默沙东 诊疗手册

欢迎来到默沙东诊疗手册专业版医讯网站 本网站旨在为医药专业人员提供在线服务,如果您不是医药专业人员,建议您退出网站,登录默沙东中国官方网站了解相关信息。默沙东诊疗手册网站将对所有注册用户信息进行验证,医药专业人员必须接受并遵守用户协议条款才能使用本网站。如注册人员信息没能通过验证,默沙东诊疗手册网站有权终止该用户使用本网站的权利,在本网站每一网页下方均有链接功能,您可随时通过链接浏览用户使用协议条款与网站保护政策。

加载中

软组织梭菌感染

(气性坏疽;梭菌性肌坏死)

作者:

Larry M. Bush

, MD, FACP,

  • Affiliate Professor of Clinical Biomedical Sciences
  • Charles E. Schmidt College of Medicine, Florida Atlantic University
  • Affiliate Associate Professor of Medicine
  • University of Miami-Miller School of Medicine
;


Maria T. Vazquez-Pertejo

, MD, FACP,

  • Director of Pathology and Laboratory Services
  • Wellington Regional Medical Center

最后一次全面审校/修订者 1月 2018| 内容末次修改日期 2月 2018
点击此处 进行患者培训
主题资源

梭菌性软组织感染主要包括蜂窝组织炎、肌炎和气性坏疽。常发生在创伤之后。症状主要包括水肿、疼痛、气体捻发音、恶臭的分泌物味、广泛色素沉着以及休克、肾衰竭,部分情况下可导致死亡。诊断主要靠视诊、气味和革兰染色,确诊需培养。治疗主要是青霉素加手术清创,高压氧有一定的治疗效果。

软组织梭菌感染可由外伤或自发引起。典型感染可导致软组织气肿。

Clostridium perfringens产气荚膜梭菌是最常见的致病原。

累及组织且造成厌氧环境的严重粉碎伤或穿透伤后数小时至数天出现软组织梭菌感染。另外,异物的滞留也是导致感染的高危因子。感染也可出现在手术创面,特别是患者本身存在血管阻塞性疾病时。

自发性感染很少见,多是由C. septicum 血症引起,来自结肠癌肠穿孔、憩室炎或肠道局部出血等病变。因为 C. septicum败血梭状芽胞杆菌耐氧,感染可播散至正常皮肤和软组织。无论何种原因所引起的中性粒细胞减少,均易发生败血梭状芽胞杆菌C. septicum 菌血症,导致预后不良;若发生血管内溶血,预后更差。

感染在适宜的条件下(低氧、低电势或低酸碱度),如失活组织中发展非常迅速,可在1天内蔓延至全身,引起休克、中毒性精神错乱甚至死亡。

症状和体征

梭菌性蜂窝组织炎是由表浅伤引起的局部感染,多发生在伤后3天。可以沿筋膜框架广泛扩散,并且通常有气体捻发音或水泡音形成,但中毒症状比气性坏疽要轻很多,而且疼痛也不严重。皮肤水疱比较明显,并有棕色浆液渗出,伴发恶臭味。色素减退和明显水肿罕见。梭状菌皮肤感染导致的原发性血管阻塞很少会发展为严重的中毒性气性坏疽,也很少会广泛蔓延。

梭状菌性肌炎是肌肉的非坏死性化脓感染,在静脉药瘾者中最多见,与葡萄球菌性化脓性肌炎类似,而缺少气性坏疽的全身症状。感染部位可出现水肿、疼痛和气体生成。可快速蔓延,也可发展为肌坏死。

梭菌性肌坏死(气性坏疽)可在其他症状前出现有剧烈的疼痛。伤口起始为苍白色,逐渐变成红色或青铜色,有时可呈水泡或大疱,最后变成黑绿色,周围有明显肿胀,伴有触痛。捻发音在梭菌性蜂窝织炎早期不甚明显,但全程中有近80%的患者会出现捻发音。伤口或引流处会有恶臭的气体溢出。

