默沙东 诊疗手册

欢迎来到默沙东诊疗手册专业版医讯网站 本网站旨在为医药专业人员提供在线服务,如果您不是医药专业人员,建议您退出网站,登录默沙东中国官方网站了解相关信息。默沙东诊疗手册网站将对所有注册用户信息进行验证,医药专业人员必须接受并遵守用户协议条款才能使用本网站。如注册人员信息没能通过验证,默沙东诊疗手册网站有权终止该用户使用本网站的权利,在本网站每一网页下方均有链接功能,您可随时通过链接浏览用户使用协议条款与网站保护政策。

加载中

主动脉夹层分离

作者:

Mark A. Farber

, MD, FACS, University of North Carolina;


Thaniyyah S. Ahmad

, MD, MPH, University of North Carolina

最后一次全面审校/修订者 3月 2017| 内容末次修改日期 3月 2017
点击此处 进行患者培训
主题资源

主动脉夹层是血液通过撕裂的主动脉内膜涌入分离的内膜和中膜,形成一假腔(通道)。内膜撕裂可能是一原发事件或继发于中层内的出血所致。夹层分离可能发生在沿主动脉的任何地方,可向近处或远处延伸到其他动脉。高血压是重要的促成因素。症状和体征包括突然发作的胸部或背部的撕裂样疼痛,夹层分离可能引起主动脉瓣反流和分支动脉循环的损伤。诊断是靠影像检查(如,经食管超声心动图、CT血管造影、MRI、主动脉造影)。治疗通常包括积极的血压控制和动态影像学检查监测夹层进展。升主动脉夹层和某些降主动脉夹层需要手术修复主动脉并植入人造移植物。血管内支架植入术适用于部分患者,尤其当夹层累及降主动脉时。1/5病人在到达医院前就死亡,高达1/3的病人死于手术和围术期并发症。

在所有尸体解剖中发现1%~3%有夹层分离的证据。黑人、男性、老年人和高血压人群特别处于夹层分离的危险中。发生率的高峰年龄发生在50~65岁,或年龄在20~40岁的先天性结缔组织疾病病人(如,马方综合征, Ehlers-Danlos综合征)。

主动脉夹层分型

主动脉夹层分离可从解剖学上加以分类。

最常应用的是DeBakey分类系统

  • Ⅰ型(50%的夹层):夹层分离开始在升主动脉并至少延伸到主动脉弓,有时超过主动脉弓。

  • Ⅱ型(35%):夹层分离从升主动脉开始,并局限于升主动脉(邻近头臂动脉或无名动脉)。

  • Ⅲ型(15%):夹层分离开始在胸降主动脉,左锁骨下动脉起源处以下并向远处延伸,较少见的向近侧延伸。IIIa型夹层起源于左锁骨下动脉远端,并局限于胸主动脉。IIIb型夹层起源于左锁骨下动脉远端,并延伸至膈下。

Stanford分类系统更简单。

  • A型:夹层分离涉及升主动脉。

  • B型:夹层分离限于胸降主动脉(左锁骨下动脉远端)。

虽然夹层可能起源于主动脉的任何地方,但最常见的是在最大液压应力区,即

  • 升主动脉右侧壁(离主动脉瓣5cm内)

  • 降主动脉近段(略高于左锁骨下动脉的起点)

罕见的是,夹层限于个别的动脉(如,冠状动脉或颈动脉),典型地发生在妊娠或产后妇女中。

病因

主动脉夹层经常发生在主动脉中层有变性存在的情况中。原因及危险因素包括结缔组织疾病,动脉粥样硬化疾病和损伤( 导致主动脉夹层分离的情况)。

表格
icon

导致主动脉夹层分离的情况

种类

例子

动脉粥样硬化危险因素

可卡因

吸烟

获得性结缔组织疾病

先天性或遗传性结缔组织疾病

二叶式主动脉瓣

囊性中层坏死

家族性胸主动脉瘤

医源性

主动脉心导管检查

主动脉瓣手术

创伤

减速损伤

动脉粥样硬化的危险因素、显著高血压促成>2/3病人。在有些病人中内膜破裂后显示破裂为原发事件,在其他病人中破裂继发于中层内出血,血液流入到中层,产生一假的通道延伸到远处,较少见的是沿主动脉延伸到近侧。

