默沙东 诊疗手册

欢迎来到默沙东诊疗手册专业版医讯网站 本网站旨在为医药专业人员提供在线服务,如果您不是医药专业人员,建议您退出网站,登录默沙东中国官方网站了解相关信息。默沙东诊疗手册网站将对所有注册用户信息进行验证,医药专业人员必须接受并遵守用户协议条款才能使用本网站。如注册人员信息没能通过验证,默沙东诊疗手册网站有权终止该用户使用本网站的权利,在本网站每一网页下方均有链接功能,您可随时通过链接浏览用户使用协议条款与网站保护政策。

加载中

酒精所致疾病和康复

作者:

Gerald F. O’Malley

, DO, Grand Strand Regional Medical Center;


Rika O’Malley

, MD, Albert Einstein Medical Center

最后一次全面审校/修订者 3月 2018| 内容末次修改日期 3月 2018
点击此处 进行患者培训
主题资源

(也可参考 酒精毒性和戒断.)

酒精所致疾病涉及饮酒类型,通常包括根据不良心理后果显示出的渴求和耐受性和/或戒断的表现。酗酒和滥用酒精是常见的用语,但不太严格的定义泛指那些饮酒导致疾病的人。

酒精所致疾病是相当普遍的。据估计,在任何12个月期间,美国成年人中此病的发生率为13.9%。患病率在年轻人中最高,随年龄增长而下降。18岁~29岁的人群中,12个月的酒精使用障碍患病率估计为26.7%(1), 其中重度酒精使用障碍患病率为7.1%,而≥65岁的患者中12个月的患病率仅为2.3%。

危险饮酒定义为饮酒的频率或剂量达到以下条件:

  • >男性每周大于14次饮酒或每次饮酒4份

  • >女性每周大于7次饮酒或每次饮酒3份

低于该剂量的话,发生躯体和心理并发症的风险就大大降低。

参考文献

  • Grant BF, Goldstein RB, Saha T, et al:Epidemiology of DSM-5 alcohol use disorder results from the National Epidemiologic Survey on Alcohol and Related Conditions III.(DSM-5中酒精使用障碍的流行病学调查结果,来自国家酒精和相关疾病的流行病学调查III)JAMA PsychiatryBiol Psychiatry 3(8):705-711, 1992.doi: 10.1001/jamapsychiatry.2015.0584.

病原学

构成酗酒的不良模式可能始于追求达到兴奋状态的渴望。一些饮酒者有过这种感觉经历后转而追求多次达到该状态。许多酒精长期滥用者具有某些性格特征:隔离、孤独、胆怯、抑郁症、依赖、敌意和自我毁灭的冲动,以及性不成熟。

酗酒者常来自破裂的家庭,与父母感情不佳。一些社会因素,如文化对饮酒的态度和孩子抚养方式,也会影响饮酒的方式和相关行为。在美国,酒精使用障碍在男性、白人、未婚者和某些非白人族群(如美国原住民)中更为常见。然而,这些因素并不排除酒精所致疾病也可以发生在任何其他人之可能,不管他们的年龄、性别、背景、种族或社会阶层。因此,临床医生应筛查所有患者的酗酒问题。

基因因素

遗传因素的风险方差高达40%至60%。酗酒者生育的孩子中酗酒发生率比酗酒者领养的孩子要高,而且那些孩子中有不良饮酒嗜好的百分率也较普通人群要高。遗传学和生物学的研究结果也证明此点,数据显示成为酗酒者的人不容易喝醉,因为他们的中枢神经耐受性要比普通人强些。

症状和体征

通常会出现严重的社会后果。患者反复醉酒,由于社会行为和工作能力损害导致无法工作和与人交往。伤病是常见的现象。最终可能会导致失败的社会关系,以及因为旷工造成的失业。

因为酒精相关的反复不良行为被逮捕或者被涉嫌酒后驾车,患者往往失去驾驶权;在美国大多数州,驾驶测量时最大合法血液酒精含量(BAC是80毫克/分升(0.08%),该水平在将来可能还要减少。

诊断

  • 临床评估

  • 筛查

精神疾病诊断与统计手册,第五版 (DSM-5)认为,如果患者有以下显著的临床障碍或窘迫表现≥2,并且持续超过12个月,可以考虑诊断为酒精所致疾病:

