honeypot link

默沙东 诊疗手册

欢迎来到默沙东诊疗手册专业版医讯网站 本网站旨在为医药专业人员提供在线服务,如果您不是医药专业人员,建议您退出网站,登录默沙东中国官方网站了解相关信息。默沙东诊疗手册网站将对所有注册用户信息进行验证,医药专业人员必须接受并遵守用户协议条款才能使用本网站。如注册人员信息没能通过验证,默沙东诊疗手册网站有权终止该用户使用本网站的权利,在本网站每一网页下方均有链接功能,您可随时通过链接浏览用户使用协议条款与网站保护政策。

钩端螺旋体病

作者:

Larry M. Bush

, MD, FACP, Charles E. Schmidt College of Medicine, Florida Atlantic University;


Maria T. Perez

, MD, Wellington Regional Medical Center, West Palm Beach

最后一次全面审校/修订者 2月 2017| 内容末次修改日期 3月 2017
点击此处 进行患者培训

钩端螺旋体病是由几种致病性血清型的 the spirochete Leptospira.钩端螺旋体中任意一种导致的感染。症状呈两个阶段。初始阶段急性发热,第二阶段有时包括肝脏、肾脏及脑膜相关方面的表现。通过暗视野显微镜检查,培养和血清学检查可以诊断。使用强力霉素或青霉素治疗。

螺旋体(spirochaetales)家族最显著的特征是菌体呈螺旋状。但菌体太细,不能够用常规显微镜观察,可用暗视野显微镜检查。分三个属:Treponema, Leptospira, 和 Borrelia密螺旋体属、钩端螺旋体属和疏螺旋体属。

钩端螺旋体病是一种发生于多种家畜和野生动物的人畜共患病,轻者无明显症状,重者可致命。人类感染在美国很少见。

Leptospira 钩端螺旋体通过载体动物的慢些肾脏感染(通常为大鼠,狗,牛,马,绵羊,山羊和猪)而持续存在在自然界中。这些动物可随其尿排出钩端螺旋体数年。狗和大鼠也可能是人类感染的常见传染源。

人可通过接触感染动物的尿或组织直接感染,也可通过接触污染水或土壤而间接感染。损伤的皮肤或暴露的黏膜(结膜、鼻黏膜和口腔黏膜)是病原体进入人体的常见门户。钩端螺旋体病可能是一种职业病(如农民、下水道和屠宰场工人),但美国的大多数病例是在娱乐活动中(如在受污染的淡水中游泳)偶然接触钩端螺旋体所致。在暴雨或洪水之后,已经在美国以外爆发。

钩端螺旋体病的病例必须向CDC报告。美国每年报告的病例为40~100例,主要发生在夏末秋初。因为缺乏特征性的临床表现,因此可能很多病例未被诊断和报告。

症状和体征

潜伏期2~20日(通常7~13日)。

钩端螺旋体病的特征是双相性的。

第一阶段为败血症期,起病突然,有头痛、严重的肌痛、寒战和发热、咳嗽、咽炎、胸痛症状,甚至在某些患者中出现咯血。通常在第3或第4天出现结膜充血。肝、脾肿大不常见。本阶段可持续4~9日,可有反复的寒战和发热,体温常高达>39°C。之后体温消退。

第二阶段 ,或称为免疫阶段 发生在疾病的第6至第12天之间,与血清抗体的出现相关。发热和早期的症状又重现,并可出现脑膜炎体征。少数可发生虹膜睫状体炎、视神经炎和周围神经病。

若在怀孕期间患病,即使在恢复期,也可引起流产。

Weil综合征(黄疸型钩端螺旋体病)是钩端螺旋体病的一种严重表现,出现溶血性黄疸,通常伴有氮质血症、贫血、神志不清和持续发热。起病与其他较轻的钩端螺旋体病相似。然而,由于毛细血管损伤可有出血表现,包括鼻出血、瘀点、紫癜和淤斑,很少会出现蛛网膜下隙、肾上腺或胃肠道出血。也可发生血小板减少症。第3~6天出现肝、肾功能障碍。肾功能异常包括蛋白尿、脓尿、血尿和氮质血症。肝脏损害轻微,可以完全恢复。

