默沙东 诊疗手册

Please confirm that you are not located inside the Russian Federation

加载中

儿童尿路感染 (UTI)

作者:

Geoffrey A. Weinberg

, MD, University of Rochester School of Medicine and Dentistry

最后一次全面审校 1月 2018| 内容末次修改日期 1月 2018
点击此处进入专业版
小知识
注: 此为家庭版。 医生: 点击此处进入专业版
点击此处进入专业版
主题资源

尿路感染是膀胱(膀胱炎)、肾脏(肾盂肾炎)或两者的细菌感染。

  • 尿路感染是由细菌引起的。

  • 新生儿和婴儿除了发热以外可无症状,而大点的儿童在排尿时会有疼痛或烧灼感,以及膀胱区的疼痛和尿频。

  • 诊断基于尿液检查和培养。

  • 正确的卫生习惯可能有助于预防尿路感染。

  • 使用抗生素可以治疗感染。

尿路感染(UTI)在儿童中十分常见。几乎所有尿路感染都是由细菌进入尿道开口(从膀胱将尿液排出体外的管道)并向上移至膀胱(有时是肾脏)引起的。一些极罕见的严重感染则是由于细菌通过肾脏进入血液引起败血症或其他器官的感染。

在婴儿期,男孩更容易出现尿路感染。婴儿期之后,女孩更容易出现 UTI。UTI 在女孩中更为常见,这是因为女孩尿道较短,使得细菌更容易上移至泌尿道。未经包皮环切的男婴(由于细菌倾向于在包皮下积聚)和重度便秘的幼儿(由于重度便秘也会干扰正常排尿)也更容易发生尿路感染。

你知道吗……

  • 重度便秘可能导致儿童尿路感染。

年龄较大的学龄儿童和青少年的尿路感染与成人尿路感染几乎没有差异(见尿路感染概述)。然而,患UTI的婴幼儿中,泌尿系统的各种结构异常更常见,这使他们更容易患尿路感染。这些异常包括膀胱输尿管返流 (VUR),这是输尿管(将肾脏连接到膀胱的管道)的异常,它使尿液从膀胱向后流回肾脏,还包括许多阻碍尿液流动的疾病。多达50%的患有UTI的新生儿和婴儿以及20%至30%的患有UTI的学龄儿童合并此类异常。

尿路

尿路

50% 以上患有UTI的婴儿和学龄前儿童同时有膀胱和肾脏的感染,尤其是有发热表现者。若肾脏被感染,发生严重反流,5%~20% 的患儿可遗留肾脏瘢痕。如果反流很少或者未出现反流,则极少的儿童会形成肾脏瘢痕。一旦肾脏瘢痕形成,最终可导致高血压和成年后肾功能损害。

(另见儿童细菌感染概述。)

症状

患有尿路感染的新生儿除发热外可能没有其他症状。有时他们进食不佳或生长发育迟缓、迟钝(昏昏欲睡)、呕吐或腹泻。新生儿可能会因尿路感染而引起严重的全身性感染(脓毒症)。

患有尿路感染的 2 岁以下婴幼儿可能会发热、呕吐、腹泻、腹痛或尿液恶臭。

患有尿路感染的 2 岁以上儿童通常会出现类似于成人的膀胱或肾脏感染的典型症状。

患有膀胱感染(膀胱炎)的儿童在排尿期间通常会感到疼痛或烧灼感,需要频繁排尿和尿急,并且在膀胱区域会感到疼痛。他们可能有排尿困难或难以憋尿(尿失禁)。小便发臭。

患有肾脏感染(肾盂肾炎)的儿童通常在患侧肾脏的侧面或背面出现疼痛,还有高烧、发冷和全身不适(不舒服)。

尿路异常的儿童可能出现腹部肿块、肾脏肿大、尿道开口异常或脊柱下段可能畸形。尿流不急的儿童中,将尿液从肾脏输送到膀胱的一根管子(输尿管)可能阻塞,或由于神经问题而无法控制膀胱。

