默沙东 诊疗手册

欢迎来到默沙东诊疗手册专业版医讯网站 本网站旨在为医药专业人员提供在线服务,如果您不是医药专业人员,建议您退出网站,登录默沙东中国官方网站了解相关信息。默沙东诊疗手册网站将对所有注册用户信息进行验证,医药专业人员必须接受并遵守用户协议条款才能使用本网站。如注册人员信息没能通过验证,默沙东诊疗手册网站有权终止该用户使用本网站的权利,在本网站每一网页下方均有链接功能,您可随时通过链接浏览用户使用协议条款与网站保护政策。

加载中

心悸

作者:

Lyall A. J. Higginson

, MD, University of Ottawa

最后一次全面审校/修订者 10月 2016| 内容末次修改日期 10月 2016
点击此处 进行患者培训
主题资源

心悸是对心脏活动的感觉,常被描述为扑动、奔跑或跳跃的感觉。心悸很常见,有些病人发现心悸令人不愉快和有警示性,心悸可出现于无心脏病者,或可由危及生命的心脏疾病所致。心悸可出现于无心脏病者,或可由危及生命的心脏疾病所致。诊断和治疗的关键是在心悸症状发作时诊断和治疗的关键是在心悸症状发作时捕捉到心电图上的心律并进行仔细地观察。

病理生理学

导致有心悸感觉的机制尚不清楚。正常频率的窦性心律通常不被感觉,心悸通常反映了心跳频率、节律或收缩力的改变。在所有病人中,感觉到的是心脏在胸腔内的异常活动。在孤立性过早搏动时,病人可能实际上感觉到的是过早搏动后发生的增强心跳,像跳跃性的心跳,而不是过早搏动本身,可能是过早搏动干扰了正常节律的窦性心律,使得下一个心跳心室充盈时间延长,因此心搏出量更高。

不同患者对心律失常感觉程度变异很大。有些病人对每个过早搏动均能切实感觉到,而其他病人对即使更为复杂的房性或室性心动过速亦感觉不到。安静状态下,焦虑或抑郁的病人中,感觉会加强,而积极、愉快的病人中感觉会减弱。在有些病人中,无任何心脏异常活动时也可感到心悸。

 病因学

有些病人其实仅是对正常的心脏活动提高了注意力,尤其在运动中、患发热性疾病或焦虑等情况下心率增快时。然而在多数情况下,心悸是心律失常的结果。心律失常性质可从良性到危及生命各异。

最常见的心律失常包括:

这些心律失常常属无害的。

其他心律失常包括:

缓慢性心律失常很少引起患者心悸主诉,虽然一些患者意识到心律减慢。

心律失常的病因

有些心律失常(如房早、室早、阵发性室上速)常自主发生,并无严重的基础疾病,但其他心律失常则常有严重的心脏疾病。

严重的心脏疾病包括心肌缺血 或其他的心肌疾病、遗传性疾病(如Brugada综合征、致心律失常性右室心肌病、先天性长Q-T综合征 )、瓣膜性心脏病 和传导系统障碍(如引起心动过缓或心脏传导阻滞)。有直立性低血压的病人因站立位时发生的窦性心动过速常感觉到心悸。

可增强心肌收缩力的非心脏疾病 (如甲状腺功能亢进、嗜铬细胞瘤)可产生心悸。

有些药物 包括洋地黄类、咖啡因、酒精和拟交感神经药(如沙丁胺醇、苯丙胺、可卡因、多巴酚丁胺、肾上腺素、麻黄素、异丙肾上腺素、去甲肾上腺素和茶碱)常引起心悸。

代谢性紊乱 ,包括贫血、低氧、低血容量和电解质异常(如利尿剂引起的低钾血症)可激发或加重心悸。

后果

许多可导致心悸的心律失常本身没有不良的生理后果(即独立于其基础疾病以外)。然而,缓慢性或快速性心律失常和心脏传导阻滞可能是不可预测的,可以影响心搏出量,引起低血压或死亡。室性心动过速 有时可发展为心室颤动