病理生理

主动脉夹层的病理生理过程涉及主动脉壁炎症、血管平滑肌细胞凋亡、主动脉中膜变性、弹性蛋白断裂、血管剥离等。夹层可能通过远处部位的内膜破裂使血液流回而与主动脉的真腔交通,维持全身血流。

但严重的后果是常见的,主要包括:

  • 主动脉的分支动脉的血供受损(包括冠状动脉)

  • 主动脉瓣扩张和反流

  • 心力衰竭

  • 经外膜主动脉破向心包、右心房或左侧胸膜腔

急性夹层和出现时间<2周的夹层最可能引起这些并发症。如果证据提示假腔有血栓形成和真腔与假腔间失去交通,在2周时危险性降低。

主动脉夹层的变异型包括由于壁内血肿所致的内膜和中层分离而无清楚的内膜撕裂或内膜漂动物,内膜撕裂、凸出而无血肿或假腔,以及夹层或血肿由动脉粥样斑块溃疡引起。这些变化被认为是典型的主动脉夹层的前兆。

症状和体征

典型的是,心前区或肩胛间剧烈疼痛,常被描述为撕裂样或割裂样,突然发生。当夹层沿主动脉延伸时疼痛常从起源的部位迁移。多达20%的病人由于严重疼痛、主动脉压力感受器激活,颅外的脑动脉阻塞或心脏压塞而引起昏厥。低血压和心动过速提示活动性出血。

偶尔,病人会由于血液供应中断到特定的血管床,包括脊髓、大脑、心脏、肾脏、肠或四肢,而导致灌注不良的症状(中风、心肌梗塞、肠梗塞、肾功能不全、肢体瘫痪或瘫痪)。血液供应中断最常见于假腔所致急性远端动脉闭塞。

大约20%的病人有部分的或全部的主要动脉搏动缺失,脉搏可能渐渐变弱。肢体血压可能有差异,有时相差>30mmHg;此发现提示预后不良。约50%伴有近侧夹层的病人可闻及主动脉瓣反流的杂音。主动脉瓣反流的周围体征可能存在。罕见的是,由严重主动脉瓣反流所引起的心力衰竭。血液或炎症性浆液漏入到左胸膜腔可导致胸腔积液的体征;肢体动脉闭塞可能会引起周围性缺血或神经病变。肾动脉阻塞可能引起少尿或无尿。心脏压塞可能引起奇脉和颈静脉扩张。

经验与提示

  • 只有大约20%主动脉夹层的病人出现脉搏短促。

诊断

  • TEE,CTA或MRA

任何有胸痛、胸背痛、不明原因的昏厥或腹痛、卒中或急性发作心力衰竭的患者都必须考虑主动脉夹层,特别是四肢的脉搏或血压不平衡时。这些病人需要胸部X线检查;60%~90%的病人有纵隔阴影增宽,通常伴有起源部位的明显的局限性膨出。左侧胸腔积液常见。

出现急性胸痛,急性下壁心肌梗死的心电图改变,既往无杂音证据的主动脉瓣关闭不全(AI)患者,需要特别注意I型主动脉夹层进入右冠状动脉(导致下壁心肌梗死)和主动脉瓣(导致AI)。

如果胸部X线提示夹层,在病人稳定后应立即作TEE、CTA或MRA。内膜漂动和双腔的发现可确诊有夹层。

平面TEE敏感性是97%~99%,M型超声心动图的特异性几乎是100%。此检查可在床旁<20分钟内进行,不需要对比剂。但是,CTA通常是一线影像学检查方式,因为它比TEE更快、应用更广泛。CTA的敏感性超过95%,其阳性预测值是100%,阴性预测值是86%。

MRA对主动脉夹层的敏感性和特异性几乎是100%。但它耗时,不合适紧急检查。当怀疑夹层时,对亚急性或慢性胸痛的稳定病人MRA可能是最好应用的方法。

如果考虑手术,对比剂主动脉造影是一个选择。除了确定夹层的起源和范围、主动脉瓣反流的严重度、主动脉重要分支的涉及范围外,主动脉造影可帮助确定是否需要同时作冠状动脉旁路手术。对主动脉瓣反流也应作超声心动图检查,因而确定是否同时应作主动脉瓣修补或置换术。