你知道吗……

  • 婴儿和幼儿的尿路感染可能有与成人不同的症状和病因。

诊断

  • 尿液检查

  • 尿路影像学检查

  • 有时做血液检查

尿液检查

医生通过检查尿液(尿分析)并送检样本进行尿液培养,使任何细菌生长,从而诊断尿路感染。

受过如厕训练的儿童可以使用清洁尿采样法提供尿液样本。在这种方法中,用一个含抗菌剂的小垫清洁尿道开口。然后,孩子将少量尿液排入马桶,以冲洗尿道。之后,孩子停止往马桶里排尿,继续往无菌杯里排尿。

对于婴幼儿,医生可用一个经过消毒的细、柔性导管行尿道插管,以获得清洁尿液标本。此过程称为导尿术。

在一些男性新生儿和婴儿中,包皮过紧以至于无法将其上拉露出阴茎头,从而阻塞尿道开口,因此,医生需要用一根穿过耻骨上方皮肤的针头从膀胱中抽出尿液。

有时,医生会在生殖器和肛门之间的区域沾上一个尿液引流袋,以收集尿液进行其他检查。以这种方式采集的尿液对尿路感染的诊断无用,因为它被皮肤上的细菌和其他物质污染。

尿路感染会增加尿液中白细胞和细菌的水平。为检测这些白细胞和细菌,化验员在显微镜下检查尿液并进行一些化学检测。化验员还会进行尿液培养,以培育并识别其中存在的细菌。培养是这些检测中最重要的。

影像学检查

常规产前超声检查中可以诊断出泌尿系统的许多结构异常。但是,有时在产前超声检查中看不到孩子的异常。因此,所有年龄段的男孩和 3 岁以下的女孩即使患上单一尿路感染,也通常需要进一步检查以寻找泌尿系统的结构异常。患有复发性尿路感染的大龄女孩也需要进行这些检查。

这些检查包括

  • 肾脏和膀胱超声

  • 可能进行排尿期膀胱尿道造影 (VCUG)

  • 有时进行放射性核素膀胱造影 (RNC) 或放射性核素肾脏扫描

进行超声检查,以识别肾脏和膀胱的异常和阻塞。

可以进行排尿期膀胱尿道造影 (VCUG),以进一步确定肾脏、输尿管和膀胱的异常,并可以确定尿液流动何时部分逆转(返流)。进行膀胱尿道造影时,术前进行尿道插管,随后由导管注入显影剂,在排尿前后分别行 X 线检查。如果超声检查异常或儿童反复出现尿路感染,可以行排尿期膀胱尿道造影。

放射性核素膀胱造影与排尿期膀胱尿道造影相似,但不同之处在于将放射性药剂置于膀胱中,并使用核扫描仪拍摄影像。与排尿期膀胱尿道造影相比,该方法的优点是使儿童的卵巢或睾丸接触的辐射更少。但是,放射性核素膀胱造影对监测返流痊愈远比对诊断有用,因为结构勾勒效果不如排尿期膀胱尿道造影。

在另一种核扫描中,放射性物质(称为二巯基丁二酸或 DMSA)被注射入静脉并进入肾脏。由为肾脏内部拍照的特殊的照相机检测该物质。DMSA 扫描可用于确认肾盂肾炎的诊断并鉴定肾脏瘢痕形成。它对于患有重度尿路感染或某些细菌引起的尿路感染的儿童最有用。

血液化验

对尿液检查结果不能确诊的儿童进行血液检查和确定是否存在炎症的检查(C 反应蛋白和红细胞沉降率),或进行这些检查帮助医生诊断肾脏感染(除膀胱感染外)。

在患有尿路感染的婴儿以及病情严重的 1-2 岁以上儿童中进行血液培养。

预后

接受适当治疗的儿童很少会出现肾衰竭(肾脏无法从血液中充分过滤掉代谢废物),除非他们患有无法修复的尿路异常。但是,反复尿路感染,特别是在患有重度 VUR 的儿童中,会引起肾脏瘢痕形成,这可能导致高血压和慢性肾脏疾病。

