默沙东 诊疗手册

欢迎来到默沙东诊疗手册专业版医讯网站 本网站旨在为医药专业人员提供在线服务,如果您不是医药专业人员,建议您退出网站,登录默沙东中国官方网站了解相关信息。默沙东诊疗手册网站将对所有注册用户信息进行验证,医药专业人员必须接受并遵守用户协议条款才能使用本网站。如注册人员信息没能通过验证,默沙东诊疗手册网站有权终止该用户使用本网站的权利,在本网站每一网页下方均有链接功能,您可随时通过链接浏览用户使用协议条款与网站保护政策。

加载中

造血干细胞移植

作者:

Martin Hertl

, MD, PhD,

  • Jack Fraser Smith Professor of Surgery, Director of Solid Organ Transplantation, and Chief Surgical Officer
  • Rush University Medical Center

最后一次全面审校/修订者 9月 2016| 内容末次修改日期 10月 2016
点击此处 进行患者培训

(也见 移植概述

造血干细胞移植(HSCT)的技术发展非常迅速,为治愈血液系统肿瘤(如白血病、淋巴瘤、骨髓瘤)以及血液系统其他疾病(如原发性免疫缺陷、再生障碍性贫血、脊髓发育不良)提供了希望。HSC移植有时也被用于对化疗敏感的实体瘤(例如,一些生殖细胞肿瘤)。

造血干细胞移植通过以下方式治愈疾病:

  • 清髓性癌症根除治疗后使骨髓恢复

  • 在非恶性血液病中,用正常骨髓替代异常骨髓

HSCT可以是自体移植,也可以是同种异体移植干细胞可通过以下方式获得

  • 骨髓

  • 外周血

  • 脐带血

外周血现在已经很大程度上替代了骨髓作为干细胞的来源,特别是在同种异体HSCT移植中,因为这种方法更加简便,且中性粒细胞和血小板数量的恢复更快。脐带血HSCT一般限制给儿童使用,因为对成人来讲,脐带血内干细胞的数量太少。在未来,潜在的干细胞来源是诱导多能干细胞(某些细胞来自成人,重新编程为干细胞)。

自体HSCT没有禁忌证。

同种异体HSCT仅有以下相对禁忌证:年龄大于50岁,已接受过HSCT和有并发症患者。

同种异体HSCT的应用主要受到组织相容性供体缺乏的限制。同型HLA的同胞是理想的供者,其次是HLA匹配的同胞供者。因为只有四分之一的患者有这样的同胞,因而不匹配的血缘移植和匹配的非血缘移植也经常被采用(通过国际登记机构确定的情况下)。然而,从长期无病生存率来看,效果可能会低于同型HLA的同胞供者。

脐带血HSCT的技术现在仍在研究中,但是可能HLA配型的重要性会相对较小。

移植步骤

骨髓干细胞的采集 ,常用的方法为在局部麻醉或全身麻醉下,从供者的髂前上棘抽取700ml到1500ml(最多15ml/kg)骨髓。

采集外周血造血干细胞时,先要给予供者重组的生长因子(粒细胞集落刺激因子或粒细胞-巨噬细胞集落刺激因子)来刺激干细胞的增殖和活化,在4~6天后获得标准单采干细胞。使用荧光标记技术从其他细胞中识别和分选干细胞。

收集到的干细胞通过中央静脉导管,至少1~2个小时输入受者体内。

预处理方案

在异基因HSC移植治疗肿瘤前,受者通常要先经过预处理(如清髓性方案,环磷酰氨60mg/(kg•d))静脉注射2天,同时进行全身照射或马利兰1mg/kg,4次/日,口服4天,加环磷酰氨,不进行全身照射)以诱导免疫豁免和免疫抑制,使受者能接受移植的细胞。

在同种异体HSCT中,即使没有肿瘤的情况下,也要采用类似的预处理来降低排斥反应和肿瘤复发。

这样的预处理方案在针对癌症的自体造血干细胞移植前是不用的;代之为癌症特异性药物。

非清髓移植可能可以降低死亡率(如环磷酰胺,胸腺照射,抗胸腺细胞球蛋白[ATG],和/或环孢素),并可能对年长的患者、有合并症患者以及可能发生移植物抗肿瘤的患者(如多发性骨髓瘤)有益。