心电图检查普遍应用。然而,其结果可从正常到明显的异常(在急性冠状动脉阻塞或主动脉瓣反流时),因此此检查对诊断夹层无帮助。对可溶性弹力素复合物和平滑肌肌凝蛋白重链蛋白的测定正在被研究中,数据显示具有应用前景,但不能作为常规测定。血清CK-MB和肌钙蛋白可能有助于鉴别主动脉夹层和心肌梗死,除非夹层引起的心肌梗死。

如果血液从主动脉漏出,常规实验室检查可能检出轻度白细胞增多和贫血。LDH增高可能是腹腔或肠系膜动脉干受累的一个非特异性征象。

在诊断评估时应及早请心胸外科医生会诊。

预后

大约20%主动脉夹层的病人在到达医院前死亡。如不治疗,病死率在头24小时是1%~3%,在1周时是30%,在2周时是80%和在1年时是90%。

对治疗的病人住院病死率近侧夹层约为30%,远侧夹层为10%。急性发作经治疗存活的病人,存活率在5年时约为60%,在10年时为40%。大约1/3晚期死亡是由于夹层的并发症所引起;其余的是由于其他疾病所致。

治疗

  • β-阻滞剂和其他降压药控制血压

  • 通常手术(血管内或开放修补)

未立即死于主动脉夹层的病人应住入ICU病房并实施动脉内血压监测,内置导尿管以监测尿排出量。当有可能手术时应配血型和交叉-配对。血流动力学不稳定的病人应气管插管。

医学管理

立即开始用降低动脉压、动脉剪应力、心室收缩力和止痛的药物以维持收缩压≤110mmHg或与足够的脑、冠状动脉和肾灌注相容的最低水平。

β-受体阻滞剂通常是控制BP的一线药物。药物选择包括美托洛尔5mg静注,最多4剂,间隔15分钟,艾司洛尔50~200mcg/kg/min持续静脉滴注,以及拉贝洛尔(α-和β-肾上腺能阻滞剂)1~2mg/min持续静滴或5~20mg静脉初始注射,再给予附加剂量20~40mg,每10~20分钟一次,在血压得到控制或给药总剂量达300mg前,再追加剂量20~40mg,每4~8小时给药一次。

β-阻滞剂的替代药物包括钙通道阻滞剂(如维拉帕米0.05~0.1mg/kg静脉注射或地尔硫䓬 0.25mg/kg[最多25mg]静脉注射或5~10mg/h连续静滴)。

即使使用β-阻滞剂,若收缩压保持>110mmHg,可开始恒定速率静滴硝普钠0.2~0.3mcg/kg/min,根据控制血压的需要,向上滴定剂量(通常为200~300mcg/min)。未用β-阻滞剂或钙通道阻滞剂时不应给予硝普钠,因为血管舒张引起反射性交感神经激活,可增加心室收缩力和主动脉的剪切应力,从而加重夹层剥离。

经验与提示

  • 主动脉夹层患者管理血压,不要使用没有β阻滞剂或钙通道阻断剂的血管扩张剂(如硝普钠),因为血管扩张剂会引起反射性交感神经激活,从而增加主动脉剪切应力。

外科手术修复

试验单用药物治疗仅适合于无并发症的、局限于 降主动脉 的稳定夹层(B型)。有合并症(灌注不足、持续性高血压和疼痛、主动脉直径迅速扩大、夹层延长和破裂)的患者需要进行血管内修复。马方综合征患者的急性远端夹层,手术也是最好的治疗方法。

对于升主动脉夹层,由于存在危及生命的并发症风险,因此几乎总是有必要施行手术,手术方式通常包括开放性修补和人造血管置换,尽管血管内治疗在某些情况下正在获得支持。

修复的程度取决于修复的病因和夹层的解剖性质。

手术的目标是封闭进入到假通道的入口和用人造血管重建主动脉。如果存在严重的主动脉瓣反流必须用再悬吊主动脉瓣叶或瓣膜置换来治疗。早期积极干预的手术结果是最好的;死亡率从7%到36%不等。不良结果的预测因素包括低血压、肾衰竭、年龄>岁、胸痛的突然发作、脉搏缺失和心电图上ST段抬高。

用支架植入以封闭进到假腔的入口和改善真腔通畅度,用球囊开窗术(在将真腔和假腔分隔开的夹层分离内膜上穿洞)或这两种方法兼用对发生周围缺血并发症的B型夹层病人可能是创伤性更小的替代治疗方法。目前,没有血管内带膜支架被批准用于A型夹层的常规应用。然而,基于伦理学原则,一些血管内装置可用于有开放性修复手术禁忌症的A型夹层患者。

