默沙东 诊疗手册

欢迎来到默沙东诊疗手册专业版医讯网站 本网站旨在为医药专业人员提供在线服务,如果您不是医药专业人员,建议您退出网站,登录默沙东中国官方网站了解相关信息。默沙东诊疗手册网站将对所有注册用户信息进行验证,医药专业人员必须接受并遵守用户协议条款才能使用本网站。如注册人员信息没能通过验证,默沙东诊疗手册网站有权终止该用户使用本网站的权利,在本网站每一网页下方均有链接功能,您可随时通过链接浏览用户使用协议条款与网站保护政策。

加载中

病毒性结膜炎

作者:

Melvin I. Roat

, MD, FACS, Sidney Kimmel Medical College at Thomas Jefferson University

最后一次全面审校/修订者 4月 2018| 内容末次修改日期 4月 2018
点击此处 进行患者培训
主题资源

病毒性结膜炎是一种具有高度传染性的急性结膜炎,通常是由腺病毒感染造成的。症状包括刺激感、畏光、水样分泌物。诊断依靠临床检查;有时需要病毒培养或者免疫诊断实验来助诊。病毒感染具有自限性,但有时严重的病例需要局部应用皮质类固醇。

(也见 结膜炎概述

病因

结膜炎可能伴随普通感冒和其它全身病毒感染(尤其是麻疹,也见于水痘风疹腮腺炎)。不伴有全身性症状表现的局部病毒性结膜炎通常是腺病毒感染,有时候是肠道病毒感染。

流行性角结膜炎通常是腺病毒血清型Ad 5,8,11,13,19和37感染,往往造成严重的结膜炎。咽结膜热通常是血清型Ad 3,4和7感染。暴发性急性出血性结膜炎是70型肠道病毒感染造成的一种罕见的结膜炎,曾见于非洲和亚洲。

症状和体征

潜伏期约为5~12天,通常开始出现单眼的结膜充血、水样分泌物和眼部刺激感,很快传染到对侧眼。睑结膜可出现滤泡。耳前淋巴结常常肿大并伴有疼痛。许多患者之前有结膜炎患者接触史,和(或)有上呼吸道感染史。

严重的腺病毒性结膜炎患者由于角膜受累可伴有明显的畏光和异物感。可存在球结膜水肿。由纤维蛋白和炎症细胞所形成的睑结膜假膜和(或)角膜局部炎症,可导致视力模糊。即使结膜炎完全缓解,裂隙灯下仍可观察到遗留的角膜上皮下混浊(多灶性,钱币状,直径0.5~1.0mm),可持续两年之久。偶尔角膜的混浊可导致视力下降和明显的眩光感和星星闪烁感。

诊断

  • 临床评估

结膜炎的诊断以及细菌性、病毒性和非感染性结膜炎( 急性结膜炎的鉴别诊断要点)间的鉴别诊断通常依靠临床;特别的组织培养可以发现病毒生长,但通常没有必要。PCR和其它快速、基于实验室的免疫诊断实验是有用的,尤其当炎症严重和其它诊断(如眼眶蜂窝织炎)必须排除时。可以帮助鉴别细菌性和病毒性结膜炎的表现包括眼部脓性分泌物、耳前淋巴结是否肿大以及在流行性角结膜炎中出现的球结膜水肿。有畏光症状的患者需进行荧光素染色角膜并在裂隙灯下检查。流行性角结膜炎可能出现角膜的点状着染。病毒性结膜炎很少出现继发细菌感染。但是,如果出现符合细菌性结膜炎的体征时(如脓性分泌物),进行细菌学培养或者其它检测有助于明确。

表格
icon

急性结膜炎的鉴别诊断要点

病因

分泌物/细胞类型

眼睑水肿

淋巴结受累

脓性/多形核白细胞

中度

通常不需要治疗

清晰的/单核细胞

轻度

通常存在

清晰的,黏液性,丝状/嗜酸细胞

中到重度

轻微至强烈

治疗

  • 支持性措施

病毒性结膜炎具有高度传染性,必须做好传染预防工作。

为避免传播感染, 医师必须

  • 使用消毒擦手液或正确洗手(完全起泡手,至少20秒钟洗手,冲洗干净,然后用纸巾关掉水)

  • 检查患者后消毒设备

患者需要进一步检查:

  • 触摸眼睛或鼻腔分泌物后,使用消毒擦手液和/或彻底洗手

  • 触摸受感染的眼睛后,避免触摸未感染的眼睛

  • 避免共用毛巾或枕头

  • 避免在泳池中游泳

眼部应该及时祛除分泌物,避免遮盖。患有结膜炎的患儿应该留在家里不去上学,以免感染进一步传播。

病毒性结膜炎具有自限性,轻度病例持续1周,严重的病例持续达3周。只需要局部冷敷以缓解症状。然而,有明显畏光感或者视力受到影响的患者局部应用皮质类固醇(如1%醋酸泼尼松龙,每日4次)可能有助恢复。皮质类固醇通常需要有眼科医生的处方。首先必须排除单纯疱疹病毒性角膜炎(通过荧光素染色和裂隙灯检查法),因为皮质类固醇可能使其加重。

关键点

  • 大多数病毒性结膜炎由腺病毒和肠道病毒引起。

  • 可以帮助辨别病毒性和细菌性结膜炎的特征包括眼分泌物为脓性,存在耳前淋巴结病和在流行的角膜结膜炎中出现球结膜水肿。

  • 诊断通常是基于临床。

  • 通常治疗方法为冷敷和采取措施防止传播。

点击此处 进行患者培训
注: 此为专业版。 家庭用户: 点击此处进入家庭版
获得

其他感兴趣资源

最新

顶部

MSD Manual

Please confirm that you are a health care professional

Loading

Viral Conjunctivitis

By

Melvin I. Roat

, MD, FACS, Sidney Kimmel Medical College at Thomas Jefferson University

Last full review/revision Oct 2019| Content last modified Oct 2019
Click here for Patient Education
NOTE: This is the Professional Version. CONSUMERS: Click here for the Consumer Version
Topic Resources

Viral conjunctivitis is a highly contagious acute conjunctival infection usually caused by adenovirus. Symptoms include irritation, photophobia, and watery discharge. Diagnosis is clinical; sometimes viral cultures or immunodiagnostic testing is indicated. Infection is self-limited, but severe cases sometimes require topical corticosteroids.

