默沙东 诊疗手册

欢迎来到默沙东诊疗手册专业版医讯网站 本网站旨在为医药专业人员提供在线服务,如果您不是医药专业人员,建议您退出网站,登录默沙东中国官方网站了解相关信息。默沙东诊疗手册网站将对所有注册用户信息进行验证,医药专业人员必须接受并遵守用户协议条款才能使用本网站。如注册人员信息没能通过验证,默沙东诊疗手册网站有权终止该用户使用本网站的权利,在本网站每一网页下方均有链接功能,您可随时通过链接浏览用户使用协议条款与网站保护政策。

加载中

性早熟

作者:

Andrew Calabria

, MD, Perelman School of Medicine at The University of Pennsylvania

最后一次全面审校/修订者 2月 2017| 内容末次修改日期 2月 2017
点击此处 进行患者培训
主题资源

性早熟是指女孩8岁前,男孩9岁前开始性成熟。诊断根据人群标准、左手及腕X线片评估骨龄和判断骨骼的加速生长,测量血清促性腺激素、性激素、肾上腺激素水平。根据不同病因进行治疗。

女孩第一个性发育的里程碑是乳房开始增大,接着是阴毛初现,随即腋毛出现和月经初潮,传统上发生在青春期乳房开始发育后的2至3年( 青春期-女性性征发育时间)。

青春期-女性性征发育时间

长条代表正常范围。

青春期-女性性征发育时间

男孩第一个性发育的里程碑是睾丸开始增大,接着是阴茎增大,阴毛腋毛出现( 青春期-男性性征发育时)。

青春期-男性性征发育时

直条图指示正常范围。目前无体质改变的平均值。

青春期-男性性征发育时

阴毛腋毛出现也称为肾上腺皮质功能初现。肾上腺皮质可发生在性腺发育之前约10%的儿童(早产儿)。虽然性腺功能初见和肾上腺功能初现可以具有重叠的迹象,它们被独立地调节。

性早熟的定义取决于可靠的青春期开始人口标准(即青春期里程碑发生时);由于在美国发病似乎更早,尤其是女性,这些传统标准正在重新评估。乳房发育是在年轻的年龄日益发生,这一趋势和肥胖的流行趋势一致,与乳房早发育相关的较高的身体质量指数(>第85百分位)。

几乎8%~10%的白人女孩,20%~30%的黑人女孩,居于其中间比例的西班牙女孩,在8岁时开始性成熟。最低的性成熟限度为,白人女孩7岁、黑人女孩6岁。早期乳房发育的平均年龄:白人女孩9.5~10岁、黑人女孩8.5~9岁(范围8~13岁)。然而,月经初潮的年龄没有急剧下降,在过去30年中平均下降了3个月(黑人女孩的平均年龄为11.5岁,白人女孩的平均年龄为12.5岁)。阴毛生长的平均年龄为9~10.5岁(两组)。这些研究结果意味着,如果儿童健康,并且预计达到完全的成年身高潜力,评估性成熟异常的规则应相对灵活掌握。

分类

性早熟分为两种类型:

  • 促性腺激素释放激素(GnRH)依赖型(中枢型性早熟)

  • 非GnRH依赖型(外周性激素效应)

GnRH依赖性早熟青春期总体上更常见,女孩5至10倍更频繁。GnRH依赖型下丘脑垂体轴激活,引起性腺的长大和成熟、第二性征发育、精子或卵子发生。

非GnRH依赖型性早熟较少见。继发性性特征是由高水平的 雌激素或雄激素引起的,未经下丘脑 - 垂体轴的激活。

性青春期也可以根据是否发生性腺或肾上腺来分类。在女孩中,性腺包括乳房发育,体质变化,子宫生长,以及最终月经初潮。男孩包括:睾丸增大、阴茎增大。肾上腺皮质功能初现包括阴毛、腋毛、体毛出现,成人体味,面部皮肤油脂过多或出现痤疮。