随着病情的进展,患者会逐渐出现明显的中毒症状,表现为心动过速、皮肤苍白、低血压。甚至出现休克和肾衰竭,尽管患者直至疾病终末阶段仍意识清醒。菌血症,有时有明显的溶血,发生在15%的创伤性气性坏疽患者中。

无论何时发生大量溶血,预计由于急性肾功能衰竭和败血症导致的病死率在70%--100%。

诊断

  • 临床评估

  • 革兰染色和培养

早期诊断、早期干预。蜂窝织炎治疗效果较好,极少引起死亡;但气性坏疽若不治疗,病死率可达100%,治疗后可减少至40%。

根据临床评估,特别是检查伤口和周围区域(包括气味),可疑诊梭菌性软组织感染。

局部蜂窝织炎、肌炎及播散性气性坏疽,临床表现比较明显,但进一步鉴别需手术介入。气性坏疽的肌肉组织往往有明显坏死,呈暗粉红色,逐渐变深红,最后成灰绿色或紫色斑状,并且刺激后无收缩。X线片可显示产生的气体,CT和MRI可对气体和坏死进行定位。

伤口渗出物需同时进行厌氧和需氧菌培养。由于Clostridia 每七分钟增殖一倍,最短进行无氧培养的6小时内显示阳性。其他的厌氧菌和需氧菌,例如肠杆菌、拟杆菌、链球菌以及葡萄球菌,Bacteroides, Streptococcus,Staphylococcus 属,无论是单独感染还是混合感染,都可引起与梭菌感染类似的严重蜂窝织炎、筋膜炎或肌坏死( 坏死性软组织感染)。大多数伤口尤其是开放性伤口,多是致病性和非致病性梭菌同时存在,这些细菌并非是感染的病原。

当出现下列情况时,有大量梭状芽胞杆菌

  • 革兰染色显示有大量细菌存在

  • 渗出液中几乎看不到PMN

  • 苏丹染色几乎没有脂肪细胞

但是,假如PMN量很多,而且涂片显示大量球菌,这时应怀疑可能是厌氧链球菌或葡萄球菌感染大量的革兰氏阴性菌显示存在大肠杆菌或者Bacteroides 属 ( 混合厌氧菌感染)。

检测伤口或血液中的梭菌毒素仅在极少数 伤口肉毒中毒病例有用。

治疗

  • 引流和清创

  • 青霉素加克林霉素

当发现有梭菌感染的可疑症状时,如气体产生或气性坏疽,需立即进行快速有力的干预。除了抗生素治疗外,还需快速引流和清创。

在严重蜂窝织炎和肌肉坏死时,应立即给予青霉素G 3百万〜4百万单位静脉注射,每 4〜6小时一次;外加:克林霉素600〜900毫克静脉注射,每 6至8小时一次(抑制毒素生成)。若怀疑是革兰阴性菌,可选用广谱抗生素,如替卡西林-克拉维酸钾、氨苄西林-舒巴坦或哌拉西林-三唑巴坦或碳青霉烯类;外加克林霉素。如果青霉素过敏患者,在感染威胁生命时,也可使用克林霉素单药或合并甲硝唑500毫克每6小时口服一次。

高压氧对广泛气性坏疽治疗有效,尤其是四肢感染,可以作为抗生素和手术干预的辅助治疗。而且高压氧对已坏死组织也有效,并可以降低发病率和病死率,但决不能因此而推迟手术清创术

关键点

  • 外伤后数小时至数日内感染快速进展,特别是粉碎或穿透性创伤累及组织时营造厌氧环境。

  • 梭菌蜂窝织炎常引起轻微疼痛,但通常肌炎和肌坏死疼痛剧烈;皮下气肿可表现为捻发音。

  • 快速彻底清创引流。

  • 给予青霉素加克林霉素治疗。

  • 对于广泛肌坏死,可考虑高压氧治疗,但不能因其耽误手术治疗。

点击此处 进行患者培训
注: 此为专业版。 家庭用户: 点击此处进入家庭版
获得

其他感兴趣资源

最新

顶部

MSD Manual

Please confirm that you are a health care professional

Loading

Clostridial Soft-Tissue Infections

(Gas Gangrene; Clostridial Myonecrosis)