评价

完整的病史和体格检查是非常重要的。应该寻求其他医学专业人士或可靠的旁观者的观察结果。

病史

现病史应包括心悸的发生频率和持续时间,以及诱发或加重的因素(如情绪激动、活动、体位改变、服用可卡因或其他药物)。重要的相关症状包括晕厥、头晕、视野狭隘、呼吸困难和胸痛。要求病人轻敲出心悸时的心搏频率和韵律,有时较之用语言来描述更好,常可确定诊断,例如在房性或室性过早搏动时常被描述为“漏搏”,或心房颤动时为快速的完全不规则的搏动。

系统回顾应涵盖病因相关疾病的症状,包括心脏耐受力下降、体重减轻和震颤(甲状腺功能亢进);劳力性胸痛和呼吸困难(心肌缺血),以及疲劳、虚弱、严重的阴道出血和柏油样黑便(贫血)。

既往史应识别已知的可能病因,包括有记录的心律失常和心脏或甲状腺疾病。家族史中应包括任何年龄发生的晕厥(有时可被误认为是癫痫)或猝死。

还应询问患者违规处方药的用药情况(如抗心律失常药、洋地黄类、β-激动剂、茶碱类和控制心率的药物);非处方药(如感冒药和影响窦房结的药物、含兴奋剂的膳食补充剂),包括替代药物,以及违禁毒品(如可卡因、甲基苯丙胺)。应用咖啡因(如咖啡、茶、许多软饮料和能量饮料)、酒精或烟草情况也应确定。

体格检查

一般检查 中应注意病人是否存在焦虑行为和精神运动性激动。检查生命体征有无发热、高血压、低血压、心动过速、心动过缓、呼吸急促和低氧饱和度。测量直立位时血压和心率的改变。

头和颈部检查 时注意任何的异常或与颈动脉搏动或听诊心脏节律不同步的颈静脉搏动波型,是否有甲状腺功能亢进的发现,如甲状腺肿大或触痛和突眼。查看结膜、手掌和口腔黏膜是否有苍白。

心脏听诊 应注意频率和节律是否规则,是否有杂音或额外心音,这些可能提示存在瓣膜或结构性心脏病。

神经检查 应注意是否有静止性震颤或活跃的反射(提示过度的交感刺激)。如果晕厥为症状之一,异常的神经检查发现则提示病因更可能是癫痫而不是心脏疾病。

危险信号

某些发现提示更严重的病因:

  • 头晕或 晕厥 (尤其是晕厥导致损伤时)

  • 呼吸困难

  • 新发的无规律的不规则心律

  • 静息心率>120次/分或<45次/分

  • 严重的基础心脏疾病

  • 有反复晕厥或猝死家族史

  • 运动引起的心悸,尤其当伴晕厥时

临床表现解析

病史( 心悸患者提示性的病史发现)和体格检查(较小程度上)可提供诊断线索。

触诊动脉脉搏和听诊心脏可发现心律失常。但体检很少能对某一特定的心律失常做出诊断,除以下情况外:一些快速心房颤动为无规律的不规则心律;心房或心室成对性过早搏动为有规律的不规则心律;阵发性室上速时为规则的150次/分的心动过速;以及完全性房室传导阻滞时规则的<35次/分的心动过缓。在无ECG的情况下,心脏听诊同时仔细地检查颈静脉搏动波形和触诊颈动脉搏动可诊断多数心律失常,因为颈静脉波形显示心房节律而听诊到的心音或颈动脉脉搏音是心室收缩所致。

甲状腺增大或有压痛伴突眼提示甲状腺功能亢进。显著高血压和规则的心动过速提示嗜铬细胞瘤。

表格
icon

心悸患者提示性的病史发现

发现

可能病因

偶发的跳跃性搏动

快速、规律的心悸,突发突止

常反复发生

PSVT,2:1房室传导的心房扑动,室性心动过速

心悸后晕厥

运动或情绪激动时心悸

窦性心动过速(尤其是在健康人)

运动诱发缺血导致的室性心律失常(尤其是先天性心律失常疾病或冠心病)