不完全或不稳定的青春期发育是常见的,最常见的是孤立的早产儿或肾上腺。具有早产的女孩通常在生命的前2年显示乳房发育,但这种变化不伴有青春期激素水平,月经初期,x射线的晚期骨龄,雄激素效应或生长加速。孤立的早产儿肾盂也与进行性青春期发育无关。

患有早产儿的儿童可能具有缓慢进展的肾上腺雄激素产生(例如,阴毛,痤疮,身体气味)的迹象,而没有线性生长的加速。过早的肾上腺可能与青春期多囊卵巢综合征的晚期发展相关。

病因

促性腺激素释放激素依赖型性早熟

身体变化通常是那个性别的儿童的正常青春期的变化,除了发病年龄。大多数女孩患儿一般找不到特殊的原因。在没有CNS疾病的特定症状或体征的情况下,颅内异常的可能性取决于青春期开始的年龄(女孩<4岁)和性别(在男孩中更常见)。总体而言,受影响的男孩更有可能(高达60%)具有可识别的潜在病变。这种病变包括颅内肿瘤,尤其是下丘脑或松果体区域,包括错构瘤、神经胶质瘤、生殖细胞瘤和腺瘤。神经纤维瘤和其他一些少见中枢神经系统疾病也可能与性早熟有关。中枢性性早熟也可以源于医源性原因(例如,手术,放射或癌症化疗)。

促性腺激素释放激素不依赖型性早熟

促性腺激素释放激素不依赖型性早熟的病因取决于主要的性激素效应(雌激素或雄激素),并且物理变化通常与正常青春期发育明显不一致。雌激素作用最常见的是卵泡卵巢囊肿;其他原因包括颗粒细胞瘤细胞瘤和McCune-Albright综合征(滤泡性囊肿三分体,多发性纤维性发育不良和咖啡斑点)。肾上腺酶缺陷,特别是先天性肾上腺增生,是任何性别的儿童中最常见的雄激素过量的病理形式。男性促性腺激素释放激素不依赖型性早熟的额外原因包括:家族性非绒毛膜促性腺激素依赖性性早熟(活化的LH受体基因突变)、分泌 睾酮的睾丸肿瘤、有时也为McCune-Albright综合征。

症状和体征

在女孩中,乳房发育,阴毛和腋毛,或同时出现。女孩可能会月经来潮。男孩:出现胡须、腋毛、阴毛、阴茎增大,伴有或不伴有睾丸增大。无论是男性还是女性,都会出现体味、痤疮和行为变化。

在两种性别青春期生长突增(女性中早期青春期,男性中晚期青春期),骨的过早闭合导致短成人身材。性早熟时睾丸或卵巢增大,但在孤立性肾上腺功能初现时睾丸或卵巢不增大。

诊断

  • X射线测量骨龄

  • 血清激素测量

  • 可能性的盆腔超声检查和脑MRI。

性早熟的诊断是基于临床的。行左手及腕的X线摄片,评估骨龄并判断骨骼的加速生长。除非病史和检查显示异常,否则不需要对青春期发育里程碑在人口标准1年内的儿童进行进一步评估。患有孤立性过早肾上腺素沉积症的男孩和女孩以及患有过早肾上腺素沉积症的女孩也不需要进一步的评估,只要x线片证实骨骼发育没有加速。

当需要进一步评估时,应根据现有特征选择血液检查。对于主要具有雄激素作用的患者,最有用的初始测试包括测量总睾酮,硫酸脱氢表雄酮,17-羟孕酮和促黄体激素(LH);所有这些都应该使用为儿科患者设计的高灵敏度测定法进行测量。对于仅具有 雌激素效应的患者,女孩最有用的筛选包括超敏LH和卵泡刺激激素(FSH)和雌二醇,以及对于男孩,LH,FSH,β-人绒毛膜促性腺激素和雌二醇。如果任何类固醇水平升高,骨盆和肾上腺超声可能是有用的,并且可以进行脑的MRI以排除年轻患者或具有中央性早熟的男性的颅内异常。