手术并发症包括死亡、中风(由于栓子)、截瘫(由于脊髓缺血)、肾功能衰竭(特别是夹层累及肾动脉)和内漏(血液回流至动脉瘤囊内)。最重要的晚期并发症包括有再次剥离复发,弱化的主动脉上的局部动脉瘤形成,和渐进性的主动脉瓣关闭不全。这些并发症可能需要手术或者血管内修复治疗。

长期管理

所有患者,包括那些通过外科手术或血管内治疗的患者均应接受长期降压药物治疗,通常包括β-阻滞剂、钙通道阻滞剂和ACE抑制剂。除了那些扩血管制剂(如肼屈嗪、米诺地尔)和具有内在拟交感作用的β-阻滞剂(如乙酰苯托洛尔、吲哚洛尔)外,几乎任何抗高血压药物的组合都是可接受的。建议避免剧烈的体力活动。出院前可以行CT,并在出院半年和1年随访,此后每1~2年随访。

主动脉夹层修复后,应对患者的主动脉进行终身随访监测。弹性减弱的主动脉可能在手术修复或剥离重建的上方或下方再次发生动脉瘤变性。因此,持续的监测是有指征的

关键点

  • 夹层可能起源于沿主动脉的任何地方,但它最常见的发生部位是在升主动脉近侧(距主动脉瓣5cm之内)或胸降主动脉(恰在左锁骨下动脉起源处之下)。

  • 夹层前提是主动脉中层先前存在退化(如,结缔组织疾病,损伤引起),高血压通常也参与其中。

  • 患者通常有剧痛,撕裂的心前区或肩胛间疼痛,

  • 其他表现取决于主动脉根部和/或主动脉分支是否受到影响,以及是否存在破裂和破裂的位置;可能发生心脏衰竭、脏器缺血和失血性休克。

  • 诊断使用TEE,CTA,MRA或。

  • 迅速给予β-阻滞剂和其他降压药来控制血压

  • 单用药物治疗仅适合于无并发症的、局限于降主动脉的稳定夹层(B型),其他情况需要外科手术。

点击此处 进行患者培训
注: 此为专业版。 家庭用户: 点击此处进入家庭版
获得

其他感兴趣资源

最新

顶部

Not Found
Locations

Find information on medical topics, symptoms, drugs, procedures, news and more, written for the health care professional.

* This is the Professional Version. *

Aortic Dissection

By Mark A. Farber, MD, FACS, Professor of Surgery and Radiology, Division of Vascular Surgery;Director University of North Carolina Aortic Network, University of North Carolina;University of North Carolina ; Thaniyyah S. Ahmad, MD, MPH, University of North Carolina

Click here for
Patient Education

1 iOS Android

Aortic dissection is the surging of blood through a tear in the aortic intima with separation of the intima and media and creation of a false lumen (channel). The intimal tear may be a primary event or secondary to hemorrhage within the media. The dissection may occur anywhere along the aorta and extend proximally or distally into other arteries. Hypertension is an important contributor. Symptoms and signs include abrupt onset of tearing chest or back pain, and dissection may result in aortic regurgitation and compromised circulation in branch arteries. Diagnosis is by imaging tests (eg, transesophageal echocardiography, CT angiography, MRI, contrast aortography). Treatment always involves aggressive blood pressure control and serial imaging to monitor progression of dissection. Surgical repair of the aorta and placement of a synthetic graft are needed for ascending aortic dissection and for certain descending aortic dissections. Endovascular stent grafts are used for certain patients, especially when dissection involves the descending thoracic aorta. One fifth of patients die before reaching the hospital, and up to one third die of operative or perioperative complications.

Evidence of dissection is found in 1 to 3% of all autopsies. Blacks, men, the elderly, and people with hypertension are especially at risk. Peak incidence occurs at age 50 to 65 in the general population and at age 20 to 40 for patients with congenital connective tissue disorders (eg, Marfan syndrome, Ehlers-Danlos syndrome).

Classification of aortic dissection

Aortic dissections are classified anatomically.

The DeBakey classification system is most widely used.

  • Type I (50% of dissections): These dissections start in the ascending aorta and extend at least to the aortic arch and sometimes beyond.

  • Type II (35%): These dissections start in and are confined to the ascending aorta (proximal to the brachiocephalic or innominate artery).

