默沙东 诊疗手册

欢迎来到默沙东诊疗手册专业版医讯网站 本网站旨在为医药专业人员提供在线服务,如果您不是医药专业人员,建议您退出网站,登录默沙东中国官方网站了解相关信息。默沙东诊疗手册网站将对所有注册用户信息进行验证,医药专业人员必须接受并遵守用户协议条款才能使用本网站。如注册人员信息没能通过验证,默沙东诊疗手册网站有权终止该用户使用本网站的权利,在本网站每一网页下方均有链接功能,您可随时通过链接浏览用户使用协议条款与网站保护政策。

加载中

坏死性小肠结肠炎

作者:

William J. Cochran

, MD, Geisinger Clinic

最后一次全面审校/修订者 3月 2020| 内容末次修改日期 3月 2020
点击此处 进行患者培训
主题资源

坏死性小肠结肠炎为一种获得性疾病,主要在早产儿或患病的新生儿中发生,其特征为粘膜或累及范围更大的肠坏死。这是新生儿最常见的胃肠道急症。症状和体征包括:嗜睡、体温不稳定、肠梗阻、腹胀、胆汁性呕吐、便血、大便中查见还原性物质、呼吸暂停及脓毒血症表现。诊断需结合临床和影像学检查。治疗主要是支持性治疗,包括:鼻胃管吸引、静脉补液、全肠外营养、抗生素使用、感染病例的隔离和有时采用手术治疗。

超过90%的坏死性小肠结肠炎(NEC)发生于早产儿。重症监护病房住院的新生儿中约有1~8%发生。

危险因素

除了早产儿,坏死性小肠结肠炎的一般风险因素包括

三个肠道因素 通常存在:

  • 前述的缺血性脑损伤

  • 细菌定植

  • 腔内基质(即,肠内喂养)

病因

坏死性小肠结肠炎的确切病因尚不明确。但是,未成熟肠道的通透性增加和免疫功能未成熟是诱发因素。普遍认为肠缺血损害可破坏肠黏膜使肠道通透性增加,易受细菌侵袭。肠内喂养前很少发生坏死性小肠结肠炎,并且在母乳喂养的婴儿中较不常见。一旦开始喂养,为肠道细菌繁殖提供了充足的底物,而细菌可渗透过肠壁,产生氢气。气体积聚(肠壁囊样积气征),气体也可进入门静脉。菌群失调(肠道微生态改变),例如使用抗生素或抑酸药物治疗后发生的菌群失调,也可能是一个促成因素,因为它会增加潜在的致病菌。

缺血性损害可由于缺氧性损害所触发的原始潜水反射引起的肠系膜动脉痉挛,导致肠道的血流明显减少。肠道缺血也可源于换血过程中血流量减少、脓毒血症时或用高张力配方奶喂养。同样,先天性心脏病可因体循环血流量或动脉血氧饱和度的降低,导致肠道缺氧/缺血,从而发生坏死性小肠结肠炎。

NEC可在新生儿监护病房中群集发生或暴发流行。一些群集性病例与某些微生物有关(例如,克雷白氏杆菌大肠杆菌,凝固酶阴性的葡萄球菌等),但通常没有发现特定的病原菌。

坏死性结肠炎的并发症

肠坏死从黏膜层开始,逐渐累及肠壁全层,导致肠穿孔,继发腹膜炎和腹腔游离气体。最常发生在回肠末端,结肠和近端小肠很少受累。20%~30%的婴儿发生败血症,并可引起死亡。

症状和体征

婴儿可能表现为进食困难和血腥或胆汁性胃残留物(在喂养之后),其可能发展为胆汁性呕吐,通过腹部扩张表现的肠梗阻或在粪便中的总血。脓毒症可以由嗜睡,温度不稳定,增加的呼吸暂停法和代谢性酸中毒表现。

诊断

  • 检查证实血便

  • 腹部X线片

  • 超声检查

早期x线可能是非特异性的,仅显示肠梗阻。然而,在重复的x射线上不变化的固定的扩张的肠环表示NEC。NEC的X线征象诊断是肠道气道炎症和和门静脉积气。气腹提示肠穿孔,需要急诊外科手术治疗。

超声检查在NEC中的应用越来越广泛。通过超声检查,临床医生可以观察肠壁厚度,肠内积气和血流。但是,该技术非常依赖操作者,普通X射线仍然更常用。

治疗

  • 喂养停止

  • 鼻胃管吸出

  • 液体复苏疗法

  • 光谱抗生素

  • 全肠外营养(TPN)