当初始测试不确定时,可以考虑促性腺激素释放激素刺激试验来确认促性腺激素释放激素依赖性早熟性青春期。以前,使用促性腺激素释放激素激动剂性腺激素的1小时刺激试验,但是因为戈那瑞林不再可用,所以使用其它GnRH激动剂例如亮丙瑞林。给予醋酸亮丙瑞林10至20mcg/kg sc,在0,1和2小时测量LH,FSH, 睾酮(男孩)和雌二醇(在女孩中)。在24小时后亮丙瑞林, 可以测量雌二醇和 睾酮,提高测试的灵敏度。促性腺激素释放激素依赖型性早熟,促性腺激素反应为青春期在促性腺激素释放激素不依赖型早熟青春期,促性腺激素对亮丙瑞林的反应是在青春期前。

治疗

  • 促性腺激素释放激素激动剂治疗(促性腺激素释放激素依赖性性早熟)

  • 雄激素或 雌激素受体拮抗剂治疗(促性腺激素释放激素依赖性性早熟)

  • 根据需要,进行手术切除肿瘤

若青春发育标志较人群标准提前在一年以内,需要反复评估和体检。仅有单纯肾上腺功能初现或乳房发育,不建议用药,但需常规复查以确定性早熟的发展。对于促性腺激素释放激素依赖型性早熟青春期,可以用GnRH激动剂(包括醋酸亮丙瑞林7.5至15mg,肌肉注射,每4周1次,或11.25mg或30mg,肌肉注射,每12周1次,或组织瑞林植入物(每年更换))抑制垂体LH和FSH分泌。同时必须进行治疗监测,根据情况调整药物剂量。治疗可持续到女孩11岁,男孩12岁。

芳香酶抑制剂(包括睾内酯等较老的药物和来曲唑、阿那曲唑等较新的药物)已被用于降低患McCune-Albright综合征女孩的雌二醇水平,并取得了不同程度的疗效;此外,他莫昔芬,一种 雌激素 拮抗剂,也可能是有效的。

促性腺激素释放激素不依赖型性早熟,如男孩家族性非绒毛膜促性腺激素依赖性性早熟或McCune-Albright综合征,可给予雄激素抑制剂安体舒通改善雄激素过剩。抗真菌药酮康唑可以降低男性家族性非绒毛膜促性腺激素依赖型性早熟的 睾酮水平。

如果促性腺激素释放激素非依赖型性早熟是由于激素产生的肿瘤(例如,女孩的粒细胞膜细胞肿瘤,男孩的睾丸肿瘤),则应该切除该肿瘤。然而,女孩需要延长随访时间来确认对侧卵巢有无复发。

关键点

  • 青春期性早熟是女孩8岁以前的性成熟,男孩为9岁; 然而,近年来,青春期早已开始,传统标准正在重新评估。

  • 最常见的是,继发性特征由于下丘脑 - 垂体轴被激活(GnRH依赖性早熟青春期)而过早发展; 经常原因是特发性,但有些儿童有CNS肿瘤。

  • 较不常见的是,原因是由先天性肾上腺增生或各种性腺肿瘤引起的 雌激素或雄激素(促性腺激素释放激素非依赖型性早熟)的高循环水平。

  • 通过骨龄X射线和激素水平的测量进行诊断。

  • 用GnRH激动剂亮丙瑞林或组氨瑞林治疗促性腺激素释放激素依赖性早熟青春期。

  • 根据原因治疗促性腺激素释放激素非依赖性早熟性青春期,包括给予雄激素或 雌激素 拮抗剂和去除肿瘤。

点击此处 进行患者培训
注: 此为专业版。 家庭用户: 点击此处进入家庭版
获得

其他感兴趣资源

视频

查看全部
如何给男婴或小孩导尿
视频
如何给男婴或小孩导尿
产前心脏循环
视频
产前心脏循环
胎儿的心脏和循环系统在受孕后不久就开始形成。到第五周结束时,胎儿的心脏能够将血液泵入全身。但由于肺脏要到胎儿出生后第一次呼吸时才会发挥作用,因此母亲必须为胎儿提供富含氧气的血液。...