  • Type III (15%): These dissections start in the descending thoracic aorta just beyond the origin of the left subclavian artery and extend distally or, less commonly, proximally. Type IIIa dissections originate distal to the left subclavian artery and are confined to the thoracic aorta. Type IIIb dissections originate distal to the left subclavian artery and extend below the diaphragm.

The Stanford system is simpler.

  • Type A: These dissections involve the ascending aorta.

  • Type B: These dissections are confined to the descending thoracic aorta (distal to the left subclavian artery).

Although dissection may originate anywhere along the aorta, it occurs most commonly at areas of greatest hydraulic stress, which are the

  • Right lateral wall of the ascending aorta (within 5 cm of the aortic valve)

  • Proximal segment of the descending aorta (just beyond the origin of the left subclavian artery)

Rarely, dissection is confined to individual arteries (eg, coronary or carotid arteries), typically in pregnant or postpartum women.

Etiology

Aortic dissections often occur in patients with preexisting degeneration of the aortic media. Causes and risk factors include connective tissue disorders, atherosclerotic disease, and injury (see Table: Conditions Contributing to Aortic Dissection).

Conditions Contributing to Aortic Dissection

Category

Examples

Atherosclerotic risk factors

Cocaine

Smoking

Connective tissue disorders, acquired

Connective tissue disorders, congenital or hereditary

Bicuspid aortic valve

Cystic medial necrosis

Familial thoracic aortic aneurysm

Iatrogenic

Aortic catheterization

Aortic valve surgery

Trauma

Deceleration injuries

Atherosclerotic risk factors, notably hypertension, contribute in more than two thirds of patients. After rupture of the intima, which is a primary event in some patients and secondary to hemorrhage within the media in others, blood flows into the media, creating a false channel that extends distally or, less commonly, proximally along the artery.

Pathophysiology

The pathophysiologic sequence of aortic dissections involves aortic wall inflammation, apoptosis of vascular smooth muscle cells, degeneration of aortic media, elastin disruption, and then vessel dissection. Dissections may communicate back with the true aortic lumen through intimal rupture at a distal site, maintaining systemic blood flow.

Serious consequences are common and include

  • Compromise of the blood supply of arteries that branch off the aorta (including coronary arteries)

  • Aortic valvular dilation and regurgitation

  • Heart failure

  • Fatal rupture of the aorta through the adventitia into the pericardium, right atrium, or left pleural space

Acute dissections and those present < 2 wk are most likely to cause these complications. Risk decreases at 2 wk if evidence indicates thrombosis of the false lumen and loss of communication between the true and false lumina.

Variants of aortic dissection include separation of the intima and media by intramural hematoma without a clear intimal tear or flap, intimal tear and bulge without hematoma or false lumen, and dissection or hematoma caused by ulceration of atherosclerotic plaque. These variants are thought to be precursors of classic aortic dissection.

Symptoms and Signs

Typically, excruciating precordial or interscapular pain, often described as tearing or ripping, occurs abruptly. The pain frequently migrates from the original location as the dissection extends along the aorta. Up to 20% of patients present with syncope due to severe pain, aortic baroreceptor activation, extracranial cerebral artery obstruction, or cardiac tamponade. Hypotension and tachycardia could indicate active bleeding.

Occasionally, patients present with symptoms of malperfusion (stroke, myocardial infarction, intestinal infarction, renal insufficiency, paraparesis, or paraplegia) due to interruption of the blood supply to a particular vascular bed, including the spinal cord, brain, heart, kidneys, intestine, or extremities. The interruption in blood supply is most often due to acute distal arterial obstruction by the false lumen.

About 20% of patients have partial or complete deficits of major arterial pulses, which may wax and wane. Limb blood pressures may differ, sometimes by > 30 mm Hg; this finding suggests a poor prognosis. A murmur of aortic regurgitation is heard in about 50% of patients with proximal dissection. Peripheral signs of aortic regurgitation may be present. Rarely, heart failure results from severe acute aortic regurgitation. Leakage of blood or inflammatory serous fluid into the left pleural space may lead to signs of pleural effusion. Occlusion of a limb artery may cause signs of peripheral ischemia or neuropathy. Renal artery occlusion may cause oliguria or anuria. Cardiac tamponade may cause pulsus paradoxus and jugular venous distention.

Pearls & Pitfalls

  • Only about 20% of patients with aortic dissection have pulse deficits.