预防

良好的卫生习惯有助于预防尿路感染,但该病的完全预防则十分困难。应教导女孩在排便和排尿后从前向后擦拭(而不是从后向前擦拭),以最大程度地减少细菌进入尿道开口的机会。经常坐浴会在一定程度上损伤尿道口周围的皮肤,从而增加感染的危险。男孩包皮环切术降低了婴儿期尿路感染的风险。包皮环切的男孩尿路感染的频率仅为未接受包皮环切的男孩的 1/10,但是尚不清楚这种优势本身是否足以作为进行包皮环切的原因。定期排尿和定期排便(特别是对重度便秘的治疗)可能会减少尿路感染的风险。

治疗

  • 抗生素

  • 有时需要进行手术

泌尿系感染应使用抗生素治疗。病情较重的儿童或初步检查结果提示泌尿系感染者,在培养结果出来前即可给予抗生素治疗。否则,医生将等待培养结果以确诊尿路感染。病情严重的儿童和所有新生儿需肌肉或静脉注射抗生素。其他儿童可口服抗生素。治疗一般持续 7 到 14 天。对于为了诊断结构异常而需进行检查的儿童,他们经常会继续以较低剂量进行抗生素治疗,直到检查完成。

一些存在泌尿道结构异常的儿童需要进行手术以纠正此问题。其他儿童需要每日服用抗生素以预防感染。患重度 VUR 的儿童通常需要手术,并且在手术之前需要服用抗生素。VUR 病情不重的儿童会接受严密监测,并可能被给予抗生素治疗。

某些轻度至中度 VUR 患者无需治疗即可好转。

注: 此为家庭版。 医生: 点击此处进入专业版
点击此处进入专业版
获得

其他感兴趣资源

视频

查看全部
糖尿病
视频
糖尿病
在消化过程中,大部分吃下的食物会转换为葡萄糖,通常称为血糖。葡萄糖在血流中循环,并用作机体细胞的养料。但是细胞自身无法吸收葡萄糖。胰腺中生成的称为胰岛素的激素必须首先结合至细胞表面...
哮喘
视频
哮喘
哮喘,又称反应性气道疾病,是一种因支气管发炎导致呼吸受限的慢性疾病。支气管是肺部的大气道。哮喘发生于 3-5% 的成人和 7-10% 的儿童。重度哮喘发作每年可导致数以万计的死亡。...

最新

顶部

Not Found
Locations

Find information on medical topics, symptoms, drugs, procedures, news and more, written in everyday language.

* This is the Consumer Version. *

Urinary Tract Infection (UTI) in Children

By Geoffrey A. Weinberg, MD, Golisano Children’s Hospital, University of Rochester Medical Center;University of Rochester School of Medicine and Dentistry

A urinary tract infection is a bacterial infection of the urinary bladder ( cystitis), the kidneys ( pyelonephritis), or both.

  • Urinary tract infections are caused by a bacterial infection.

  • Newborns and infants may have no symptoms other than a fever, whereas older children have pain or burning during urination, pain in the bladder region, and a need to urinate frequently.

  • The diagnosis is based on an examination and culture of the urine.

  • Proper hygiene may help prevent urinary tract infections.

  • Antibiotics are given to eliminate the infection.

Urinary tract infections (UTIs) are common in childhood. Nearly all UTIs are caused by bacteria that enter the opening of the urethra (the tube that drains urine from the bladder out of the body) and move upward to the urinary bladder and sometimes the kidneys. Rarely, in severe infections, bacteria may enter the bloodstream from the kidneys and cause infection of the bloodstream (sepsis) or of other organs.