  • 饮酒的数量和时间超出预期

  • 持续渴望饮酒,或尝试减少饮用酒精不成功

  • 大量时间花在找酒、饮酒和从酒醉中恢复

  • 酒精渴求

  • 因为饮酒,多次未能满足在工作、家庭或学校的责任

  • 尽管有因为饮酒引发的社会或人际关系问题,仍然继续使用酒精

  • 因为饮酒而放弃重要的社会责任、工作或者娱乐活动

  • 在身体健康受损的情况下仍然饮用酒精

  • 尽管酒精会导致身体疾病(如肝脏疾病)或精神障碍(如抑郁症),仍然继续饮酒

  • 存在酒精耐受

  • 酒精戒断 症状或因戒断而饮酒(戒断性饮酒)

筛查

当患者为自己的饮酒或明显的与饮酒相关的疾病(如震颤谵妄肝硬化)寻求医学帮助时,酒相关问题才得以诊断。但多数人在此之前并没有意识到自己的问题。总体而言,女性多为单独饮酒,较少引起社会问题。因此,许多政府和专业机构在常规的健康体检时进行饮酒问题筛查。

一项评估量表(见 饮酒问题的筛查等级)用以筛查需要进一评估的患者,有多种量表可以选择。几个验证详细的调查问卷是可用的,包括AUDIT(酒精使用障碍鉴定测试)和CAGE questionnaire.CAGE问卷调查。

表格
icon

饮酒问题的筛查等级

筛查等级

使用标准

筛查技术

1

仅一个问题符合

既往3个月,任何一次饮酒中大于5份*酒

2

如果时间允许所有饮酒的患者都应询问

等级1回答“是”的患者

  • 平均而言,每周有多少天饮酒?

  • 通常情况下,你会喝多少?

  • 上个月特定情况下你最多喝了多少?

3

等级2中筛查出有饮酒相关问题(如男性每周大于14次饮酒或每次饮酒4份,女性每周大于77次饮酒或每次饮酒3份)

临床医生怀疑患者故意缩小饮酒量

10项问题的酒使用障碍鉴别量表(Alcohol Use Disorders Identification Test, AUDIT†)

*1份酒相当于12盎司啤酒、5盎司葡萄酒或1.5盎司蒸馏酒

改编自Fleming MF: Screening and brief intervention in primary care settings.可见 National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA)网站。

治疗

  • 康复计划

  • 门诊患者咨询

  • 自助团体

  • 考虑用药(如,纳曲酮、戒酒硫、阿坎酸)

所有的患者都应就将饮酒量降到低于危险水平而去咨询。

高危饮酒者在进行简单的医学和社会状况评估后应推荐接受一定的干预(见 饮酒问题的简明干预措施)以减少饮酒量或停饮。

表格
icon

饮酒问题的简明干预措施

干预级别

使用标准

简明干预技巧

1

筛查结果显示需要干预但时间有限

简单告知患者已经饮酒过量,有出现相关问题之虞;建议患者减少饮酒或完全戒酒

2

尚无需转诊专科;完全停饮并非必需

TrEAT计划(早期酒问题临床处理计划):间隔1个月的2次面对面个人访谈,每次访谈2周后电话随访

3

患者存在酒滥用和依赖的症状;必须完全停饮

增加戒酒动机,转诊专科医生

存在严重问题的患者,特别是一般措施戒酒无效时,推荐使用康复计划。康复计划包括心理治疗(一对一和团体治疗)和躯体情况的监测。数患者门诊康复即可,康复的时间因人而异,通常几周到数月,需要时也可以延长。

住院康复计划用于严重的酒依赖患者以及伴有躯体疾病或其他精神活性物质依赖的患者。与门诊患者相比,治疗时间通常比较短(2周左右),并且根据患者的医保情况。

心理治疗包括激发戒酒的动机以及教会患者怎样避免受环境的影响而沉迷于饮酒。戒酒的社会支持,包括家庭和亲友的支持也非常重要。

维持治疗

维持戒酒状态很困难。几周后患者必须接受警告,否则当他从最后一次戒断状态中恢复过来,很可能找借口再次饮酒。必须告诫患者需要控制自己几天内或几周内不能饮酒,但通常患者最终仍然会失去自控开始饮酒。