Diagnosis

  • Transesophageal echocardiography (TEE), CT angiography (CTA), or magnetic resonance angiography (MRA)

Aortic dissection must be considered in any patient with chest pain, thoracic back pain, unexplained syncope, unexplained abdominal pain, stroke, or acute-onset heart failure, especially when pulses or blood pressures in the limbs are unequal. Such patients require a chest x-ray; in 60 to 90%, the mediastinal shadow is widened, usually with a localized bulge signifying the site of origin. Left pleural effusion is common.

Patients presenting with acute chest pain, ECG changes of acute inferior myocardial infarction, and a previously undocumented murmur of aortic insufficiency (AI) are of particular concern for a type I aortic dissection into the right coronary artery (causing inferior myocardial infarction), and the aortic valve (causing AI).

If chest x-ray suggests dissection, TEE, CTA, or MRA is done immediately after the patient is stabilized. Findings of an intimal flap and double lumina confirm dissection.

Multiplanar TEE is 97 to 99% sensitive and, with M-mode echocardiography, is nearly 100% specific. It can be done at the bedside in < 20 min and does not require contrast agents. However, CTA is typically the first-line imaging modality because it is often available more rapidly and widely than TEE. The sensitivity of CTA exceeds 95% and it has a positive predictive value of 100% and a negative predictive value of 86%.

MRA has nearly 100% sensitivity and specificity for aortic dissection. But it is time-consuming and ill-suited for emergencies. It is probably best used for stable patients with subacute or chronic chest pain when dissection is suspected.

Contrast aortography is an option if surgery is being considered. In addition to identifying the origin and extent of dissection, severity of aortic regurgitation, and extent of involvement of the aorta’s major branches, aortography helps determine whether simultaneous coronary artery bypass surgery is needed. Echocardiography should also be done to check for aortic regurgitation and thus determine whether the aortic valve should be repaired or replaced concomitantly.

ECG is nearly universally done. However, findings range from normal to markedly abnormal (in acute coronary artery occlusion or aortic regurgitation), so the test is not diagnostically helpful for dissection itself. Assays for soluble elastin compounds and smooth-muscle myosin heavy-chain protein are being studied; the data appears promising, but the assays are not routinely available. Serum CK-MB and troponin may help distinguish aortic dissection from myocardial infarction, except when dissection causes myocardial infarction.

Routine laboratory tests may detect slight leukocytosis and anemia if blood has leaked from the aorta. Increased LDH may be a nonspecific sign of celiac or mesenteric arterial trunk involvement.

A cardiothoracic surgeon should be consulted early during the diagnostic evaluation.

Prognosis

About 20% of patients with aortic dissection die before reaching the hospital. Without treatment, mortality rate is 1 to 3%/h during the first 24 h, 30% at 1 wk, 80% at 2 wk, and 90% at 1 yr.

Hospital mortality rate for treated patients is about 30% for proximal dissection and 10% for distal. For treated patients who survive the acute episode, survival rate is about 60% at 5 yr and 40% at 10 yr. About one third of late deaths are due to complications of the dissection; the rest are due to other disorders.

Treatment

  • Beta-blockers and other drugs to control BP

  • Usually surgery (endovascular or open repair)

Patients who do not immediately die of aortic dissection should be admitted to an ICU with intra-arterial blood pressure monitoring and an indwelling urethral catheter to monitor urine output. Blood should be typed and cross-matched for 4 to 6 units of packed RBCs when surgery is likely. Hemodynamically unstable patients should be intubated.

Medical management

Drugs to decrease arterial pressure, arterial shear stress, ventricular contractility, and pain are started immediately to maintain systolic BP at ≤ 110 mm Hg or the lowest level compatible with adequate cerebral, coronary, and renal perfusion.

A beta-blocker is usually the first-line drug for BP control. Options include metoprolol 5 mg IV up to 4 doses 15 min apart, esmolol 50 to 200 mcg/kg/min in a constant IV infusion, and labetalol (an alpha- and beta-adrenergic blocker) 1 to 2 mg/min in a constant IV infusion or 5 to 20 mg IV initial bolus with additional doses of 20 to 40 mg given q 10 to 20 min until BP is controlled or a total of 300 mg has been given, followed by additional 20- to 40-mg doses q 4 to 8 h prn.