移植术后

移植后,注射集落刺激因子,以减少移植后白细胞减少的时间,同时预防性使用抗生素,而且在同种异体HSCT中,还要接受最多6个月的预防性免疫抑制剂治疗(最常用的为甲氨蝶呤和环磷酰胺),以预防供体T细胞对受者HLA分子进行攻击(移植物抗宿主病)。除非患者有发热,通常不使用广谱抗生素。

移植存活通常发生于HSC移植后的10~20天(外周血干细胞移植发生得更早些),可通过中性粒细胞绝对计数>500×106/L确定。

并发症

造血干细胞移植的并发症早期即可出现(<移植后100天)或稍晚。同种异体造血干细胞移植后,感染的风险增加。

早期并发症

主要的早期并发症包括

  • 植入失败

  • 急性移植物抗宿主病(GVHD)

移植失败排斥约有<5%的患者发生移入失败和排斥,表现为持续的全血细胞减少或难以逆转的红细胞计数下降。应使用数周的激素治疗。

急性GVHD发生在同种异体HSC移植的受者(40%HLA匹配同胞移植和80%非血缘移植的患者发生)。表现为发热、皮疹、高胆红素肝炎、呕吐、腹泻、腹痛(可能发展为肠梗阻)和体重下降。

急性GVHD的危险因素包括

  • HLA及性别不匹配

  • 非血缘移植

  • 年长受者和(或)供者

  • 供者已致敏

  • 对GVHD的预防不充分

急性GVHD的诊断主要基于病史、体检和肝功能检查。治疗包括甲泼尼龙2mg/kg,静注,1次/日,如果在5天内没有显著效果,增加到10mg/kg。

晚期并发症

主要的晚期并发症包括

  • 慢性GVHD

  • 疾病复发

慢性GVHD可以单独发生,也可以由急性GVHD发展而来。典型的慢性GVHD在移植后的4~7个月出现(范围为2个月到2年)。慢性GVHD发生在同种异体HSC移植的受者(35%~50%的HLA匹配同胞移植和60%~70%非血缘移植患者发生慢性GVHD)。

慢性GVHD最主要的表现在皮肤(如苔藓样皮疹、硬皮病)、黏膜(角膜结膜炎、牙周炎、口腔苔藓样反应),同时也影响到消化道和肝脏。免疫功能低下是最主要的特征表现,也可有类似于肺移植后的隐匿性细支气管炎。最终,20〜40%的GVHD患者死亡。

对于影响皮肤和黏膜的GVHD可能不需要特殊处理,对于其他严重并发症的处理与急性GVHD类似。利用单克隆抗体或机械分离的同种异体移植物中的T细胞耗竭,可降低GVHD的发生率和严重程度,但同时也削弱了移植物抗肿瘤的作用,这种作用有助于移植干细胞的增殖和移入,还能降低疾病的复发率。同种异体移植的复发率较高,因为没有移植物抗肿瘤效应和外周循环中的肿瘤细胞也可能同时被移植给受者。在体外对肿瘤细胞进行清除的方法正在研究中。

无慢性GVHD的患者,所有的免疫抑制剂可以在HSCT后6个月停药,因此,再晚期的并发症非常少见。

预后

HSCT的预后因移植指征和方法各不相同。

总体而言,疾病复发

  • 40〜75%的受者接受自体造血干细胞移植

  • 10〜40%的受者受者异体造血干细胞移植

成功(无癌症的骨髓)率为

  • 在复发的、化疗敏感淋巴瘤患者中为30至40%

  • 在缓解期急性白血病患者中为20至50%

与单独化疗相比,HSC移植改善多发性骨髓瘤患者的生存率。病情更加严重的患者以及实体瘤(如精原细胞瘤)患者的成功率较低。发生移植物抗宿主病(GVHD)的患者复发率降低,但是如果GVHD严重,那么总的死亡率增加。

加强预处理、有效预防GVHD、采用以环孢素为基础的治疗以及加强支持治疗(如需要时抗生素、预防肝炎和巨细胞病毒感染)能增加HSCT后的长期无病生存。

点击此处 进行患者培训
注: 此为专业版。 家庭用户: 点击此处进入家庭版
获得

其他感兴趣资源

最新

顶部

MSD Manual

Please confirm that you are a health care professional

Loading

Hematopoietic Stem Cell Transplantation

By

Martin Hertl

, MD, PhD, Rush University Medical Center

Last full review/revision Jun 2020| Content last modified Jun 2020
Click here for Patient Education
NOTE: This is the Professional Version. CONSUMERS: Click here for the Consumer Version

Hematopoietic stem cell (HSC) transplantation is a rapidly evolving technique that offers a potential cure for hematologic cancers (leukemias, lymphomas, myeloma) and other hematologic disorders (eg, primary immunodeficiency, aplastic anemia, myelodysplasia). HSC transplantation is also sometimes used for solid tumors (eg, some germ cell tumors) that respond to chemotherapy. (See also Overview of Transplantation.)