除了为门诊患者提供咨询,为住院患者提供戒酒计划,对某些患者而言自我帮助的团体和某些药物有助于预防复发。

匿名戒酒会(AA)会让戒酒者受益匪浅。戒酒者必须找到一个让自己感到自在舒服的AA团体。AA为戒酒者提供可信赖的支持者和一个无酒精的环境。当戒酒者入会的时候还会听到其他成员的坦白和忏悔。给予其他成员帮助同时也是给自己鼓励和信心。不同于其他国家,在美国,AA还包括大批非自愿的会员,他们通常是法院或政府强制的。替代组织,如 LifeRing Secular Recovery (追求清醒的世俗组织),收容寻求其他方法的患者。

药物治疗必须与心理治疗相结合,而不作为单一的治疗方法。National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism(NIAAA)在医疗管理和药物治疗酒精向卫生保健工作者和患者提供指南guide for clinicians 与其他 American Psychiatric Association—一些出版物和资源。

戒酒硫,是第一个用来预防酒依赖复发的药物,它可以干扰乙醛酶(酒精氧化过程的一种中间产物)的代谢,使乙醛积聚。饮酒12小时内服用戒酒硫可以引起面部发红,5~15分钟起效,继而面部和颈部血管强烈扩张、球结膜充血、头部跳痛、心动过速、过度换气和大量出汗。大量饮酒30~60分钟后还可能引起恶心呕吐并导致血压升高、眩晕,有时甚至发生晕厥和虚脱。这些反应可持续近3小时。少数病人会因为戒酒硫引起的不适反应而冒险饮酒。此外避免使用含有酒精的药物(例如酊剂;西也剂;一些OTC感冒药,其中含有40%的乙醇)。

禁忌证为怀孕和心肺功能不全。门诊病人停止饮酒4~5天后给予基础剂量:0.5g口服,每天1次,持续1~3周。维持剂量为0.25g,口服,每天1次。最后一剂药效可维持3~7天。在戒酒过程中,定期身体检查也是加强用药所必需的。

戒酒硫的实际疗效目前还没有确立,一些患者依从性较差。提高依从性的方法是加强社会支持,如加强饮酒的监管。因此,戒酒硫的使用现在受到限制。对于那些高动机有严密监管的患者戒酒硫疗效较好。

纳曲酮, 一种阿片类拮抗剂可以降低多数长期饮酒者的复饮率和饮酒天数。尽管有证据表明高剂量(例如,100毫克,一次/天)可以在一些患者中更有效,纳曲酮的常规剂量为50mg口服一次/天。口服纳曲酮的依从率是理想的。长效剂型:380毫克次/月,肌注。急性肝炎、肝功能衰竭以及阿片依赖是纳曲酮的禁忌证。

阿坎酸, γ-氨基丁酸的合成类似物,口服剂量2g一次/天。阿坎酸可以降低复发患者的复发率和饮酒天数。

纳美芬(一种阿片类拮抗剂)以及托吡酯对于抑制饮酒渴求的作用正在研究中。

更多信息

点击此处 进行患者培训
注: 此为专业版。 家庭用户: 点击此处进入家庭版
获得

其他感兴趣资源

视频

查看全部
如何适应和使用拐杖
视频
如何适应和使用拐杖

最新

顶部

Not Found
Locations

Find information on medical topics, symptoms, drugs, procedures, news and more, written for the health care professional.

* This is the Professional Version. *

Alcohol Use Disorders and Rehabilitation

By Gerald F. O’Malley, DO, Thomas Jefferson University and Hospital ; Rika O’Malley, MD

Click here for
Patient Education

Alcohol use disorder involves a pattern of alcohol use that typically includes craving and manifestations of tolerance and/or withdrawal along with adverse psychosocial consequences. Alcoholism and alcohol abuse are common but less rigorously defined terms applied to people with problems related to alcohol.

Alcohol use disorder is quite common. It is estimated to be present in 8.5% of adults in the US in any 12-mo period. Among people age 18 to 29 yr, estimated 12-mo prevalence is 16.2%.

At-risk drinking is defined solely by quantity and frequency of drinking:

  • > 14 drinks/wk or 4 drinks per occasion for men

  • > 7 drinks/wk or 3 drinks per occasion for women

Compared with lesser amounts, these amounts are associated with increased risk of a wide variety of medical and psychosocial complications.