  • 有时需手术或经皮穿刺引流治疗

坏死性小肠结肠炎的新生儿死亡率为20%~30%。通过积极的支持治疗和及时的外科干预可改善预后。

支持疗法

约75%病例非外科手术性治疗即可。如果怀疑NEC应立即禁食,用连接间歇吸引器的双腔鼻胃管来进行小肠减压。由于广泛的肠道炎症和腹膜炎可导致第三间隙相当多的液体丧失,应适当输注胶体和晶体液以维持循环。在肠道愈合期间,患儿需要10~14天的TPN治疗。

应立即采用 β-内酰胺类抗生素(如氨苄西林、替卡西林)和氨基糖苷类抗生素开始全身性治疗。还可以考虑增加抗厌氧菌覆盖范围(如克林霉素,甲硝唑),并且应当持续10~14天(剂量见 新生儿胃肠外给药的推荐抗生素剂量)。由于暴发流行可能有传染性,宜将患儿隔离,特别是如果短期内出现数例病人时更应注意。

需要对患儿进行密切监测;经常性完全重新评估(如至少每12小时1次)和定期的腹部X线检查、全血细胞计数(CBC)、血小板计数和血气分析。肠狭窄是NEC最常见的长期并发症,发生在10〜36%的初次事件中幸存的婴儿。NEC发作后2~3个月内出现肠道狭窄的典型表现。通常在脾曲处的结肠,尤其是左侧。需要切除狭窄肠段来重新恢复肠道的正常结构。

外科手术

<25%的病例需要手术治疗。手术指征为:肠穿孔(气腹)、腹膜炎体征(肠鸣音消失、全腹肌卫、触痛、腹壁红肿和水肿),或通过腹腔穿刺抽出脓性物质。对于NEC婴儿,经过非手术治疗后临床和实验室情况持续恶化时,应考虑手术治疗。

初始阶段经皮腹腔引流术也是一种选择,可以在床旁进行。在此过程中,外科医生在右下腹切开一个切口,通过此切口用温盐溶液冲洗腹部。然后放置一根引流管,使腹腔持续引流。当引流停止时,可以每天将引流管稍微拉出一点,然后将其去除。此手术通常用于病情严重,极低出生体重的婴儿,如果他们被带进手术室则有较高风险; 但这可能与更高的死亡率有关。

接受剖腹手术的婴儿,坏疽的肠被切除,并造口。(如果其余的肠道没有缺血迹象,可以进行一期肠吻合术。)随着脓毒血症和腹膜炎的改善,肠道的连续性可在数周或数月后重新建立。

预防

高危婴儿理想情况下应母乳喂养,喂养应从少量开始,按照标准化方案逐渐增加。(如果没有母乳,早产儿配方是合适的替代品。)应避免使用高渗配方、药物或造影剂。应及时治疗红细胞增多症。如有可能,应避免使用抗生素和抗酸药。

益生菌(例如, 双歧杆菌嗜酸乳杆菌)有助于预防NEC,但在常规使用前需要进一步的研究,以确定最佳剂量和适宜菌株。

皮质类固醇激素可用于有早产风险的孕妇,以帮助预防坏死性小肠结肠炎(1).

预防参考文献

  • 1.Xiong T, Maheshwari A, Neu J, et al: An overview of systematic reviews of randomized-controlled trials for preventing necrotizing enterocolitis in preterm infants.Neonatology 13:1–11, 2019.doi:10.1159 / 000504371.

关键点

  • 新生儿坏死性小肠结肠炎(NEC)是肠道坏死的不明原因; 它主要发生在早产或生病的新生儿在肠内喂养开始后。

  • 并发症包括肠穿孔(最常见于末端回肠)和腹膜炎;脓毒症发生率为20%~30%,可能导致死亡。

  • 初始表现为进食困难和血腥或胆汁性胃残留(在喂食之后),然后是胆汁呕吐,腹部膨胀和/或粪便中的总血。

  • 使用X线片检查诊断。

  • 使用液体复苏,鼻胃管吸引,广谱抗生素和全肠外营养的支持治疗在> 75%的病例中有效。

  • <25%的患儿需要手术治疗,以切除坏疽性肠段,处理穿孔。

点击此处 进行患者培训
注: 此为专业版。 家庭用户: 点击此处进入家庭版
获得

其他感兴趣资源

视频

查看全部
如何给男婴或小孩导尿
视频
如何给男婴或小孩导尿
产前心脏循环
视频
产前心脏循环
胎儿的心脏和循环系统在受孕后不久就开始形成。到第五周结束时,胎儿的心脏能够将血液泵入全身。但由于肺脏要到胎儿出生后第一次呼吸时才会发挥作用,因此母亲必须为胎儿提供富含氧气的血液。...