HSC transplantation contributes to a cure by

  • Restoring bone marrow after myeloablative cancer-eradicating treatments

  • Replacing abnormal bone marrow with normal bone marrow in nonmalignant hematologic disorders

HSC transplantation may be autologous (using the patient's own cells) or allogeneic (using cells from a donor). Stem cells may be harvested from

  • Bone marrow

  • Peripheral blood

  • Umbilical cord blood

Peripheral blood has largely replaced bone marrow as a source of stem cells, especially in autologous HSC transplantation, because stem cell harvest is easier and neutrophil and platelet counts recover faster. Umbilical cord HSC transplantation has been restricted mainly to children because there are too few stem cells in umbilical cord blood for an adult. A potential future source of stem cells is induced pluripotent stem cells (certain cells taken from adults and reprogrammed to act like stem cells).

There are no contraindications to autologous HSC transplantation.

Contraindications to allogeneic HSC transplantation are relative and include age > 50, previous HSC transplantation, and significant comorbidities.

Allogeneic HSC transplantation is limited mainly by lack of histocompatible donors. A human leukocyte antigen (HLA)-identical sibling donor is ideal, followed by an HLA-matched sibling donor. Because only one fourth of patients have such a sibling donor, mismatched related or matched unrelated donors (identified through international registries) are often used. However, long-term disease-free survival rates may be lower than those with HLA-identical sibling donors.

The technique for umbilical cord HSC transplantation is still in its infancy, but it is gaining interest. About 20,000 cord blood transplantations have been done since the procedure was introduced in 1989. Because cord blood contains immature stem cells, HLA matching appears less crucial than for the other types of hematopoietic stem cell transplantation. One concern about the procedure is the antigen-inexperienced nature of immune cells in cord blood, leading to a higher percentage of naive T cells, which increases risk of reactivating infections with cytomegalovirus or Ebstein-Barr virus.

Procedure

For bone marrow stem cell harvest, 700 to 1500 mL (maximum 15 mL/kg) of marrow is aspirated from the donor’s posterior iliac crests; a local or general anesthetic is used.

For peripheral blood harvest, the donor is treated with recombinant growth factors (granulocyte colony-stimulating factor or granulocyte-macrophage colony-stimulating factor) to stimulate proliferation and mobilization of stem cells; standard apheresis is done 4 to 6 days afterward. Fluorescence-activated cell sorting is used to identify and separate stem cells from other cells.

Stem cells are then infused over 1 to 2 hours through a large-bore central venous catheter.

Conditioning regimens

Before allogeneic hematopoietic stem cell transplantation for cancer, the recipient first is given a conditioning regimen (eg, a myeloablative regimen such as cyclophosphamide 60 mg/kg IV once a day for 2 days with full-dose total body irradiation or busulfan 1 mg/kg orally 4 times a day for 4 days plus cyclophosphamide without total body irradiation) to induce remission and suppress the immune system so that the graft can be accepted.

Similar conditioning regimens are used before allogeneic HSC transplantation, even when cancer is not the indication, to reduce incidence of rejection and relapse.

Such conditioning regimens are not used before autologous HSC transplantation for cancer; cancer-specific drugs are used instead.

Nonmyeloablative conditioning regimens (eg, with cyclophosphamide, thymic irradiation, antithymocyte globulin [ATG], and/or cyclosporine) may reduce morbidity and mortality risks and may be useful for older patients, patients with comorbidities, and patients susceptible to a graft-vs-tumor effect (eg, those with multiple myeloma).

Reduced intensity regimens (eg, fludarabine with melphalan, oral busulfan, or cyclophosphamide) have intensity and toxicity between myeloablative and nonmyeloablative regimens. Resulting cytopenias may be prolonged and result in significant morbidity and mortality, and require stem cell support.

Posttransplantation

After hematopoietic stem cell transplantation, recipients are given colony-stimulating factors to shorten duration of posttransplantation leukopenia, prophylactic anti-infective drugs, and, after allogeneic HSC transplantation, up to 6 months of prophylactic immunosuppressants (typically methotrexate and cyclosporine) to prevent donor T cells from reacting against recipient HLA molecules (graft-vs-host disease). Broad-spectrum antibiotics are usually withheld unless fever develops.