Etiology

The maladaptive pattern of drinking that constitutes alcohol abuse may begin with a desire to reach a state of feeling high. Some drinkers who find the feeling rewarding then focus on repeatedly reaching that state. Many who abuse alcohol chronically have certain personality traits: feelings of isolation, loneliness, shyness, depression, dependency, hostile and self-destructive impulsivity, and sexual immaturity.

Alcoholics may come from a broken home and have a disturbed relationship with their family. Societal factors—attitudes transmitted through the culture or child rearing—affect patterns of drinking and consequent behavior. However, such generalizations should not obscure the fact that alcohol use disorders can occur in anyone, regardless of their age, sex, background, ethnicity, or social situation. Thus, clinicians should screen for alcohol problems in all patients.

Genetic factors

As much as 40 to 60% of risk variance is thought to be due to genetic factors. The incidence of alcohol abuse and dependence is higher in biologic children of people with alcohol problems than in adoptive children, and the percentage of biologic children of alcoholics who are problem drinkers is greater than that of the general population. There is evidence of genetic or biochemical predisposition, including data that suggest some people who become alcoholics are less easily intoxicated; ie, they have a higher threshold for CNS effects.

Symptoms and Signs

Serious social consequences usually occur. Frequent intoxication is obvious and destructive; it interferes with the ability to socialize and work. Injuries are common. Eventually, failed relationships and job loss due to absenteeism may result.

People may be arrested because of alcohol-related behavior or be apprehended for driving while intoxicated, often losing driving privileges for repeated offenses; in most US states, the maximum legal blood alcohol concentration (BAC) while driving is 80 mg/dL (0.08%), and this level is likely to be reduced in the future.

Diagnosis

  • Clinical evaluation

  • Screening

The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition (DSM-5) considers alcohol use disorder to be present if patients have clinically significant impairment or distress as manifested by the presence of ≥ 2 of the following over a 12-mo period:

  • Taking alcohol in larger amounts or for a longer time than intended

  • Persistently desiring or unsuccessfully attempting to decrease alcohol use

  • Spending a great deal of time obtaining, using, or recovering from alcohol

  • Craving alcohol

  • Failing repeatedly to meet obligations at work, home, or school because of alcohol

  • Continuing to use alcohol despite having recurrent social or interpersonal problems because of alcohol

  • Giving up important social, work, or recreational activities because of alcohol

  • Using alcohol in physically hazardous situations

  • Continuing to use alcohol despite having a physical (eg, liver disease) or mental disorder (eg, depression) caused or worsened by alcohol

  • Having tolerance to alcohol

  • Having alcohol withdrawal symptoms or drinking alcohol because of withdrawal

Screening

Some alcohol-related problems are diagnosed when people seek medical treatment for their drinking or for obvious alcohol-related illness (eg, delirium tremens, cirrhosis). However, many of these people remain unrecognized for a long time. Female alcoholics are, in general, more likely to drink alone and are less likely to manifest some of the social signs. Therefore, many governmental and professional organizations recommend alcohol screening during routine health care visits.

A scaled approach (see Levels of Screening for Alcohol Problems) can help identify patients who require more detailed questioning. Several validated detailed questionnaires are available, including the AUDIT (Alcohol Use Disorders Identification Test) and the CAGE questionnaire.

Levels of Screening for Alcohol Problems

Screening Level

Criteria for Use

Screening Technique

1

If only one question is possible

On any single occasion during the past 3 mo, have you had > 5 drinks* containing alcohol?

2

For all patients who report drinking alcohol if time allows

or

For patients who respond “yes” to a level 1 screening question

  • On average, how many days per week do you drink alcohol?

  • On a typical day when you drink, how many drinks do you have?

  • What is the maximum number of drinks you had on any given day in the past month?

3

If level 2 screening identifies risk of alcohol-related problems (ie, for men, > 14 drinks/wk or 4 drinks/day; for women, > 7 drinks/wk or 3 drinks/day)

or

If the clinician suspects that patients are minimizing their alcohol use

The 10-question Alcohol Use Disorders Identification Test (AUDIT)

*A drink is defined as 12 oz of beer, 5 oz of wine, or 1.5 oz of distilled spirits.

