默沙东 诊疗手册

欢迎来到默沙东诊疗手册专业版医讯网站 本网站旨在为医药专业人员提供在线服务,如果您不是医药专业人员,建议您退出网站,登录默沙东中国官方网站了解相关信息。默沙东诊疗手册网站将对所有注册用户信息进行验证,医药专业人员必须接受并遵守用户协议条款才能使用本网站。如注册人员信息没能通过验证,默沙东诊疗手册网站有权终止该用户使用本网站的权利,在本网站每一网页下方均有链接功能,您可随时通过链接浏览用户使用协议条款与网站保护政策。

加载中

肌筋膜疼痛综合征

作者:

Noshir R. Mehta

, DMD, MDS, MS, Department of Public Health and Community Service

最后一次全面审校/修订者 8月 2017| 内容末次修改日期 8月 2017
点击此处 进行患者培训

肌筋膜疼痛综合征(原称肌筋膜疼痛和功能障碍综合征,MPDS或MFPDS)可以发生于颞下颌关节结构正常的患者。由紧张、疲劳、或咀嚼肌(翼内肌、翼外肌、颞肌和咬肌)痉挛引起。症状包括磨牙症、疼痛、咀嚼器及其周围或累及头颈其他部位的的压痛,且常伴有下颌活动异常。诊断根据病史和体格检查。包括镇痛、肌肉松弛、习惯调整和拇板的保守治疗,常是有效的措施。

肌筋膜疼痛综合征是TMJ区最常见的疾病,常见于女性,有两个好发年龄段,分别是20岁出头和绝经期。

受影响的肌肉中触发点所产生的肌肉疼痛而导致的关节紊乱常是磨牙症(紧咬或研磨牙齿)的结果 。对于磨牙症是否由不良的牙齿接触、情绪紧张或睡眠疾病引起尚存在争议。磨牙症常由多因素共同作用引起。肌筋膜疼痛综合征不局限于咀嚼肌。它可以在身体的任何部位发生,最常见的包括在颈背部肌肉。

症状与体征

症状包括咀嚼肌疼痛和触痛,并且常于下颌运动时疼痛和导致活动受限。夜间磨牙和睡眠呼吸障碍(如阻塞性睡眠呼吸暂停和上气道阻力综合征)都可以导致晨起头痛,这种疼痛在白天逐渐消退。这种疼痛应与巨细胞性动脉炎的疼痛相鉴别。如果白天也持续磨牙,肌力减退、疼痛和头痛的症状会更严重。

张口时下颌偏斜与关节内紊乱相似;与颞下颌关节内紊乱的不同点在于,张口偏斜逐渐发生,疼痛可出现于整个张口过程中。轻轻加压,检查者能够在原有最大张口基础上,使张口度再增加1~3mm。

诊断

  • 临床评估

  • 有时采取多导睡眠描记

一个简单的试验可能有助于诊断。2~3个压舌板放叠置于双侧磨牙间,嘱患者轻轻咬,由此产生的牵拉作用,可能减轻症状。除用以排除关节炎外,X线检查通常无辅助作用。如果怀疑巨细胞性动脉炎,检查ESR。

如果怀疑睡眠呼吸障碍,进行多导睡眠描记。

治疗

  • 使用中等度的镇痛剂

  • 戴拇板或护牙套

  • 临睡前使用抗焦虑药

  • 理疗

口腔科医生制作的塑料合板或护牙套能够避免牙齿相互接触和预防磨牙症的损伤。舒适的热塑性合板在许多运动用品商店或药店能够买到;然而,这样的合板只能短期使用或用作短期诊断工具。由于牙齿可能会移动,建议由牙医制作并指导戴用护牙套。

睡觉时使用低剂量苯二氮往往对急性发作有效,能够暂时缓解症状;然而,在患者有相关睡眠障碍(如睡眠呼吸暂停)时,抗焦虑药和肌松药应谨慎使用,因为它们会加重这些障碍。中度镇痛剂,如单独或联合用NSAIDs或对乙酰氨基酚也是可选择的药物。环苯扎林可能有助于部分患者的肌肉松弛。由于属慢性疾病,除短暂用于急性加剧病例外,一般不使用阿片制剂。一些慢性疼痛的情况下可能并发抑郁症。在这种情况下,在医生指导下使用抗抑郁药物是有效的。

患者必须学会停止紧咬牙和清醒时磨牙。难以咀嚼的食物和口香糖应当避免。理疗、生物反馈促使肌肉放松的方法和必要的解释对部分患者有益。生理调节包括经皮电神经刺激(TENS)和“喷雾后伸展”,即疼痛区域表面皮肤用冰或皮肤冷冻剂(如氯己烷喷洒)后,下颌运动的肌肉松弛、嘴张开。近来使用肉毒杆菌毒素成功地缓解了肌筋膜疼痛综合征的肌肉痉挛。许多患者即使不治疗,2~3年后症状可能自行缓解。

关键点

  • 相较于颞下颌关节紊乱,肌筋膜疼痛综合征是颞下颌疼痛更为常见的原因。

  • 紧张,疲劳,以及夜间磨牙引起的咀嚼肌痉挛。

  • 患者感觉咀嚼肌疼痛和触痛,下颌运动时疼痛导致活动受限,有时会头痛。

  • 睡眠时戴用合板或护牙套,服用苯二氮、非阿片类镇痛药,可能有助于缓解症状。

点击此处 进行患者培训
注: 此为专业版。 家庭用户: 点击此处进入家庭版
获得

其他感兴趣资源

最新

顶部

MSD Manual

Please confirm that you are a health care professional

Loading

Myofascial Pain Syndrome

By

Gary D. Klasser

, DMD, Louisiana State University School of Dentistry

Last full review/revision Jun 2020| Content last modified Jun 2020
Click here for Patient Education
NOTE: This is the Professional Version. CONSUMERS: Click here for the Consumer Version

Myofascial pain syndrome (previously known as myofascial pain and dysfunction syndrome [MPDS or MFPDS]) can occur in patients with a normal temporomandibular joint. It is caused by muscle tension, fatigue, or (rarely) spasm in the masticatory muscles. Symptoms include pain and tenderness in and around the masticatory structures or referred to other locations in the head and neck, and, often, abnormalities of jaw mobility. Diagnosis is based on history and physical examination. Conservative treatment, including analgesics, muscle relaxation, modification of parafunctional behavior (eg, teeth clenching and grinding), and use of oral appliances usually is effective.