药物使用后心悸*

药物所致原因

感觉不幸、焦虑或恐慌

提示(但不能确定)心理原因

术后病人

窦性心动过速(由于感染,出血,肺动脉栓塞,疼痛)

自幼起反复发生

室上性心律失常(如 房室结折返性旁道,WPW综合征)

先天性长QT综合征 (通常在青少年时有临床表现)

有晕厥或猝死家族史

Brugada综合征,先天性长QT综合征,,遗传性扩张型或肥厚型心肌病

*规则服用的药物(尤其是治疗性药物)或某些食物(如每天喝的咖啡)的作用很难确定,有时可行停服该药的试验以做出诊断。有心血管作用的所有药物、多数的精神活性药物和可导致低钾血症和低镁血症的药物均需要怀疑。

CAD = 冠状动脉疾病;PACs=房性过早搏动;PSVT=阵发性室上性心动过速;PVCs=室性过早搏动。

检查

常需要进行检查。

  • ECG,有时需要动态心电图监测

  • 实验室检查

  • 有时需要影像学检查、负荷试验或两者均需要

ECG检查,但除非有症状出现时记录ECG,否则常不能提供诊断。多数心律失常是间歇地发生,没有固定的ECG异常,例外的情况包括:

如症状频发而诊断不明,24小时至48小时 动态心电图(Holter)监测 有帮助,如症状间歇性地出现,可佩带更长记录时间的事件记录仪,可嘱病人在症状发生时启动记录。这些检查常主要用于怀疑有持续性心律失常者,而不是偶有跳动性搏动者。症状发作极不频繁者,如临床医生怀疑存在严重心律失常时,可在上胸部皮下埋入电子记录仪。该记录仪能连续记录心律,通过体外询问可以打印心脏节律。

实验室检查所有病人均需要。所有病人均应检测CBC、血清电解质,包括镁和钙。对有进展性心律失常、胸部不适、或其他提示活动性或近期冠状动脉缺血、心肌炎或心包炎者应检测心脏标志物(肌钙蛋白)。

新近被诊断为心房颤动者或有甲状腺功能亢进症状者有行甲状腺功能检查的指征。阵发性血压升高者检测是否有嗜铬细胞瘤。

有体位性晕厥者有时需要行 直立倾斜试验

影像学检查常是需要的。发现提示有心脏功能不全或结构性心脏病者需要行超声心动图 检查,有时需要 心脏MRI。有活动后症状的病人可行负荷试验,有些需要 负荷超声心动图, 负荷核素显像PET

治疗

停服可诱发心悸的药物或食物。如果具有危险的或使患者感觉虚弱的心律失常是由必须使用的治疗性药物所致者,应该试用其他的药物。

对无结构性心脏病的孤立的PACs和PVCs,只需给予病人解释使他们安心即可。对于其他方面健康的患者,如果这些现象使其丧失活动能力,可使用β-受体阻滞剂,只要努力避免焦虑患者强调其可能有的严重疾病。

检查并治疗已发现的节律异常和基础疾病( 心律失常的治疗)。

表格
icon

心律失常的治疗

疾病

治疗*

窄QRS综合波心动过速

多源性 房性早搏

安慰或β-阻滞剂

根据临床情况使用阿司匹林、华法林、伊诺肝素、普通肝素、直流电复律、氟卡尼、β-阻滞剂、地高辛、维拉帕米、地尔硫䓬、伊布利特、胺碘酮或射频消融术,或除颤术

射频消融(往往是最好的治疗)

有时可直流电复律、地高辛、β-阻滞剂、维拉帕米,和/或抗凝治疗。

室上性心动过速

射频消融(往往是最好的治疗)

有时刺激迷走张力的动作、腺苷、直流电复律、β-阻滞剂,或维拉帕米,氟卡尼,胺碘酮,或地高辛

Radioablation (often the best treatment)射频消融(往往是最好的治疗)