Alternatives to beta-blockers include calcium channel blockers (eg, verapamil 0.05 to 0.1 mg/kg IV bolus or diltiazem 0.25 mg/kg [up to 25 mg] IV bolus or 5 to 10 mg/h by continuous infusion).

If systolic BP remains > 110 mm Hg despite use of beta-blockers, nitroprusside in a constant IV infusion can be started at 0.2 to 0.3 mcg/kg/min and titrated upward (often to 200 to 300 mcg/min) as necessary to control BP. Nitroprusside should not be given without a beta-blocker or calcium channel blocker, because reflex sympathetic activation in response to vasodilation can increase ventricular inotropy and aortic shear stress, worsening the dissection.

Pearls & Pitfalls

  • To manage BP in aortic dissection, do not use a vasodilator (eg, nitroprusside) without a beta-blocker or calcium channel blocker because the vasodilator causes reflex sympathetic activation, which increases aortic shear stress.

Surgical repair

For the descending aorta, a trial of drug therapy alone is appropriate for an uncomplicated, stable dissection confined to the descending aorta (type B). Endovascular repair is warranted in patients with complications (malperfusion, persistent hypertension and pain, rapidly enlarging aortic diameter, extension of the dissection, and rupture). Surgery is also best for acute distal dissections in patients with Marfan syndrome.

For the ascending aorta, surgery is virtually always indicated due to the risk of life-threatening complications and usually involves open repair and replacement, although endovascular therapy is gaining support in certain circumstances.

The extent of repair depends upon the reason for repair and the anatomic nature of the dissection.

The goal of surgery is to obliterate entry into the false channel and reconstitute the aorta with a synthetic graft. If present, severe aortic regurgitation must be treated by resuspending the aortic leaflets or replacing the valve. Surgical outcomes are best with early, aggressive intervention. Mortality rate ranges from 7 to 36%. Predictors of poor outcome include hypotension, renal failure, age > 70, abrupt onset of chest pain, pulse deficit, and ST-segment elevation on ECG.

Stent grafts that seal entry to the false lumen and improve patency of the true lumen, balloon fenestration (in which an opening is made in the dissection flap that separates the true and false lumina), or both may be less invasive alternatives for patients with type B dissection if peripheral ischemic complications develop. Currently, there are no endovascular stent grafts approved for routine use in type A dissections. However, some endovascular devices are available for compassionate use in patients with type A dissections who have contraindications to open surgical repair.

Complications of surgery include death, stroke (due to emboli), paraplegia (due to spinal cord ischemia), renal failure (especially if dissection includes renal arteries) and endoleak (leakage of blood back into the aneurysmal sac). The most important late complications include redissection, formation of localized aneurysms in the weakened aorta, and progressive aortic regurgitation. These complications may require surgical or endovascular repair.

Long-term management

All patients, including those treated by surgery or endovascular methods, are given long-term antihypertensive drug therapy, usually including beta-blockers, calcium channel blockers, and ACE inhibitors. Almost any combination of antihypertensives is acceptable; exceptions are those that act mainly by vasodilation (eg, hydralazine, minoxidil) and beta-blockers that have intrinsic sympathomimetic action (eg, acebutolol, pindolol). Avoidance of strenuous physical activity is often recommended. CT may be done before discharge and repeated at 6 mo and 1 yr, then every 1 to 2 yr.

After repair of a dissection, the aorta should be monitored for the rest of the patient's life. The weakened aorta may develop aneurysmal degeneration above or below the surgical repair or re-dissect. For these reasons, continued surveillance is indicated.

Key Points

  • Aortic dissection may originate anywhere along the aorta but is most common at the proximal ascending aorta (within 5 cm of the aortic valve) or the descending thoracic aorta just beyond the origin of the left subclavian artery.

  • Dissection requires preexisting degeneration of the aortic media (eg, caused by connective tissue disorders, injury) but hypertension is commonly also involved.

  • Patients typically have excruciating, tearing precordial or interscapular pain.

  • Other manifestations depend on whether the aortic root and/or branches of the aorta are affected, and the presence and location of any rupture; heart failure, organ ischemia, and hemorrhagic shock may occur.

  • Diagnose using TEE, CTA, or MRA.

  • Immediately give beta-blockers and other drugs as needed to control blood pressure.

  • Drug therapy alone is appropriate for uncomplicated, stable dissection confined to the descending aorta; other cases require surgery.

Resources In This Article

* This is the Professional Version. *