默沙东 诊疗手册

欢迎来到默沙东诊疗手册专业版医讯网站 本网站旨在为医药专业人员提供在线服务,如果您不是医药专业人员,建议您退出网站,登录默沙东中国官方网站了解相关信息。默沙东诊疗手册网站将对所有注册用户信息进行验证,医药专业人员必须接受并遵守用户协议条款才能使用本网站。如注册人员信息没能通过验证,默沙东诊疗手册网站有权终止该用户使用本网站的权利,在本网站每一网页下方均有链接功能,您可随时通过链接浏览用户使用协议条款与网站保护政策。

加载中

Whipple病

(Whipple病;肠脂肪代谢障碍)

作者:

Atenodoro R. Ruiz, Jr.

, MD,

  • The Medical City, Pasig City, Metro-Manila, Philippines

最后一次全面审校/修订者 2月 2018| 内容末次修改日期 2月 2018
点击此处 进行患者培训

Whipple病是一种由 惠普尔养障体引起的罕见的全身性疾病。主要症状是关节炎、体重减轻和腹泻。诊断需要小肠活检。初始治疗选用头孢曲松或青霉素,继而口服复方新诺明一年以上。

Whipple病多见于30~60岁的白人男性。该病可累及全身性多个脏器(如心、肺、脑、浆膜腔、关节、眼、胃肠道),但最常见的还是小肠黏膜受损。患者有轻度细胞免疫缺陷,更易感染惠普尔养障体。约30%患者HLA-B27阳性。

症状和体征

根据病变累及部位不同表现为相应的临床症状。Whipple病的四个主要症状:

  • 关节痛

  • 腹泻

  • 腹痛

  • 体重下降

通常首发症状是关节炎和发热。消化道症状(如水样泻、脂肪泻、腹痛、食欲不振、体重减轻)通常较晚出现,有时在首发症状后数年才出现。还可出现肠道肉眼出血或潜血。疾病晚期患者可合并严重的营养不良。其他表现包括皮肤色素沉着、贫血、淋巴结肿大、慢性咳嗽、浆膜炎、周围性水肿和中枢神经系统症状。

诊断

  • 内镜下小肠组织活检

对于没有明显胃肠道症状的患者, Whipple病可能会被漏诊。中年白种男性,有关节炎、腹痛、腹泻、体重减轻或其他吸收不良症状时,需怀疑该病可能。这些患者需行上消化道内镜下小肠黏膜活检;肠道病变具有特异性和诊断价值。最严重和持续的病变在近端小肠。光镜显示PAS-阳性的巨噬细胞扭曲了绒毛的结构。固有层和巨噬细胞内可见革兰氏阳性、抗酸染色阴性的细菌(惠普尔养障体) 。如果未见惠普尔养障体 ,却仍然怀疑Whipple病,则需行PCR和免疫组化检测。

Whipple病需与小肠感染鸟型细胞内分枝杆菌(Mycobacterium avium-intracellulare,MAI)鉴别,后者也有相似的组织学表现。但MAI抗酸染色阳性。

治疗

  • 抗生素治疗

  • 后期可能复发

未经治疗的病变呈进行性、致死性。许多抗生素都有疗效(如甲氧苄氨嘧啶—磺胺甲基异噁唑、氯霉素、氨苄青霉素、青霉素、头孢菌素)。治疗方案为:先给予头孢曲松(2 g IV qd)或青霉素G(150万~600万单位 IV q6h)。其后长期口服甲氧苄氨嘧啶/磺胺甲基异噁唑(160/800 mg po bid,疗程一年)或联合服用多西环素(100 mg po bid,疗程一年 )和羟氯喹(200 mg tid,疗程1年)。青霉素V钾或氨苄青霉素。临床起效很快,数天内发热和关节症状缓解。肠道症状通常在1~4周后改善。

为了证实治疗效果,可行粪便,唾液,或其它组织的PCR检测。不过,其他专家建议1年后重复活检,在显微镜下检测细菌(治疗成功后,细菌与巨噬细胞都可能持续存在数年)与PCR检测相结合。

复发很常见,可以发生在数年之后。如果怀疑复发,则需要小肠活检(无论累及何种器官),以了解细菌是否已经清除。

关键点

  • 惠普尔养障体 感染影响许多器官,包括胃肠道。

  • 小肠黏膜缠绕引起吸收不良。

  • 有关节炎,腹痛,腹泻,体重减轻,或其他吸收不良症状的中年白人男子应怀疑其可能患有Whipple病。

  • 内镜小肠活检是必要的。

  • 长期的抗生素治疗是必要的,因为复发较常见的。

点击此处 进行患者培训
注: 此为专业版。 家庭用户: 点击此处进入家庭版
获得

其他感兴趣资源

最新

顶部

Not Found
Locations

Find information on medical topics, symptoms, drugs, procedures, news and more, written for the health care professional.