有时β受体阻滞剂或维拉帕米

宽QRS综合波心动过速

直流电复律,胺碘酮,索他洛尔,利多卡因,美西律,氟卡尼,射频术或植入性除颤器

镁、钾、直流电复律、β阻滞剂、超速起搏器或植入性除颤器

直流电复律,胺碘酮,利多卡因,或植入性除颤器

Brugada综合征

直流电复律,或植入性除颤器

*总是需要识别和纠正病因及加重因素(如电解质异常,低氧血症,药物)。

DC=直流电。

老年医学概要

老年病人使用抗心律失常药物具有发生不良反应的风险高,原因包括GFR较低和同时合用其他药物。如果需要药物治疗,应从小剂量开始。可能存在亚临床的传导功能障碍(ECG或其他检查中可见),使用抗心律失常药物后可恶化;这些病人可能需要起搏器以允许其使用抗心律失常药物。

关键点

  • 心悸是常见但相对不特异的症状。

  • 心悸并非严重心律失常的可靠提示,但有结构性心脏病或异常心电图的病人出现心悸是有严重问题的征象,需要进一步检查。

  • 症状发生时记录ECG或其他检查是重要的;无症状期间的正常ECG不能除外严重的疾病。

  • 多数抗心律失常药物本身可引起心律失常。

  • 如果血流动力学不稳定的患者快速性室性心动过速的诊断存在疑问,先采用电复律,随后再询问问题。

点击此处 进行患者培训
注: 此为专业版。 家庭用户: 点击此处进入家庭版
获得

其他感兴趣资源

最新

顶部

MSD Manual

Please confirm that you are a health care professional

Loading

Palpitations

By

Andrea D. Thompson

, MD, PhD, Department of Internal Medicine, Division of Cardiovascular Medicine, University of Michigan;


Michael J. Shea

, MD, Michigan Medicine at the University of Michigan

Last full review/revision Sep 2020| Content last modified Sep 2020
Click here for Patient Education
Topic Resources

Palpitations are the perception of cardiac activity. They are often described as a fluttering, racing, or skipping sensation. They are common; some patients find them unpleasant and alarming. Palpitations can occur in the absence of heart disease or can result from life-threatening heart disorders. The key to diagnosis and treatment is to “capture” the rhythm on ECG and make careful observations during the palpitations.

Pathophysiology

The mechanisms responsible for the sensation of palpitations are unknown. Ordinarily, sinus rhythm at a normal rate is not perceived, and palpitations thus usually reflect changes in cardiac rate or rhythm. In all cases, it is the abnormal movement of the heart within the chest that is felt. In cases of isolated extrasystoles, the patient may actually perceive the augmented postextrasystolic beat as the “skipped” beat rather than the premature beat itself, probably because the extrasystole blocks the next sinus beat and allows longer ventricular filling and thus a higher stroke volume.

The clinical perception of cardiac phenomena is highly variable. Some patients are aware of virtually every premature ventricular beat, but others are unaware of even complex atrial or ventricular tachyarrhythmias. Awareness is heightened in sedentary, anxious, or depressed patients and reduced in active, happy patients. In some cases, palpitations are perceived in the absence of any abnormal cardiac activity.

Etiology

Some patients simply have heightened awareness of normal cardiac activity, particularly when exercise, febrile illness, or anxiety increases heart rate. However, diligent evaluation for arrhythmia as the cause of palpitations is warranted. Arrhythmias range from benign to life threatening.

The most common arrhythmias include

Both of these arrhythmias usually are harmless.

Other common arrhythmias include

Bradyarrhythmias rarely cause a complaint of palpitations although some patients are aware of the slow rate.

Causes of arrhythmias

Some arrhythmias (eg, PACs, PVCs, PSVT) often occur spontaneously in patients without serious underlying disorders, but others are often caused by a serious cardiac disorder.

Serious cardiac causes include myocardial ischemia or other myocardial disorders, congenital heart disease (eg, Brugada syndrome, arrhythmogenic right ventricular cardiomyopathy, congenital long QT syndrome), valvular heart disease, and conduction system disturbances (eg, disturbances that cause bradycardia or heart block). Patients with orthostatic hypotension commonly sense palpitations caused by sinus tachycardia upon standing.