最新

顶部

MSD Manual

Please confirm that you are a health care professional

Loading

Necrotizing Enterocolitis

By

William J. Cochran

, MD, Geisinger Clinic

Last full review/revision Mar 2020| Content last modified Mar 2020
Click here for Patient Education
NOTE: This is the Professional Version. CONSUMERS: Click here for the Consumer Version
Topic Resources

Necrotizing enterocolitis is an acquired disease, primarily of preterm or sick neonates, characterized by mucosal or even deeper intestinal necrosis. It is the most common gastrointestinal emergency among neonates. Symptoms and signs include feeding intolerance, lethargy, temperature instability, ileus, bloating, bilious emesis, hematochezia, reducing substances in the stool, apnea, and sometimes signs of sepsis. Diagnosis is clinical and is confirmed by imaging studies. Treatment is primarily supportive and includes nasogastric suction, parenteral fluids, total parenteral nutrition, antibiotics, isolation in cases of infection, and, sometimes, surgery.

Over 90% of cases of necrotizing enterocolitis (NEC) occur in premature infants. It occurs in about 1 to 8% of neonatal intensive care unit admissions.

Risk factors

General risk factors for necrotizing enterocolitis in addition to prematurity include

Three intestinal factors are usually present:

  • A preceding ischemic insult

  • Bacterial colonization

  • Intraluminal substrate (ie, enteral feedings)

Etiology

The exact etiology of necrotizing enterocolitis is not clear. However, the increased permeability and immature immune function of the immature intestinal tract are predisposing factors. It is believed that an ischemic insult damages the intestinal lining, leading to increased intestinal permeability and leaving the intestine susceptible to bacterial invasion. NEC rarely occurs before enteral feedings have begun and is less common among breastfed infants. However, once feedings are begun, ample substrate is present for proliferation of luminal bacteria, which can penetrate the damaged intestinal wall, producing hydrogen gas. The gas may collect within the intestinal wall (pneumatosis intestinalis) or enter the portal veins. Dysbiosis (alteration of the intestinal microbiome), such as that which occurs after treatment with antibiotics or acid-suppressing drugs, may also be a contributing factor because it increases potentially pathogenic bacteria.

The initial ischemic insult may result from vasospasm of the mesenteric arteries, which can be caused by an anoxic insult triggering the primitive diving reflex that markedly diminishes intestinal blood flow. Intestinal ischemia may also result from low blood flow during an exchange transfusion, during sepsis, or from the use of hyperosmolar formulas. Similarly, congenital heart disease with reduced systemic blood flow or arterial oxygen desaturation may lead to intestinal hypoxia/ischemia and predispose to NEC.

NEC may occur as clusters of cases or as outbreaks in neonatal intensive care units. Some clusters appear to be associated with specific organisms (eg, Klebsiella, Escherichia coli, coagulase-negative staphylococci), but often no specific pathogen is identified.

Complications of necrotizing enterocolitis

Necrosis begins in the mucosa and may progress to involve the full thickness of the intestinal wall, causing intestinal perforation with subsequent peritonitis and often free intra-abdominal air. Perforation occurs most commonly in the terminal ileum; the colon and the proximal small bowel are involved less frequently. Sepsis occurs in 20 to 30% of infants, and death may occur.

Symptoms and Signs

Infants may present with feeding difficulties and bloody or bilious gastric residuals (after feedings) that may progress to bilious emesis, ileus manifested by abdominal distention, or gross blood in stool. Sepsis may be manifested by lethargy, temperature instability, increased apneic spells, and metabolic acidosis.

Diagnosis

  • Detection of blood in stool

  • Abdominal x-rays

  • Ultrasonography

Early x-rays may be nonspecific and reveal only ileus. However, a fixed, dilated intestinal loop that does not change on repeated x-rays indicates NEC. X-ray signs diagnostic of NEC are pneumatosis intestinalis and portal vein gas. Pneumoperitoneum indicates bowel perforation and an urgent need for surgery.

Ultrasonography is being used increasingly in cases of NEC. With ultrasonography, clinicians have the ability to look at bowel wall thickness, pneumatosis intestinalis, and blood flow. This technique, however, is very operator dependent, and plain x-rays are still more commonly used.

Treatment

  • Feedings stopped

  • Nasogastric suction

  • Fluid resuscitation

  • Broad-spectrum antibiotics

  • Total parenteral nutrition (TPN)

  • Sometimes surgery or percutaneous drainage

The mortality rate is 20 to 30%. Aggressive support and judicious timing of surgical intervention maximize the chance of survival.