* This is the Professional Version. *

Whipple Disease

(Whipple's Disease; Intestinal Lipodystrophy)

By Atenodoro R. Ruiz, Jr., MD, The Medical City, Pasig City, Metro-Manila, Philippines

Click here for
Patient Education

Whipple disease is a rare systemic illness caused by the bacterium Tropheryma whipplei. Main symptoms are arthritis, weight loss, abdominal pain, and diarrhea. Diagnosis is by small-bowel biopsy. Treatment is initially with ceftriaxone or penicillin followed by a minimum 1 yr of trimethoprim/sulfamethoxazole.

Whipple disease is a malabsorption syndrome. It predominately affects white men aged 30 to 60. Although it affects many parts of the body (eg, heart, lung, brain, serous cavities, joints, eye, GI tract), the mucosa of the small bowel is almost always involved. Affected patients may have subtle defects of cell-mediated immunity that predispose to infection with T. whipplei. About 30% of patients have HLA-B27.

Symptoms and Signs

Clinical presentation varies depending on the organ systems affected. The four cardinal symptoms of Whipple disease are

  • Arthralgia

  • Diarrhea

  • Abdominal pain

  • Weight loss

Usually, the first symptoms are arthritis and fever. Intestinal symptoms (eg, watery diarrhea, steatorrhea, abdominal pain, anorexia, weight loss) usually manifest later, sometimes years after the initial complaint. Gross or occult intestinal bleeding may occur. Severe malabsorption may be present in patients diagnosed late in the clinical course. Other findings include increased skin pigmentation, anemia, lymphadenopathy, chronic cough, serositis, peripheral edema, and CNS symptoms.

Diagnosis

  • Endoscopy with small-bowel biopsy

The diagnosis of Whipple disease may be missed in patients without prominent GI symptoms. Whipple disease should be suspected in middle-aged white men who have arthritis and abdominal pain, diarrhea, weight loss, or other symptoms of malabsorption. Such patients should have upper endoscopy with small-bowel biopsy; the intestinal lesions are specific and diagnostic. The most severe and consistent changes are in the proximal small bowel. Light microscopy shows periodic acid-Schiff–positive macrophages that distort the villus architecture. Gram-positive, acid fast–negative bacilli ( T. whipplei) are seen in the lamina propria and in the macrophages. If T. whipplei are not seen but Whipple disease is still clinically suspected, PCR testing and immunohistochemistry should be done.

Whipple disease should be differentiated from intestinal infection with Mycobacterium avium-intracellulare (MAI), which has similar histologic findings. However, MAI stains positive with acid fast.

Treatment

  • Antibiotics

  • Late relapse a possibility

Untreated disease is progressive and fatal. Many antibiotics are curative (eg, trimethoprim/sulfamethoxazole, penicillin, cephalosporins). Treatment of Whipple disease is initiated with ceftriaxone (2 g IV daily) or penicillin G (1.5 to 6 million units IV q 6 h). This regimen is followed by a long-term course of trimethoprim/sulfamethoxazole (160/800 mg po bid for 1 yr) or a combination of doxycycline (100 mg po bid for 1 yr) and hydroxychloroquine (200 mg po tid for 1 yr). Sulfa-allergic patients may substitute oral penicillin VK or ampicillin. Prompt clinical improvement occurs, with fever and joint pains resolving in a few days. Intestinal symptoms usually abate within 1 to 4 wk.

To confirm response to treatment, PCR testing can be done on stool, saliva, or other tissue. However, other authorities recommend repeat biopsy after 1 yr with microscopy to document bacilli (not just macrophages, which may persist for years after successful treatment) in conjunction with PCR testing.

Relapses are common and may occur years later. If relapse is suspected, small-bowel biopsies or PCR testing should be done (regardless of affected organ systems) to determine presence of free bacilli.

Key Points

  • Infection by the bacteria T. whipplei affects many organs, including the GI tract.

  • Small bowel mucosal involvement causes malabsorption.

  • Suspect Whipple disease in middle-aged white men who have arthritis and abdominal pain, diarrhea, weight loss, or other symptoms of malabsorption.

  • Endoscopic small-bowel biopsy is necessary.

  • Long-term antibiotic treatment is necessary, and relapses are common.

* This is the Professional Version. *