By

Larry M. Bush

, MD, FACP, Charles E. Schmidt College of Medicine, Florida Atlantic University;


Maria T. Vazquez-Pertejo

, MD, FCAP, Wellington Regional Medical Center

Last full review/revision Sep 2019| Content last modified Sep 2019
Click here for Patient Education
NOTE: This is the Professional Version. CONSUMERS: Click here for the Consumer Version
Topic Resources

Clostridial soft-tissue infections include cellulitis, myositis, and clostridial myonecrosis. They usually occur after trauma. Symptoms may include edema, pain, gas with crepitation, foul-smelling exudates, intense coloration of the site, and progression to shock, renal failure, and sometimes death. Diagnosis is by inspection, smell, and Gram stain and is confirmed by culture. Treatment is with penicillin and surgical debridement. Hyperbaric oxygen is sometimes beneficial.

Clostridial infections of soft tissues may occur after an injury or spontaneously. Infection typically results in gas in soft tissues.

Clostridium perfringens is the most common species involved.

Clostridial soft-tissue infections usually develop hours or days after an extremity is injured by severe crushing or penetrating trauma that devitalizes tissue, creating anaerobic conditions. The presence of foreign material (even if sterile) markedly increases risk of clostridial infection. Infection may also occur in operative wounds, particularly in patients with underlying occlusive vascular disease.

Rarely, spontaneous cases occur, usually caused by C. septicum bacteremia originating from occult colon perforation in patients with colon cancer, diverticulitis, or bowel ischemia. Because C. septicum is aerotolerant, infection can spread widely to normal skin and soft tissues. Concurrent neutropenia, regardless of cause, predisposes to C. septicum bacteremia, which results in a poor prognosis; the prognosis is worse if intravascular hemolysis occurs.

In suitable conditions (low oxidation-reduction potential, low pH), as occur in devitalized tissue, infection progresses rapidly, from initial injury through shock, toxic delirium, and death within as little as 1 day.

Symptoms and Signs

Clostridial cellulitis occurs as a localized infection in a superficial wound, usually 3 days after injury. Infection may spread extensively along fascial planes, often with evident crepitation and abundant gas bubbling, but toxicity is much less severe than with extensive myonecrosis, and pain is minimal. Bullae are frequently evident, with foul-smelling, serous, brown exudate. Discoloration and gross edema of the extremity are rare. Clostridial skin infections associated with primary vascular occlusion of an extremity rarely progress to severe toxic myonecrosis or extend beyond the line of demarcation.

Clostridial myositis (suppurative infection of muscle without necrosis) is most common among parenteral drug users. It resembles staphylococcal pyomyositis and lacks the systemic symptoms of clostridial myonecrosis. Edema, pain, and frequently gas in the tissues occur. The infection spreads rapidly and may progress to myonecrosis.

In clostridial myonecrosis (gas gangrene), initial severe pain is common, sometimes even before other findings. The wound site may be pale initially, but it becomes red or bronze, often with blebs or bullae, and finally turns blackish green. The area is tensely edematous and tender to palpation. Crepitation is less obvious early than it is in clostridial cellulitis but is ultimately palpable in about 80%. Wounds and drainage have a particularly foul odor.

With progression, patients appear toxic, with tachycardia, pallor, and hypotension. Shock and renal failure occur, although patients often remain alert until the terminal stage. Bacteremia, sometimes with overt hemolysis, occurs in about 15% of patients with traumatic gas gangrene.

Whenever massive hemolysis occurs, mortality of 70 to 100%, due to acute renal failure and septicemia, can be expected.

Diagnosis

  • Clinical evaluation

  • Gram stain and culture

Early suspicion and intervention are essential; clostridial cellulitis responds well to treatment, but myonecrosis has a mortality rate of 40% with treatment and 100% without treatment.