Support

Nonsurgical support is sufficient in over 75% of cases. Feedings must be stopped immediately if NEC is suspected, and the intestine should be decompressed with a double-lumen nasogastric tube attached to intermittent suction. Appropriate colloid and crystalloid parenteral fluids must be given to support circulation, because extensive intestinal inflammation and peritonitis may lead to considerable 3rd-space fluid loss. TPN is needed for 10 to 14 days while the intestine heals.

Systemic antibiotics should be started at once with a beta-lactam antibiotic (eg, ampicillin, ticarcillin) and an aminoglycoside. Additional anaerobic coverage (eg, clindamycin, metronidazole) may also be considered and should continue for 10 to 14 days (for dosage, see Table: Recommended Dosages of Selected Parenteral Antibiotics for Neonates). Because some outbreaks may be infectious, patient isolation should be considered, particularly if several cases occur within a short time.

The infant requires close monitoring; frequent complete reevaluation (eg, at least every 12 hours); and serial abdominal x-rays, complete blood counts (CBCs), platelet counts, and blood gases. Intestinal strictures are the most common long-term complication of NEC, occurring in 10 to 36% of infants who survive the initial event. Strictures typically manifest within 2 to 3 months of an NEC episode. Strictures are most commonly noted in the colon, especially on the left side. Resection of the stricture is then required.

Surgery

Surgical intervention is needed in < 25% of infants. Absolute indications are intestinal perforation (pneumoperitoneum), signs of peritonitis (absent intestinal sounds and diffuse guarding and tenderness or erythema and edema of the abdominal wall), or aspiration of purulent material from the peritoneal cavity by paracentesis. Surgery should be considered for an infant with NEC whose clinical and laboratory conditions worsen despite nonsurgical support.

Primary percutaneous peritoneal drainage is also an option and can be done at the bedside. In this procedure, the surgeon makes an incision in the right lower quadrant through which the abdomen is irrigated with warm saline solution. A drain is then placed to allow continued drainage of the abdomen. When drainage has stopped, the drain can be pulled back a little each day and subsequently removed. This procedure is done more commonly in very sick, extremely low-birth-weight infants who would be at risk if taken to an operating room; however, it may be associated with a higher mortality.

For infants undergoing laparotomy, the gangrenous bowel is resected, and ostomies are created. (Primary reanastomosis may be done if the remaining intestine shows no signs of ischemia.) With resolution of sepsis and peritonitis, intestinal continuity can be reestablished several weeks or months later.

Prevention

At-risk infants should ideally be fed breast milk, and feedings should begin with small amounts that are gradually increased according to standardized protocols. (Preterm formula is an appropriate substitute if breast milk is not available.) Hypertonic formula, drugs, or contrast material should be avoided. Polycythemia should be treated promptly. When possible, antibiotics and acid-supressing drugs should be avoided.

Probiotics (eg, Bifidus infantis, Lactobacillus acidophilus) help prevent NEC, but further studies to determine optimal dosing and appropriate strains are required before routine use.

Corticosteroids may be given to pregnant women who are at risk of preterm birth to help prevent necrotizing enterocolitis (1).

Prevention reference

  • 1. Xiong T, Maheshwari A, Neu J, et al: An overview of systematic reviews of randomized-controlled trials for preventing necrotizing enterocolitis in preterm infants. Neonatology 13:1–11, 2019. doi: 10.1159/000504371.

Key Points

  • Necrotizing enterocolitis (NEC) is intestinal necrosis of uncertain etiology; it occurs mainly in preterm or sick neonates after enteral feedings have begun.

  • Complications include intestinal perforation (most often in the terminal ileum) and peritonitis; sepsis occurs in 20 to 30%, and death may occur.

  • Initial manifestations are feeding difficulties and bloody or bilious gastric residuals (after feedings) followed by bilious emesis, abdominal distention, and/or gross blood in stool.

  • Diagnose using plain x-rays.

  • Supportive treatment using fluid resuscitation, nasogastric suction, broad-spectrum antibiotics, and total parenteral nutrition is effective in > 75% of cases.

  • Surgery to resect gangrenous bowel and treat perforation is needed in < 25% of infants.

Click here for Patient Education
NOTE: This is the Professional Version. CONSUMERS: Click here for the Consumer Version
Professionals also read

Also of Interest

Videos

View All
Prenatal Heart Circulation
Video
Prenatal Heart Circulation
The heart and circulatory system of a fetus begin to form soon after conception. By the end...
3D Models
View All
Cystic Fibrosis: Defective Chloride Transport
3D Model
Cystic Fibrosis: Defective Chloride Transport

SOCIAL MEDIA

TOP