最新

顶部

MSD Manual

Please confirm that you are a health care professional

Loading

Precocious Puberty

By

Andrew Calabria

, MD, Perelman School of Medicine at The University of Pennsylvania

Last full review/revision Jul 2020| Content last modified Jul 2020
Click here for Patient Education
NOTE: This is the Professional Version. CONSUMERS: Click here for the Consumer Version
Topic Resources

Precocious puberty is onset of sexual maturation before age 8 in girls or age 9 in boys. Diagnosis is by comparison with population standards, x-rays of the left hand and wrist to assess skeletal maturation and check for accelerated bone growth, and measurement of serum levels of gonadotropins and gonadal and adrenal steroids. Treatment depends on the cause.

In girls, the first pubertal milestone is typically breast development (thelarche), followed soon after by appearance of pubic hair (pubarche) and axillary hair and later by the first menstrual period (menarche), which traditionally occurs 2 to 3 years after thelarche (see Figure: Puberty—when female sexual characteristics develop).

Puberty—when female sexual characteristics develop

Bars indicate normal ranges.

Puberty—when female sexual characteristics develop

In boys, the first pubertal milestone is typically testicular growth, followed by penile growth and appearance of pubic and axillary hair (see Figure: Puberty—when male sexual characteristics develop).

Puberty—when male sexual characteristics develop

Bars indicate normal ranges. No mean is available for change in habitus.

Puberty—when male sexual characteristics develop

In both sexes, appearance of pubic and axillary hair is called adrenarche. Adrenarche may occur before gonadarche in about 10% of children (premature adrenarche). Although gonadarche and adrenarche may have overlapping signs, they are regulated independently.

The definition of precocious puberty depends on reliable population standards for onset of puberty (ie, when pubertal milestones occur); because onset seems to be occurring earlier in the US, especially in females, these traditional standards are being reevaluated. Breast development is increasingly occurring at younger ages and this trend is mirroring the obesity epidemic, with a higher body mass index (> 85th percentile) associated with earlier thelarche.

Almost 8 to 10% of white girls, 20 to 30% of black girls, and an intermediate percentage of Hispanic girls reach early puberty at age 8. The lower limit of normal puberty may be 7 years for white girls and 6 years for black girls. The mean age for early breast development is about 9.5 to 10 years for white girls and 8.5 to 9 years for black girls (range 8 to 13 years). However, the age of menarche has not lowered as drastically, with a mean decrease of only 3 months in the past 30 years (mean age 11.5 years in black girls and 12.5 years in white girls). The mean age for pubic hair growth is 9 to 10.5 years for both groups. These findings imply that guidelines for evaluating disorders that cause precocious puberty can be interpreted more leniently if children are otherwise healthy and are projected to reach their full adult height potential.

Classification

Precocious puberty can be divided into 2 types:

  • Gonadotropin-releasing hormone (GnRH)–dependent (central precocious puberty)

  • GnRH-independent (peripheral sex hormone effects)

GnRH-dependent precocious puberty is more common overall and 5 to 10 times more frequent in girls. In GnRH-dependent precocious puberty, the hypothalamic-pituitary axis is activated, resulting in enlargement and maturation of the gonads, development of secondary sexual characteristics, and oogenesis or spermatogenesis.

GnRH-independent precocious puberty is much less common. Secondary sexual characteristics result from high circulating levels of estrogens or androgens, without activation of the hypothalamic-pituitary axis.

Precocious puberty may also be classified by whether gonadarche or adrenarche occurs. In girls, gonadarche includes breast development, change in body habitus, growth of the uterus, and eventually menarche. In boys, gonadarche includes testicular enlargement; phallic growth; the initial appearance of pubic, facial, and axillary hair; adult body odor; and facial skin oiliness or acne. Adrenarche for both girls and boys involves the development of body hair, body odor, and acne.

Incomplete or unsustained pubertal development is common, most often as isolated premature thelarche or adrenarche. Girls with premature thelarche typically display breast development during the first 2 years of life, but this change is not accompanied by pubertal hormone levels, menarche, advanced bone age on x-ray, androgen effects, or growth acceleration. Isolated premature adrenarche is likewise not associated with progressive pubertal development.

