic variety and hyperemic in the nonarteritic variety. In both varieties, visual field examination often shows an altitudinal and/or central defect.

Diagnosis

  • Erythrocyte sedimentation rate (ESR), C-reactive protein, and complete blood count (CBC)

  • Computed tomography (CT) or magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) if vision loss is progressive

Diagnosis of optic nerve infarction is based mainly on clinical evaluation, but ancillary testing may be needed. Most important is to exclude the arteritic variety because the other eye is at risk if treatment is not started quickly. Immediate tests include ESR, CBC, and C-reactive protein. ESR is usually dramatically elevated in the arteritic variety, often exceeding 100 mm/hour, and normal in the nonarteritic variety. CBC is done to identify thrombocytosis (> 400 × 103/mcL), which adds to the positive and negative predictive value of using ESR alone.

If giant cell arteritis is suspected, temporal artery biopsy should be done as soon as feasible (at least within 1 to 2 weeks because effects of the prednisone therapy may reduce the diagnostic yield of histopathology). Changes in C-reactive protein level are useful for monitoring disease activity and the response to treatment. For isolated cases of progressive vision loss, CT or MRI should be done to rule out compressive lesions.

For nonarteritic ischemic optic neuropathy, additional testing may be indicated based on the suspected cause or risk factor. For example, if patients have excessive daytime sleepiness or snoring or are obese, polysomnography should be considered to diagnose obstructive sleep apnea. If patients have vision loss on awakening, 24-hour blood pressure monitoring can be done.

Prognosis

There is no effective treatment for the nonarteritic variety of optic nerve infarction; however, up to 40% of patients spontaneously recover some useful vision.

In the arteritic variety caused by giant cell arteritis, losses of visual acuity and visual field are typically greater. Prompt treatment does not restore lost vision in the affected eye but protects the unaffected eye. Inadequate treatment risks relapses and additional vision loss.

Treatment

  • Corticosteroids and tocilizumab for the arteritic variety

The arteritic variety is treated with oral corticosteroids (prednisone 80 mg orally once a day and tapered based on erythrocyte sedimentation rate) to protect the other eye. If vision loss is imminent, intravenous corticosteroids should be considered. Treatment should not be delayed while awaiting the biopsy procedure or its results. Early results from clinical trials show that tocilizumab improves glucocorticoid-free remission when compared to corticosteroids only in giant cell arteritis (1). Treatment of the nonarteritic variety with aspirin or corticosteroids has not been helpful. Risk factors are controlled. Low-vision aids (eg, magnifiers, large-print devices, talking watches) may be helpful in both types.

Pearls & Pitfalls

  • Give systemic corticosteroids as soon as possible to patients 55 years and older who have sudden, painless loss of vision until giant cell arteritis is excluded.

Treatment reference

Key Points

  • Ischemic optic neuropathy is usually caused by giant cell arteritis or atherosclerosis.

  • Suspect ischemic optic neuropathy in patients 55 years and older who have sudden, painless loss of vision.

  • Unless excluded, treat for giant cell arteritis to decrease the risk of contralateral involvement.

  • Visual prognosis tends to be poor.

  • Give corticosteroids if giant cell arteritis is possible.

Click here for Patient Education
NOTE: This is the Professional Version. CONSUMERS: Click here for the Consumer Version
Professionals also read

Also of Interest

Videos

View All
How To Irrigate the Eye
Video
How To Irrigate the Eye
How To Do Lateral Canthotomy
Video
How To Do Lateral Canthotomy

SOCIAL MEDIA

TOP