During infancy, boys are more likely to develop urinary tract infections. After infancy, girls are much more likely to develop them. UTIs are more common among girls because their short urethras make it easier for bacteria to move up the urinary tract. Uncircumcised infant boys (because bacteria tend to accumulate under the foreskin) and young children with severe constipation (because severe constipation also interferes with normal passage of urine) also are more prone to UTIs.

Did You Know...

  • Severe constipation may lead to urinary tract infections in children.

UTIs in older school-aged children and adolescents differ little from UTIs in adults (see Overview of Urinary Tract Infections). Younger infants and children who have UTIs, however, more commonly have various structural abnormalities of their urinary system that make them more susceptible to urinary infection. These abnormalities include vesicoureteral reflux (VUR), which is an abnormality of the ureters (the tubes connecting the kidneys to the bladder) that allows urine to pass backward from the bladder up to the kidney), and a number of conditions that block the flow of urine. As many as 50% of newborns and infants with a UTI and 20 to 30% of school-aged children with a UTI have such abnormalities.

Up to 50% of infants and preschool children with a UTI—particularly those with fever—have both bladder and kidney infections. If the kidney is infected and reflux is severe, 5 to 20% of children go on to have some scarring of the kidneys. If there is little or no reflux, very few children have scarring of the kidneys. Scarring is a concern because it may lead to high blood pressure and impaired kidney function in adulthood.

Symptoms

Newborns with a UTI may have no symptoms other than a fever. Sometimes they do not eat well or grow well, are sluggish (lethargic), vomit, or have diarrhea. Newborns may develop an overwhelming bodywide infection ( sepsis) from a UTI.

Infants and children under age 2 years with a UTI may have fever, vomiting, diarrhea, abdominal pain, or foul-smelling urine.

Children over age 2 years with a UTI usually have the typical symptoms of a bladder or kidney infection similar to adults.

Children with bladder infections (cystitis) usually have pain or burning during urination, a need to urinate frequently and urgently, and pain in the bladder region. They may have difficulty urinating or holding urine ( urinary incontinence). Urine may smell foul.

Children with kidney infections (pyelonephritis) typically have pain in the side or back over the affected kidney, high fever, chills, and a general feeling of illness (malaise).

Children who have urinary tract abnormalities may have a mass in the abdomen, enlarged kidneys, an abnormal opening to the urethra, or possible deformities in the lower spine. Children who do not have a forceful stream of urine may have a blockage in one of the tubes that transports urine from the kidneys to the bladder (ureters) or may not be able to control their bladder because of a nerve problem.

Did You Know...

  • Urinary tract infections in infants and young children may have very different symptoms and causes than those in adults.

Diagnosis

  • Urine tests

  • Imaging of the urinary tract

  • Sometimes blood tests

Urine tests

A doctor diagnoses a UTI by examining the urine ( urinalysis) and sending it for a urine culture to grow any bacteria present.

Toilet-trained children may provide a urine sample by using the clean-catch method. In this method, the opening of the urethra is cleansed with a small pad that contains an antiseptic. Then the child urinates a small amount of urine into the toilet, washing out the urethra. Children then stop urinating in the toilet and continue urinating into a sterile cup.

Doctors obtain urine from younger children and infants by inserting a thin, flexible, sterile tube (catheter) through the urethral opening into the bladder. This process is called catheterization.

In some newborn and infant boys, the foreskin is too tight to be pulled back over the head of the penis, blocking the urethral opening, so the doctor needs to withdraw urine from the bladder with a needle inserted through the skin just above the pubic bone.

Sometimes doctors tape a urine drainage bag to the area between the genitals and the anus to collect urine for other tests. Urine collected in this manner is not useful for the diagnosis of UTI because it is contaminated with bacteria and other material from the skin.

A UTI increases levels of white blood cells and bacteria in the urine. To detect these white blood cells and bacteria, the laboratory technician examines the urine under a microscope and does several chemical tests. The technician also does a culture of the urine to grow and identify any bacteria present. The culture is the most important of these tests.