无黄疸患者病死率为零,黄疸患者病死率为5%~10%,>60岁的患者病死率更高。

诊断

  • 血培养

  • 血清学检测

  • 有时PCR

钩端螺旋体病与病毒性脑膜脑炎、汉坦病毒引起的出血热肾病综合征、其他螺旋体感染、流感、肝炎的症状相似。但钩端螺旋体病病程具有两个阶段可资鉴别。

如果可能接触过钩端螺旋体,任何发热待查的患者都应该考虑有钩端螺旋体病的可能。

怀疑钩端螺旋体病应当进行血培养、急性期和恢复期(3~4周)抗体滴度检测、,血常规、血生化和肝功能检测。

需要进行腰穿检查脑脊液;脑脊液细胞数在10-1000/μL(通常< 500/μL),以单核细胞为主。脑脊液细胞通常在10~1 000/μL(通常<500/μL),主要是单核细胞。脑脊液葡萄糖正常;蛋白质<100 mg/dL脑脊液胆红素水平高于血清胆红素水平。

多数病例白细胞计数正常或略升高,但严重的黄疸病例可高达50 000/μL,中性粒细胞>70%可鉴别钩端螺旋体病与病毒性疾病。血清胆红素的升高比例超过了血清氨基酸转移酶。黄疸病人,血清胆红素浓度通常<20mg/dL(<342μmol/L),但严重感染时可达684μmol/L)。

如果钩端螺旋体从临床标本中分离出来或在液体或组织中看到,则可以确诊。当可能存在钩端螺旋体时并且在抗体滴度可被检测到之前,血液和脑脊液的培养在疾病的第一周很可能是阳性的;尿液培养在疾病1至3周可能为阳性的。当怀疑是巴尔通体时应通知实验室,因为需要特殊的染色和延长培养时间。

钩端螺旋体病也可通过下列任何一项确诊:

  • Leptospira 凝集抗体效价增加≥4倍(对相隔2周以上的双份样本进行显微凝集试验)。

  • 当只有一份样本时,具有典型症状和体征的患者抗体滴度≥1:800(或在钩端螺旋体病低流行地区,滴度≥1:400,甚至≥1:100)。

分子分析,如PCR,也可以在疾病的早期阶段迅速确诊。IgM酶联免疫吸附试验(ELISA)可在3至5天内发现感染,但阳性结果应通过确诊试验(培养,显微凝集试验,PCR)来确认。

治疗

  • 青霉素

  • 多西环素

在感染的早期开始的抗生素治疗是非常有效的。

严重的病例中,以下推荐治疗方案任选:

  • 静脉输注青霉素G 5~6百万单位 q6h

  • 氨苄青霉素500~1000 mg IV q6h

不严重的情况下, 可选择下列治疗方案中的一种,5至7天:

  • 多西环素100mg po q12h,

  • 氨苄青霉素500~750mg po q6h

  • 阿莫西林500毫克 口服 每6小时一次

重症病人的支持疗法,包括补充液体和电解质也很重要。

病人不必隔离,但病人的尿液必须小心妥善地处理。

在疫区可每周1次口服200mg多西环素预防本病。

关键点

  • 钩端螺旋体病是一种发生在许多家养和野生动物(尤其是狗和老鼠)中动物传染病;人感染较为罕见,感染需要通过接触受到感染的尿液或组织或被污染的水或土壤。

  • 疾病有2个阶段:败血症期和免疫期。

  • 败血症期起病突然,伴有头痛、严重的肌痛、发热> 39° C、寒战、咳嗽、咽痛,甚至有时出现咯血。这一阶段持续4-9天。

  • 免疫期出现在疾病的第6到第12天之间,此时血清中出现抗体;发热及其他症状再次出现,有些患者出现脑膜炎。

  • Weil综合征是钩端螺旋体病的一种严重表现,伴随黄疸,氮质血症、贫血、神志不清以及有时发生出血症状。

  • 诊断采用血培养、CSF(有脑膜炎症状的患者)、尿培养、血清学检测和PCR。

  • 静脉使用青霉素G或氨苄西林治疗重症患者,口服多西环素,氨苄西林或阿莫西林治疗轻症。

点击此处 进行患者培训
注: 此为专业版。 家庭用户: 点击此处进入家庭版
获得

其他感兴趣资源

顶部

Not Found
Locations

Find information on medical topics, symptoms, drugs, procedures, news and more, written for the health care professional.