Noncardiac disorders that increase myocardial contractility (eg, thyrotoxicosis, pheochromocytoma, anxiety) may cause palpitations.

Some drugs, including digitalis, caffeine, alcohol, nicotine, and sympathomimetics (eg, albuterol, amphetamines, cocaine, dobutamine, epinephrine, ephedrine, isoproterenol, norepinephrine, and theophylline), frequently cause or exacerbate palpitations.

Metabolic disturbances, including anemia, hypoxia, hypovolemia, and electrolyte abnormalities (eg, diuretic-induced hypokalemia), can trigger or exacerbate palpitations.

Consequences

Many arrhythmias that cause palpitations have no adverse physiologic consequences of their own (ie, independent of the underlying disorder). However, bradyarrhythmias, tachyarrhythmias, and heart blocks can be unpredictable and may adversely affect cardiac output and cause hypotension or death. Ventricular tachycardia sometimes degenerates to ventricular fibrillation.

Evaluation

A complete history and physical examination are essential. Observations by other medical personnel or reliable observers should be sought.

History

History of present illness should cover the frequency and duration of palpitations and provoking or exacerbating factors (eg, emotional distress, activity, change in position, intake of caffeine or other drugs). Important associated symptoms include syncope, light-headedness, tunnel vision, dyspnea, and chest pain. Asking the patient to tap out the rate and cadence of palpitations is better than a verbal description and often allows a definitive diagnosis, as in the “missed beat” of atrial or ventricular extrasystoles or the rapid total irregularity of atrial fibrillation.

Review of systems should cover symptoms of causative disorders, including heat intolerance, weight loss, and tremor (hyperthyroidism); chest pain and dyspnea on exertion (myocardial ischemia); and fatigue, weakness, heavy vaginal bleeding, and dark tar-like stools (anemia).

Past medical history should identify known potential causes, including documented arrhythmias and heart or thyroid disorders. Family history should note occurrences of syncope (sometimes mistakenly described as seizures) or sudden death at an early age.

The drug profile should be reviewed for offending prescription drugs (eg, antiarrhythmics, digoxin, beta-agonists, theophylline, and rate-limiting drugs); over-the-counter drugs (eg, cold and sinus drugs, dietary supplements containing stimulants), including alternative medicines; and illicit drugs (eg, cocaine, methamphetamines). Caffeine (eg, coffee, tea, numerous soft drinks and energy drinks), alcohol, and tobacco use should be determined.

Physical examination

The general examination should note whether an anxious demeanor or psychomotor agitation is present. Vital signs are reviewed for fever, hypertension, hypotension, tachycardia, bradycardia, tachypnea, and low oxygen saturation. Orthostatic changes in blood pressure (BP) and heart rate should be measured.

Examination of the head and neck should note any abnormality or dyssynchrony of the jugular pulse waves compared with the carotid pulse or auscultated heart rhythm and findings of hyperthyroidism, such as thyroid enlargement or tenderness and exophthalmos. The conjunctivae, palmar creases, and buccal mucosa should be inspected for pallor.

Cardiac auscultation should note the rate and regularity of the rhythm as well as any murmurs or extra heart sounds that might indicate underlying valvular or structural heart disease.

Neurologic examination should note whether resting tremors or brisk reflexes are present (suggesting excess sympathetic stimulation). An abnormal neurologic finding suggests that seizures rather than a cardiac disorder may be the cause if syncope is one of the symptoms.

Red flags

Certain findings suggest a more serious etiology:

  • Light-headedness or syncope (particularly if injury occurs from syncope)

  • Dyspnea

  • New onset of irregularly irregular heart rhythm

  • Heart rate >120 beats/minute or < 45 beats/minute while at rest

  • Significant underlying heart disease

  • Family history of recurrent syncope or sudden death

  • Exercise-induced palpitations or, particularly, syncope

Interpretation of findings

History (see table Suggestive Historical Findings With Palpitations) and, to a lesser extent, physical examination provide clues to the diagnosis.