Etiology

Conjunctivitis may accompany the common cold and other systemic viral infections (especially measles, but also chickenpox, rubella, and mumps). Localized viral conjunctivitis without systemic manifestations usually results from adenoviruses and sometimes enteroviruses or herpes simplex virus.

Epidemic keratoconjunctivitis usually results from adenovirus serotypes Ad 5, 8, 11, 13, 19, and 37 and tends to cause severe conjunctivitis. Pharyngoconjunctival fever usually results from serotypes Ad 3, 4, and 7. Outbreaks of acute hemorrhagic conjunctivitis, a rare conjunctivitis associated with infection by enterovirus type 70, have occurred in Africa and Asia.

Symptoms and Signs

After an incubation period of about 5 to 12 days, conjunctival hyperemia, watery discharge, and ocular irritation usually begin in one eye and spread rapidly to the other. Follicles may be present on the palpebral conjunctiva. A preauricular lymph node is often enlarged and painful. Many patients have had contact with someone with conjunctivitis, a recent upper respiratory infection, or both.

In severe adenoviral conjunctivitis, patients may have photophobia and foreign body sensation due to corneal involvement. Chemosis may be present. Pseudomembranes of fibrin and inflammatory cells on the tarsal conjunctiva, focal corneal inflammation, or both may blur vision. Even after conjunctivitis has resolved, residual corneal subepithelial opacities (multiple, coin-shaped, 0.5 to 1.0 mm in diameter) may be visible with a slit lamp for up to 2 years. Corneal opacities occasionally result in decreased vision and significant halos and starbursts.

Diagnosis

  • Clinical evaluation

Diagnosis of conjunctivitis and differentiation between bacterial, viral, and noninfectious conjunctivitis (see Table: Differentiating Features in Acute Conjunctivitis) are usually clinical; special tissue cultures are necessary for growth of the virus but are rarely indicated. Nucleic acid amplification tests (NAAT) and other rapid, office-based immunodiagnostic tests, can be useful especially when the inflammation is severe and other diagnoses (eg, orbital cellulitis) must be ruled out. Features that may help differentiate between viral and bacterial conjunctivitis can include purulence of ocular discharge, presence of preauricular lymphadenopathy, and, in epidemic keratoconjunctivitis, chemosis. Patients with photophobia are stained with fluorescein and examined with a slit lamp. Epidemic keratoconjunctivitis may cause punctate corneal staining. Secondary bacterial infection of viral conjunctivitis is very rare. However, if any signs suggest bacterial conjunctivitis (eg, purulent discharge), cultures or other studies may be useful.

Table
icon

Differentiating Features in Acute Conjunctivitis

Etiology

Discharge/Cell Type

Eyelid Edema

Node Involvement

Itching

Purulent/polymorphonuclear leukocytes

Moderate

Usually none

None

Clear/mononuclear cells

Minimal

Often present

None

Clear, mucoid, ropy/eosinophils

Moderate to severe

None

Mild to intense

Treatment

  • Supportive measures

Viral conjunctivitis is highly contagious, and transmission precautions must be followed.

To avoid transmitting infection, physicians must

  • Use hand sanitizer or wash their hands properly (fully lather hands, scrub hands for at least 20 seconds, rinse well, and turn off the water using a paper towel)

  • Disinfect equipment after examining patients

Patients should do the following:

  • Use hand sanitizer and/or wash their hands thoroughly after touching their eyes or nasal secretions

  • Avoid touching the noninfected eye after touching the infected eye

  • Avoid sharing towels or pillows

  • Avoid swimming in pools

Eyes should be kept free of discharge and should not be patched. Small children with conjunctivitis should be kept home from school to avoid spreading the infection.

Viral conjunctivitis is self-limiting, lasting 1 week in mild cases to up to 3 weeks in severe cases. It requires only cool compresses for symptomatic relief. However, patients who have severe photophobia or whose vision is affected may benefit from topical corticosteroids (eg, 1% prednisolone acetate 4 times a day). Corticosteroids, if prescribed, are usually prescribed by an ophthalmologist. Herpes simplex keratitis must be ruled out first (by fluorescein staining and slit-lamp examination) because corticosteroids can exacerbate it.

Key Points

  • Most viral conjunctivitis is a highly contagious infection caused by adenoviruses or enteroviruses.

  • Features that may help differentiate between viral and bacterial conjunctivitis can include purulence of ocular discharge, presence of preauricular lymphadenopathy, and, in epidemic keratoconjunctivitis, chemosis.

  • Diagnosis is usually clinical.

  • Treatment is usually cool compresses and measures to prevent spread.

Click here for Patient Education
NOTE: This is the Professional Version. CONSUMERS: Click here for the Consumer Version
Professionals also read

Also of Interest

Videos

View All
How To Irrigate the Eye
Video
How To Irrigate the Eye
Glaucoma
Video
Glaucoma
Inside the eye are two fluid-filled chambers. Intraocular fluid, or eye fluid, is responsible...

SOCIAL MEDIA

TOP