* This is the Professional Version. *

Leptospirosis

By Larry M. Bush, MD, Charles E. Schmidt College of Medicine, Florida Atlantic University;University of Miami-Miller School of Medicine/JFK Medical Center ; Maria T. Perez, MD, Wellington Regional Medical Center, West Palm Beach

Click here for
Patient Education

Leptospirosis is an infection caused by one of several pathogenic serotypes of the spirochete Leptospira. Symptoms are biphasic. Both phases involve acute febrile episodes; the 2nd phase sometimes includes hepatic, renal, and meningeal involvement. Diagnosis is by darkfield microscopy, culture, and serologic testing. Treatment is with doxycycline or penicillin.

The family Spirochaetales is distinguished by the helical shape of the bacteria. They are too thin to be visualized using routine microscopy but can be viewed using darkfield microscopy. There are 3 genera: Treponema, Leptospira, and Borrelia.

Leptospirosis, a zoonosis occurring in many domestic and wild animals, may cause inapparent illness or serious, even fatal disease. Human infections are rare in the US.

Leptospira are maintained in nature through chronic renal infection of carrier animals—commonly rats, dogs, cattle, horses, sheep, goat, and pigs. These animals can shed leptospires in their urine for years. Dogs and rats are probably common sources of human infection.

Human infections are acquired by direct contact with infected urine or tissue or indirectly by contact with contaminated water or soil. Abraded skin and exposed mucous membranes (conjunctival, nasal, oral) are the usual entry portals. Leptospirosis can be an occupational disease (eg, of farmers or sewer and abattoir workers), but in the US, most patients are exposed incidentally during recreational activities (eg, swimming in contaminated freshwater). Outbreaks have been reported outside the US after heavy rainfall or flooding.

Cases of leptospirosis must be reported to the CDC. The 40 to 100 known annual US cases occur mainly in late summer and early fall. Because distinctive clinical features are lacking, probably many more cases are not diagnosed and reported.

Symptoms and Signs

The incubation period ranges from 2 to 20 (usually 7 to 13) days.

Leptospirosis is characteristically biphasic.

The septicemic phase starts abruptly, with headache, severe muscular aches, chills, fever, cough, pharyngitis, chest pain, and, in some patients, hemoptysis. Conjunctival suffusion usually appears on the 3rd or 4th day. Splenomegaly and hepatomegaly are uncommon. This phase lasts 4 to 9 days, with recurrent chills and fever that often spikes to > 39° C. Defervescence follows.

The 2nd, or immune, phase occurs between the 6th and 12th day of illness, correlating with appearance of antibodies in serum. Fever and earlier symptoms recur, and meningitis may develop. Iridocyclitis, optic neuritis, and peripheral neuropathy occur infrequently.

If acquired during pregnancy, leptospirosis, even during the convalescent period, may cause abortion.

Weil syndrome (icteric leptospirosis) is a severe form with jaundice and usually azotemia, anemia, diminished consciousness, and continued fever. Onset is similar to that of less severe forms. However, hemorrhagic manifestations, which are due to capillary injury and include epistaxis, petechiae, purpura, and ecchymoses, then develop and rarely progress to subarachnoid, adrenal, or GI hemorrhage. Thrombocytopenia may occur. Signs of hepatocellular and renal dysfunction appear from the 3rd to 6th day. Renal abnormalities include proteinuria, pyuria, hematuria, and azotemia. Hepatocellular damage is minimal, and healing is complete.

Mortality is nil in anicteric patients. With jaundice, the mortality rate is 5 to 10%; it is higher in patients > 60 yr.