Children with premature adrenarche may have signs of adrenal androgen production (eg, pubic hair, acne, body odor) that progress slowly without acceleration of linear growth. Premature adrenarche may be associated with later development of polycystic ovary syndrome in adolescence.

Etiology

GnRH-dependent precocious puberty

Physical changes are typically those of normal puberty for a child of that sex, with the exception of age of onset. In most affected girls, a specific cause cannot be identified. In the absence of specific symptoms or signs of central nervous system disease, the probability of an intracranial abnormality depends on younger age of onset of puberty (< 4 years in girls) and sex of the child (more common among boys). Overall, affected boys are more likely (up to 60%) to have an identifiable underlying lesion. Such lesions include intracranial tumors, especially of the hypothalamus or pineal gland region, including hamartomas, gliomas, germinomas, and adenomas. Neurofibromatosis and a few other rare disorders have also been linked to precocious puberty. Central precocious puberty can also arise from iatrogenic causes (eg, surgery, radiation, or chemotherapy for cancer). A family history of GnRH-dependent precocious puberty is another risk factor. Mutations have been identified in several genes to date, but testing remains in its infancy.

GnRH-independent precocious puberty

The etiology of GnRH-independent precocious puberty depends on the predominant sex hormone effect (estrogenic or androgenic), and physical changes are often markedly discordant from normal pubertal development. Estrogenic effects are most commonly caused by follicular ovarian cysts; other causes include granulosa-theca cell tumors and McCune-Albright syndrome (a triad of follicular cysts, polyostotic fibrous dysplasia, and café-au-lait spots). Adrenal enzyme defects, specifically congenital adrenal hyperplasia, are the most common pathologic form of androgen excess in children of either sex. Additional causes of GnRH-independent precocious puberty in boys include familial male gonadotropin-independent precocity (due to an activating mutation of the gene for luteinizing hormone [LH] receptors), testosterone-producing testicular tumors, rarely ectopic beta-human chorionic gonadotropin (beta-hCG) production resulting from certain tumors (due to activation of LH receptors in testes), and occasionally McCune-Albright syndrome.

Symptoms and Signs

In girls, breasts develop, and pubic hair, axillary hair, or both appear. Girls may begin to menstruate. In boys, facial, axillary, and pubic hair appears and the penis grows, with or without enlargement of testes, depending on the etiology. Body odor, acne, and behavior changes may develop in either sex.

Pubertal growth spurt is seen in both sexes (with early-mid puberty in females, mid-late puberty in males), but premature closure of the epiphyses results in short adult stature. Ovarian or testicular enlargement occurs in precocious puberty but is absent in isolated precocious adrenarche.

Diagnosis

  • Bone age x-rays

  • Serum hormone measurement

  • Possibly pelvic ultrasonography and brain MRI

Diagnosis of precocious puberty is clinical. X-rays of the left hand and wrist are done to check for accelerated skeletal maturation as a result of sex hormone effect. Unless history and examination suggest an abnormality, no further evaluation is required for children with pubertal milestones that are within 1 year of population standards. Girls and boys with isolated premature adrenarche and girls with premature thelarche also do not require further evaluation as long as x-rays confirm that skeletal maturation is not accelerated.

When further evaluation is necessary, blood tests should be chosen according to the features present. For patients who have mainly androgen effects, the most useful initial tests include measurements of total testosterone, dehydroepiandrosterone sulfate, 17-hydroxyprogesterone, and luteinizing hormone (LH); all should be measured using high-sensitivity assays designed for pediatric patients. For patients who have only estrogen effects, the most useful screens for girls include ultrasensitive LH and follicle-stimulating hormone (FSH), and estradiol, and, for boys, LH, FSH, beta-human chorionic gonadotropin, and estradiol. Pelvic and adrenal ultrasonography may be useful if any of the steroid levels are elevated, and MRI of the brain may be done to rule out intracranial anomalies in younger patients or in males with central precocious puberty.