Palpation of the arterial pulse and cardiac auscultation may reveal a rhythm disturbance. However, the examination is not always diagnostic of a specific rhythm, except when it identifies the unique irregular irregularity of some cases of rapid atrial fibrillation, the regular irregularity of coupled atrial or ventricular extrasystoles, the regular tachycardia at 150 beats/minute of PSVT, and the regular bradycardia of < 35 beats/minute of complete atrioventricular block.

Careful examination of the jugular venous pulse waves simultaneously with cardiac auscultation and palpation of the carotid artery allows evaluation of atrial rhythm through jugular waves while the auscultated sounds or the pulse in the carotids are the product of ventricular contraction.

Thyroid enlargement or tenderness with exophthalmos suggests thyrotoxicosis. Marked hypertension and regular tachycardia suggest pheochromocytoma.

Table
icon

Suggestive Historical Findings in Patients With Palpitations

Finding

Possible Cause

Occasional skipped beats

Rapid, regular palpitations with sudden onset and termination

Often history of recurrence

PSVT, atrial flutter with 2:1 atrioventricular block, VT

Syncope following palpitations

Palpitations during exercise or an emotional episode

Sinus tachycardia (particularly in healthy people)

Ventricular arrhythmia from exercise-induced ischemia (particularly in people with congenital arrhythmic disorders or CAD)

Palpitations following episodic* drug use

Drug-induced cause

Sense of doom, anxiety, or panic

Suggests (but does not confirm) a psychologic cause

Postoperative patient

Sinus tachycardia (eg, due to infection, bleeding, pulmonary embolism, pain), atrial fibrillation, atrial flutter

Recurrent episodes since childhood

Supraventricular arrhythmia (eg, atrioventricular nodal reentrant bypass tract, Wolff-Parkinson-White syndrome)

Congenital long QT syndrome (usually manifests during adolescence)

Family history of syncope or sudden death

Brugada syndrome, congenital long QT syndrome, inherited dilated or hypertrophic cardiomyopathy

* The role of regular use of drugs (particularly therapeutic drugs) or substances (eg, daily caffeine) can be hard to determine; sometimes a trial of withdrawal is diagnostic. All drugs with cardiovascular effects, most psychoactive drugs, and drugs capable of causing hypokalemia or hypomagnesemia must be suspected.

CAD = coronary artery disease; PACs = premature atrial contractions; PSVT = paroxysmal supraventricular tachycardia; PVCs = premature ventricular contractions; VT = ventricular tachycardia.

Testing

Testing typically is done.

  • ECG, sometimes with ambulatory monitoring

  • Laboratory testing

  • Sometimes imaging studies, stress testing, or both

ECG is done, but unless the recording is done while symptoms are occurring, it may not provide a diagnosis. Many cardiac arrhythmias are intermittent and show no fixed ECG abnormalities; exceptions include

If no diagnosis is apparent and symptoms are frequent, Holter monitoring for 24 to 48 hours is useful; for intermittent symptoms, an event recorder worn for longer periods and activated by the patient when symptoms are felt is better. These tests are used mainly when a sustained arrhythmia is suspected, rather than when symptoms suggest only occasional skipped beats. Patients with very infrequent symptoms that clinicians suspect represent a serious arrhythmia may have a device implanted beneath the skin of the upper chest. This device, often called a loop recorder, continuously records the rhythm and can be interrogated by an external machine that allows the cardiac rhythm to be printed. Finally, a variety of commercially available products that patients may be using may provide additional useful information. These products include fitness trackers, which monitor heart rate, and mobile ECG monitors that are available for phones and watches.

Laboratory testing is needed in all patients. All patients should have a complete blood count and measurement of serum electrolytes, including magnesium and calcium. Further testing should be aimed at suspected causes. The cardiac marker troponin should be measured in patients with ongoing arrhythmias, chest discomfort, or other symptoms suggesting active or recent coronary ischemia, myocarditis, or pericarditis.

Thyroid function tests are indicated when atrial fibrillation is newly diagnosed or there are symptoms of hyperthyroidism. Patients with paroxysms of high BP should be evaluated for pheochromocytoma.

Sometimes tilt-table testing is done in patients with postural syncope.