Diagnosis

  • Blood cultures

  • Serologic testing

  • Sometimes PCR

Similar symptoms can result from viral meningoencephalitis, hemolytic fever with renal syndrome due to hantaviruses, other spirochetal infections, influenza, and hepatitis. The history of biphasic illness may help differentiate leptospirosis.

Leptospirosis should be considered in any patient with FUO if they might have been exposed to leptospires.

Patients with suspected leptospirosis should have blood cultures, acute and convalescent (3- to 4-wk) antibody titers, CBC, serum chemistries, and liver function tests.

Meningeal findings mandate lumbar puncture; the CSF cell count is between 10 and 1000/μL (usually < 500/μL), with predominantly mononuclear cells. CSF glucose is normal; protein is < 100 mg/dL. CSF bilirubin levels are higher than serum bilirubin levels.

The peripheral blood WBC count is normal or slightly elevated in most patients but may reach 50,000/μL in severely ill patients with jaundice. The presence of > 70% neutrophils helps differentiate leptospirosis from viral illnesses. Serum bilirubin is elevated out of proportion to elevations in serum aminotransferases. In jaundiced patients, bilirubin levels are usually < 20 mg/dL (< 342 μmol/L) but may reach 40 mg/dL (684 μmol/L) in severe infection.

Leptospirosis is confirmed if leptospires are isolated from clinical specimens or seen in fluids or tissues. Blood and CSF cultures are likely to be positive during the 1st wk of illness, when leptospires may be present and before antibody titers are detectable; urine cultures are likely to be positive during wk 1 to 3 of illness. The laboratory should be notified that leptospirosis is suspected because special media and prolonged incubation are required.

Leptospirosis is also confirmed by either of the following:

  • Leptospira agglutination antibody titer increases by ≥ 4-fold (microscopic agglutination test on paired samples obtained ≥ 2 wk apart).

  • When only a single specimen is available, titer is ≥ 1:800 in patients with typical symptoms and signs (or ≥ 1:400 or even ≥ 1:100 in regions where the prevalence of leptospirosis is low).

Molecular assays, such as PCR, can also confirm the diagnosis rapidly during the early phase of the illness. An IgM enzyme-linked immunosorbent assay (ELISA) detects infections within 3 to 5 days, but positive results should be confirmed by definitive testing (cultures, microscopic agglutination test, PCR).

Treatment

  • Penicillin

  • Doxycycline

Antibiotic therapy is most effective when begun early in the infection.

In severe illness, one of the following is recommended:

  • Penicillin G 5 to 6 million units IV q 6 h

  • Ampicillin 500 to 1000 mg IV q 6 h

In less severe cases, one of the following may be given for 5 to 7 days:

  • Doxycycline 100 mg po q 12 h

  • Ampicillin 500 to 750 mg po q 6 h

  • Amoxicillin 500 mg po q 6 h

In severe cases, supportive care, including fluid and electrolyte therapy, is also important.

Patient isolation is not required, but urine must be handled and disposed of carefully.

Doxycycline 200 mg po given once/wk during a period of known geographic exposure prevents disease.

Key Points

  • Leptospirosis is a zoonosis that occurs in many domestic and wild animals (particularly dogs and rats); human infections are rare and are acquired by contact with infected urine or tissue or contaminated water or soil.

  • There are 2 phases of illness: septicemic and immune.

  • The septicemic phase starts abruptly with headache, severe muscular aches, fever to > 39° C, chills, cough, sore throat, and sometimes hemoptysis; this phase lasts 4 to 9 days.

  • The immune phase occurs between the 6th and 12th day of illness when antibodies appear in serum; fever and other symptoms recur, and some patients develop meningitis.

  • Weil syndrome is a severe form with jaundice and usually azotemia, anemia, diminished consciousness, and sometimes hemorrhagic manifestations.

  • Diagnose using blood cultures, CSF (in patients with meningeal findings), urine cultures, serologic tests, and PCR.

  • Treat severe illness with parenteral penicillin G or ampicillin and less severe cases with oral doxycycline, ampicillin, or amoxicillin.

* This is the Professional Version. *