This condition is the most common disorder affecting the temporomandibular region. It is more common among women and has a bimodal age distribution in the early 20s and around menopause.

In the affected muscle, both pain and trigger points (which cause referred pain) may result from parafunctional behavior such as bruxism (clenching or grinding of the teeth), which is regarded as two distinct entities: sleep or awake bruxism, each having different etiologies.

Myofascial pain syndrome is not limited to the muscles of mastication. It can occur anywhere in the body, most commonly involving muscles in the neck, shoulders and back.

Symptoms and Signs

Symptoms include pain and tenderness of the masticatory muscles and often pain and limitation of jaw excursion. Both sleep bruxism and sleep-disordered breathing (such as obstructive sleep apnea and upper airway resistance syndrome) are associated with headache that is more severe on awakening and gradually subsides during the day. Such pain must be distinguished from giant cell arteritis. Awake symptoms, including jaw muscle fatigue, jaw pain, and headaches, usually worsen if parafunctional behavior continues throughout the day.

The jaw deviates when the mouth opens but usually not as suddenly or always at the same point of opening as it does with internal temporomandibular joint derangement. Exerting gentle pressure on the lower anterior teeth, the examiner can stretch the involved muscles and thereby assist the patient in opening the mouth another 1 to 3 mm beyond unaided maximum opening.

Diagnosis

  • Clinical evaluation

  • Sometimes polysomnography

A simple test may aid the diagnosis: 2 or 3 tongue blades are placed between the rearmost molars on each side, and the patient is asked to close the mouth gently (1, 2). The distraction produced in the joint space may ease the symptoms. X-rays usually do not help except to rule out arthritis. If giant cell arteritis is suspected, erythrocyte sedimentation rate (ESR) is measured.

Polysomnography should be done if sleep-disordered breathing is suspected.

Diagnosis references

  • Schiffman E, Ohrbach R, Truelove E, et al: Diagnostic criteria for temporomandibular disorders (DC/TMD) for clinical and research applications: Recommendations of the International RDC/TMD Consortium Network and Orofacial Pain Special Interest Group. J Oral Facial Pain Headache 28(1):6-27, 2014.  doi: 10.11607/jop.1151.

  • Peck C, Goulet JP, Lobbezoo F, et al: Expanding the taxonomy of the diagnostic criteria for temporomandibular disorders (DC/TMD). J Oral Rehabil 41(1):2-23, 2014. doi: 10.1111/joor.12132.

Treatment

  • Mild analgesics

  • Oral appliances

  • An anxiolytic at bedtime can be considered

  • Physical therapy modalities considered

An oral appliance from a dentist can keep teeth from contacting each other and thereby reduce the damage caused by bruxism. Over-the-counter heat-moldable (boil and bite) mouth guards are available from many sporting goods stores or drugstores; however, these types of devices should be used briefly and only as short-term diagnostic tools. Because these mouth guards may cause unwanted tooth movement or create a paradoxical increase in muscle activity, oral appliances should ideally be fabricated, fitted, and adjusted by a dentist.

Low doses of a benzodiazepine at bedtime are often effective for acute exacerbations and temporary relief of symptoms; however, in patients with associated sleep disorders, such as sleep apnea, anxiolytics and muscle relaxants should be used with caution because they can aggravate these conditions. Mild analgesics, such as nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAIDs) or acetaminophen, individually or in combination are indicated. Cyclobenzaprine may help muscle relaxation in some people. Because the condition is chronic, opioids should not be used, except perhaps briefly for acute exacerbations. In some cases of chronic pain, antidepressant medication is useful under medical supervision.

The patient must learn to stop parafunctional behavior (eg, clenching the jaw, grinding the teeth) when awake. Hard-to-chew foods and chewing gum should be avoided. Physical therapy, biofeedback to encourage relaxation, and counseling help some patients. Physical modalities include transcutaneous electric nerve stimulation (TENS) and “spray and stretch,” in which the jaw is stretched open after the skin over the painful area has been chilled with ice or sprayed with a skin refrigerant, such as ethyl chloride. Botulinum toxin may be used successfully to relieve muscle spasm. Most patients, even if untreated, stop having significant symptoms within 2 to 3 years.

Key Points

  • Myofascial pain syndrome is a more common cause of temporomandibular pain than temporomandibular joint derangement.

  • Tension, fatigue, and (rarely) spasm of the masticatory muscles may result from parafunctional behavior (eg, bruxism).

  • Patients have pain and tenderness of the masticatory muscles, painful limitation of jaw excursion, and sometimes headache.

  • Bedtime use of oral appliances and a benzodiazepine may help, along with nonopioid analgesics.

Click here for Patient Education
NOTE: This is the Professional Version. CONSUMERS: Click here for the Consumer Version
Professionals also read

Also of Interest

Videos

View All
How To Do a Posterior Superior Alveolar Nerve Block...
Video
How To Do a Posterior Superior Alveolar Nerve Block...
3D Models
View All
Major Salivary Glands and Ducts
3D Model
Major Salivary Glands and Ducts

SOCIAL MEDIA

TOP