Imaging is sometimes needed. Patients with newly diagnosed arrhythmia, findings suggesting cardiac dysfunction or findings suggesting structural heart disease require echocardiography and sometimes cardiac MRI. Patients with symptoms on exertion require stress testing sometimes with stress echocardiography, nuclear scanning, or PET.

Treatment

Precipitating drugs and substances that can cause syncope are stopped. If dangerous or debilitating arrhythmias are caused by a necessary therapeutic drug, a different drug should be tried.

For isolated PACs and PVCs in patients without structural heart disease, simple reassurance is appropriate. For otherwise healthy patients in whom these phenomena are disabling, a beta-blocker can be given provided efforts are made to avoid reinforcing the perception by anxious patients that they have a serious disorder.

Identified rhythm disturbances and underlying disorders are investigated and treated (see table Some Treatments for Arrhythmias).

Table
icon

Some Treatments for Arrhythmias

Disorder

Treatment*

Narrow complex tachycardias

Reassurance, a non-dihydropyridine calcium channel blockers, or a beta-blocker

Anticoagulation

For rate control,

  • Beta-blockers

  • Verapamil

  • Diltiazem, or

  • Digoxin

For rhythm control,

  • Antiarrhythmic drugs (eg, ibutilide, amiodarone, propafenone, dronedarone, sotalol, dofetilide)

  • Cardioversion, or

  • Radioablation

Sometimes a Maze procedure

Anticoagulation

Radioablation (often the best treatment)

Sometimes DC cardioversion, digoxin, beta blocker, and/or verapamil

Ectopic supraventricular tachycardia (eg, atrial tachycardia)

Sometimes, DC cardioversion, rate control drugs (excluding digoxin) , antiarrhythmics, overdrive pacing, and/or ablation

Reentrant supraventricular tachycardias eg atrioventricular nodal reentrant tachycardia

Vagotonic maneuvers

AV Nodal blocking drugs (eg, beta blockers, verapamil)

Ablation (often the best treatment)

Broad complex tachycardias

Immediate drug therapy or DC cardioversion

Amiodarone, sotalol, propafenone, lidocaine, mexiletine, flecainide, radioablation

Sometimes an implanted defibrillator

If unstable, immediate DC cardioversion, magnesium, and/or potassium sometimes an implanted defibrillator

Ongoing treatment as needed with magnesium, potassium, a beta-blocker, isoproterenol, or overdrive cardiac pacing

Sometimes an implanted defibrillator

Defibrillation

Sometimes drugs (eg, amiodarone)

Sometimes an implanted defibrillator

Usually DC cardioversion or an implanted defibrillator

* Always identify and correct causes and exacerbating factors (eg, electrolyte abnormalities, hypoxemia, drugs).

AV = atrioventricular; DC = direct current.

Geriatrics Essentials

Older patients are at particular risk of adverse effects of antiarrhythmics; reasons include lower glomerular filtration rate and concomitant use of other drugs. When drug treatment is needed, lower doses should be used to start. Subclinical conduction abnormalities may be present (recognized on ECG or other studies), which might worsen with use of antiarrhythmics; such patients may require a pacemaker to allow the use of antiarrhythmics.

Key Points

  • Palpitations are a frequent but relatively nonspecific symptom.

  • Palpitations are not a reliable indicator of a significant arrhythmia, but palpitations in a patient with structural heart disease or an abnormal ECG may be a sign of a serious problem and warrant investigation.

  • An ECG or other recording done during symptoms is essential; a normal ECG in a symptom-free interval does not rule out significant disease.

  • Most antiarrhythmics themselves can cause arrhythmias.

  • If in doubt about a rapid tachyarrhythmia in a patient in hemodynamic distress, cardiovert first and ask questions later.

Click here for Patient Education
NOTE: This is the Professional Version. CONSUMERS: Click here for the Consumer Version
Professionals also read

Also of Interest

Videos

View All
Overview of Wolff-Parkinson-White Syndrome
Video
Overview of Wolff-Parkinson-White Syndrome
3D Models
View All
Aortic Dissection
3D Model
Aortic Dissection

SOCIAL MEDIA

TOP