Engraftment typically occurs 10 to 20 days after HSC transplantation (earlier with peripheral blood stem cells) and is defined by an absolute neutrophil count > 500/mcL (> 0.5 × 109/L).

Complications

Complications of stem cell transplantation can occur early (< 100 days after transplantation) or later. After allogeneic HSC transplantation, risk of infections is increased.

Early complications

Major early complications include

  • Failure to engraft

  • Acute graft-vs-host disease (GVHD)

Failure to engraft and rejection affect < 5% of patients and manifest as persistent pancytopenia or irreversible decline in blood counts. Treatment is corticosteroids for several weeks.

Acute GVHD occurs in recipients of allogeneic hematopoietic stem cell transplants (in 40% of HLA-matched sibling graft recipients and 80% of unrelated donor graft recipients). It causes fever, rash, hepatitis with hyperbilirubinemia, vomiting, diarrhea, abdominal pain (which may progress to ileus), and weight loss.

Risk factors for acute GVHD include

  • HLA and sex mismatching

  • Unrelated donor

  • Older age of recipient, donor, or both

  • Donor presensitization

  • Inadequate GVHD prophylaxis

Diagnosis of acute GVHD is obvious based on history, physical examination, and liver test results. Treatment is methylprednisolone 2 mg/kg IV once a day, increased to 10 mg/kg if there is no response within 5 days.

Later complications

Major later complications include

  • Chronic GVHD

  • Disease relapse

Chronic GVHD may occur by itself, develop from acute GVHD, or occur after resolution of acute GVHD. It typically occurs 4 to 7 months after HSC transplantation (range 2 months to 2 years). Chronic GVHD occurs in recipients of allogeneic HSC transplants (in about 35 to 50% of HLA-matched sibling graft recipients and 60 to 70% of unrelated donor graft recipients).

Chronic GVHD affects primarily the skin (eg, lichenoid rash, sclerotic skin changes) and mucous membranes (eg, keratoconjunctivitis sicca, periodontitis, orogenital lichenoid reactions), but it also affects the gastrointestinal tract and liver. Immunodeficiency is a primary feature; bronchiolitis obliterans similar to that after lung transplantation can also develop. Ultimately, GVHD causes death in 20 to 40% of patients who have it.

Treatment may not be necessary for GVHD that affects the skin and mucous membranes; treatment of more extensive disease is similar to that of acute GVHD. T-cell depletion of allogeneic donor grafts using monoclonal antibodies or mechanical separation reduces incidence and severity of GVHD but also eliminates the graft-vs-tumor effect that may enhance stem cell proliferation and engraftment and reduce disease relapse rates. Relapse rates with autologous HSC transplantation are higher because there is no graft-vs-tumor effect and because circulating tumor cells may be inadvertently collected with stem cells and transplanted. Ex vivo tumor cell purging before autologous transplantation is under study.

In patients without chronic GVHD, all immunosuppression can be stopped 6 months after hematopoietic stem cell transplantation; thus, late complications are rare in these patients.

Prognosis

Prognosis after hematopoietic stem cell transplantation varies by indication and procedure.

Overall, disease relapse occurs in

  • 40 to 75% of recipients of autologous HSC transplants

  • 10 to 40% of recipients of allogeneic HSC transplants

Overall, success (cancer-free bone marrow) rates are

  • 30 to 40% for patients with relapsed, chemotherapy-sensitive lymphoma

  • 20 to 50% for patients with acute leukemia in remission

Compared with chemotherapy alone, HSC transplantation improves survival of patients with multiple myeloma. Success rates are low for patients with more advanced disease or with responsive solid cancers (eg, germ cell tumors). Relapse rates are reduced in patients with graft-vs-host disease (GVHD), but overall mortality rates are increased if GVHD is severe.

Intensive conditioning regimens, effective GVHD prophylaxis, cyclosporine-based regimens, and improved supportive care (eg, antibiotics as needed, herpesvirus and cytomegalovirus prophylaxis) have increased long-term disease-free survival after HSC transplantation.

Click here for Patient Education
NOTE: This is the Professional Version. CONSUMERS: Click here for the Consumer Version
Professionals also read

Also of Interest

Videos

View All
Overview of Type II Hypersensitivity
Video
Overview of Type II Hypersensitivity
Overview of Type IV Hypersensitivity
Video
Overview of Type IV Hypersensitivity

SOCIAL MEDIA

TOP