A GnRH stimulation test may be considered to confirm GnRH-dependent precocious puberty when initial tests are inconclusive. Previously, a 1-hour stimulation test with the GnRH agonist gonadorelin was used, but because gonadorelin is no longer available, other GnRH agonists such as leuprolide are used. Leuprolide acetate 10 to 20 mcg/kg subcutaneously is given and LH, FSH, testosterone (in boys), and estradiol (in girls) are measured at 0, 1, and 2 hours. At 24 hours post-leuprolide, estradiol and testosterone may be measured to improve sensitivity of the test. In GnRH-dependent precocious puberty, gonadotropin responses are pubertal. In GnRH-independent precocious puberty, gonadotropin responses to leuprolide are prepubertal.

Genetic testing may be considered in familial cases of GnRH-dependent precocious puberty, but this remains controversial.

Treatment

  • GnRH agonist therapy (GnRH-dependent precocious puberty)

  • Androgen or estrogen antagonist therapy (GnRH-independent precocious puberty)

  • Tumor excision as needed

If pubertal milestones are within 1 year of population standards, reassurance and regular reexamination are sufficient. Treatment is not needed for premature adrenarche or thelarche, but regular reexamination is warranted to check for later development of precocious puberty. For GnRH-dependent precocious puberty, pituitary LH and FSH secretion can be suppressed with GnRH agonists, including leuprolide acetate 7.5 to 15 mg IM every 4 weeks, 11.25 mg or 30 mg IM every 12 weeks, or 45 mg every 24 weeks, triptorelin 22.5 mg every 6 months, or histrelin implants (changed annually). Responses to treatment must be monitored, and drug dosages modified accordingly. Treatment may be continued until age 11 years in girls and age 12 years in boys.

In girls with McCune-Albright syndrome, aromatase inhibitors, such as letrozole and anastrozole, have been used with varying success to reduce estradiol.

If GnRH-independent precocious puberty in boys is due to familial male gonadotropin-independent precocity or McCune-Albright syndrome, androgen antagonists (eg, spironolactone) ameliorate the effects of excess androgen. The antifungal drug ketoconazole reduces testosterone in boys with familial male gonadotropin-independent precocity.

If GnRH-independent precocious puberty is due to a hormone-producing tumor (eg, granulosa-theca cell tumors in girls, testicular tumors in boys), the tumor should be excised. However, girls require extended follow-up to check for recurrence in the contralateral ovary (1, 2).

Treatment references

  • 1. Aguirre RS, Eugster EA: Central precocious puberty: From genetics to treatment. Best Pract Res Clin Endocrinol Metab 32(4):343–354, 2018. doi: 10.1016/j.beem.2018.05.008

  • 2. Latronico AC, Brito VN, Carel J-C: Causes, diagnosis, and treatment of central precocious puberty. Lancet Diabetes Endocrinol 4(3):265–274, 2016. doi: 10.1016/S2213-8587(15)00380-0

Key Points

  • Precocious puberty is the onset of sexual maturation before age 8 in girls or age 9 in boys; however, in recent years, puberty has been starting earlier, and traditional standards are being reevaluated.

  • Most commonly, secondary sexual characteristics develop prematurely because the hypothalamic-pituitary axis is activated (GnRH-dependent precocious puberty); often the cause is idiopathic, but some children have a central nervous system tumor.

  • Less commonly, the cause is high circulating levels of estrogens or androgens (GnRH-independent precocious puberty) caused by congenital adrenal hyperplasia or various gonadal tumors.

  • Diagnosis is made by bone age x-rays and measurement of hormone levels.

  • Treat GnRH-dependent precocious puberty with the GnRH agonists leuprolide or histrelin.

  • Treat GnRH-independent precocious puberty based on the cause, including giving androgen or estrogen antagonists and removing tumors.

Click here for Patient Education
NOTE: This is the Professional Version. CONSUMERS: Click here for the Consumer Version
Professionals also read

Also of Interest

Videos

View All
Overview of Ventricular Septal Defect
Video
Overview of Ventricular Septal Defect
3D Models
View All
Cystic Fibrosis: Defective Chloride Transport
3D Model
Cystic Fibrosis: Defective Chloride Transport

SOCIAL MEDIA

TOP