Imaging tests

Many structural abnormalities of the urinary system are diagnosed during routine prenatal ultrasonography. Sometimes, however, children have abnormalities that cannot be seen during prenatal ultrasonography. Therefore, boys of all ages and girls younger than 3 years who develop even a single UTI usually need further tests to look for structural abnormalities of the urinary system. Older girls who have had recurring UTIs also need these tests.

The tests include

  • Ultrasonography of the kidneys and bladder

  • Possibly voiding cystourethrography (VCUG)

  • Sometimes radionuclide cystography (RNC) or radionuclide kidney scans

Ultrasonography is done to identify abnormalities and blockages of the kidneys and bladder.

Voiding cystourethrography may be done to further identify abnormalities of the kidneys, ureters, and bladder and can identify when the flow of urine is partially reversed (reflux). For voiding cystourethrography, a catheter is passed through the urethra into the bladder, a dye is instilled through the catheter, and x-rays are taken before and after the child urinates.

Radionuclide cystography is similar to voiding cystourethrography except that a radioactive agent is placed in the bladder and images are taken using a nuclear scanner. This procedure exposes the child's ovaries or testes to less radiation than voiding cystourethrography. However, radionuclide cystography is much more useful for monitoring the healing of reflux than for diagnosing it, because the structures are not outlined as well as in voiding cystourethrography.

In another type of nuclear scanning, a radioactive substance (called dimercaptosuccinic acid or DMSA) is injected into a vein and enters the kidneys. The substance is detected by special cameras that take pictures of the insides of the kidneys. DMSA scanning may be used to confirm the diagnosis of pyelonephritis and identify scarring of the kidneys. It is most useful for children with severe UTIs or UTIs caused by certain bacteria.

Blood tests

Blood tests and tests that determine whether inflammation is present (C-reactive protein and erythrocyte sedimentation rate) are done in children whose urine tests results do not confirm a diagnosis, or are done to help doctors diagnose a kidney infection in addition to a bladder infection.

Blood cultures are done in infants who have a UTI and in children over age 1 to 2 years who are very ill.

Prognosis

Children who receive proper treatment rarely develop kidney failure (the inability of the kidneys to adequately filter metabolic waste products from the blood) unless they have urinary tract abnormalities that cannot be repaired. However, repeated UTIs, especially in children who have severe VUR, are thought to cause kidney scarring, which may lead to high blood pressure and chronic kidney disease.

Prevention

Prevention of UTIs is difficult, but proper hygiene may help. Girls should be taught to wipe themselves from front to back (as opposed to back to front) after a bowel movement and after urinating to minimize the chance of bacteria entering the urethral opening. Avoiding frequent bubble baths, which may irritate the skin around the urethral opening of both boys and girls, may help lessen the risk of UTIs. Circumcision of boys lowers their risk of UTIs during infancy. Boys who are circumcised are infected with UTIs only 1/10th as often as boys who are not circumcised, but it is not clear whether this advantage by itself is a sufficient reason for circumcision. Regular urination and regular bowel movements (especially treatment of severe constipation) may lessen the risk of UTIs.

Treatment

  • Antibiotics

  • Sometimes surgery

UTIs are treated with antibiotics. Children who appear very ill or whose initial test results suggest a UTI are given antibiotics before culture results are available. Otherwise, doctors wait for culture results to confirm the diagnosis of UTI. Children who are very ill and all newborns receive antibiotics by injection into either a muscle (intramuscularly) or a vein (intravenously). Other children are given antibiotics by mouth. Treatment typically lasts 7 to 14 days. Children who require tests to diagnose structural abnormalities often continue antibiotic treatment at a lower dose until tests are complete.

Some children with structural abnormalities of the urinary tract require surgery to correct the problem. Others need to take antibiotics daily to prevent infection. Children who have severe VUR usually need surgery and need to take antibiotics until the surgery is done. Children who have VUR that is not severe are monitored closely and may be given antibiotics.

Certain cases of mild to moderate VUR resolve without treatment.

Resources In This Article

* This is the Consumer Version. *