Clostridial soft-tissue infections are suspected based on clinical evaluation, particularly inspection of the wound and surrounding area (including the smell).

Although localized cellulitis, myositis, and spreading myonecrosis may be clinically distinct, differentiation often requires surgical exploration. In myonecrosis, muscle tissue is visibly necrotic; the affected muscle is a lusterless pink, then deep red, and finally gray-green or mottled purple and does not contract with stimulation. X-rays may show local gas production, and CT and MRI delineate the extent of gas and necrosis.

Wound exudate should be cultured for anaerobic and aerobic organisms. Because clostridia double in number every 7 minutes, anaerobic cultures of Clostridia may be positive in as little as 6 hours. However, other anaerobic and aerobic bacteria, including members of the Enterobacteriaceae family and Bacteroides, Streptococcus, and Staphylococcus species, alone or mixed, can cause severe clostridia-like cellulitis, extensive fasciitis, or myonecrosis (see Necrotizing Soft Tissue Infection). Also, many wounds, particularly if open, are contaminated with both pathogenic and nonpathogenic clostridia that are not responsible for the infection.

The presence of clostridia is significant when

  • Gram stain shows them in large numbers.

  • Few polymorphonuclear neutrophils (PMNs) are found in the exudates.

  • Free fat globules are seen with Sudan stain.

However, if PMNs are abundant and the smear shows many chains of cocci, an anaerobic streptococcal or staphylococcal infection should be suspected. Abundant gram-negative bacilli may indicate infection with one of the Enterobacteriaceae or a Bacteroides species (see Mixed Anaerobic Infections).

Detection of clostridial toxins in the wound or blood is useful only in the rare case of wound botulism.

Treatment

  • Drainage and debridement

  • Penicillin plus clindamycin

When clinical signs of clostridial infection (eg, gas, myonecrosis) are present, rapid, aggressive intervention is mandatory. Thorough drainage and debridement are as important as antibiotics; both should be instituted rapidly.

Penicillin G 3 to 4 million units IV every 4 to 6 hours and clindamycin 600 to 900 mg IV every 6 to 8 hours (which inhibits toxin production) should be given immediately for severe cellulitis and myonecrosis. Clindamycin alone is inadequate. If gram-negative organisms are seen or suspected, a broad-spectrum antibiotic (eg, ticarcillin plus clavulanate, ampicillin plus sulbactam, piperacillin plus tazobactam, a carbapenem) should be used with clindamycin. If penicillin-allergic patients have a life-threatening clostridial infection, clindamycin, with metronidazole 500 mg IV every 6 hours, may be used; if other organisms are present, a non–beta-lactam broad-spectrum antibiotic such as a fluoroquinolone should be added, along with vancomycin for Staphylococcus aureus.

Hyperbaric oxygen therapy may be helpful in extensive myonecrosis, particularly in the extremities, as a supplement to antibiotics and surgery. Hyperbaric oxygen therapy may salvage tissue and lessen mortality and morbidity if it is started early, but it should not delay surgical debridement.

Key Points

  • Rapidly progressing infection develops hours or days after an injury, particularly when crushing or penetrating trauma devitalizes tissue, creating an anaerobic environment.

  • Clostridial cellulitis often causes minimal pain, but typically, myositis and myonecrosis are painful; crepitance due to gas in tissues is common in all forms.

  • Drain and debride wounds quickly and thoroughly.

  • Give penicillin plus clindamycin.

  • For extensive myonecrosis, consider hyperbaric oxygen therapy, but do not let it delay surgical treatment.

Click here for Patient Education
NOTE: This is the Professional Version. CONSUMERS: Click here for the Consumer Version
Professionals also read

Also of Interest

Videos

View All
Overview of Zika Virus Infection
Video
Overview of Zika Virus Infection
3D Models
View All
SARS-CoV-2
3D Model
SARS-CoV-2

SOCIAL MEDIA

TOP