Adapted from Fleming MF: Screening and brief intervention in primary care settings. Available at the National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA) web site.

Treatment

  • Rehabilitation programs

  • Outpatient counseling

  • Self-help groups

  • Consideration of drugs (eg, naltrexone, disulfiram, acamprosate)

All patients should be counseled to decrease their alcohol use to below at-risk levels.

For patients identified as at-risk drinkers, treatment may begin with a brief discussion of the medical and social consequences and a recommendation to reduce or cease drinking, with follow-up regarding compliance (see Brief Interventions for Alcohol Problems).

Brief Interventions for Alcohol Problems

Intervention Level

Criteria for Use

Brief Intervention Technique

1

If screening results determine that intervention is necessary but time is limited

Simply stating concern that the patient’s drinking exceeds recommended limits and could lead to alcohol-related problems; recommending that the patient minimize or stop drinking

2

If referral to a specialist is not necessary; if abstinence is not necessarily the goal

Project TrEAT (Trial for Early Alcohol Treatment) protocol: 2 brief face-to-face sessions scheduled 1 mo apart, with a follow-up telephone call 2 wk after each session

3

If the patient has symptoms of alcohol abuse or dependence; if abstinence is the primary goal

Motivational enhancement; referral to a specialist

For patients with more serious problems, particularly after less intensive measures have been unsuccessful, a rehabilitation program is often the best approach. Rehabilitation programs combine psychotherapy, including one-on-one and group therapy, with medical supervision. For most patients, outpatient rehabilitation is sufficient; how long patients remain enrolled in programs varies, typically weeks to months, but longer if needed.

Inpatient rehabilitation programs are reserved for patients with more severe alcohol dependence and those with significant and comorbid medical, psychoactive, and substance abuse problems. Treatment duration is usually briefer (typically days to weeks) than that of outpatient programs and may be dictated in part by patients’ insurance.

Psychotherapy involves techniques that enhance motivation and teach patients to avoid circumstances that precipitate drinking. Social support of abstinence, including the support of family and friends, is important.

Maintenance

Maintaining sobriety is difficult. Patients should be warned that after a few weeks, when they have recovered from their last bout, they are likely to find an excuse to drink. They should also be told that although they may be able to practice controlled drinking for a few days or, rarely, a few weeks, they will most likely lose control eventually.

In addition to the counseling provided in outpatient and inpatient alcohol treatment programs, self-help groups and certain drugs may help prevent relapse in some patients.

Alcoholics Anonymous (AA) is the most common self-help group. Patients must find an AA group they feel comfortable in. AA provides patients with nondrinking friends who are always available and a nondrinking environment in which to socialize. Patients also hear others discuss every rationalization they have ever used for their own drinking. The help they give other alcoholics may give them the self-regard and confidence formerly found only in alcohol. Many alcoholics are reluctant to go to AA and find individual counseling or group or family treatment more acceptable. Alternative organizations, such as LifeRing Secular Recovery (Secular Organizations for Sobriety), exist for patients seeking another approach.

Drug therapy should be used with counseling rather than as sole treatment. The National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA) provides a guide for clinicians on medical management and pharmacotherapy for alcohol dependence along with a number of other publications and resources for both health care practitioners and patients.

Disulfiram, the first drug available to prevent relapse in alcohol dependence, interferes with the metabolism of acetaldehyde (an intermediary product in the oxidation of alcohol) so that acetaldehyde accumulates. Drinking alcohol within 12 h of taking disulfiram causes facial flushing in 5 to 15 min, then intense vasodilation of the face and neck with suffusion of the conjunctivae, throbbing headache, tachycardia, hyperpnea, and sweating. With high doses of alcohol, nausea and vomiting may follow in 30 to 60 min and may lead to hypotension, dizziness, and sometimes fainting and collapse. The reaction can last up to 3 h. Few patients risk drinking alcohol while taking disulfiram because of the intense discomfort. Drugs that contain alcohol (eg, tinctures; elixirs; some OTC liquid cough and cold preparations, which contain as much as 40% alcohol) must also be avoided.

Disulfiram is contraindicated during pregnancy and in patients with cardiac decompensation. It may be given on an outpatient basis after 4 or 5 days of abstinence. The initial dosage is 0.5 g po once/day for 1 to 3 wk, followed by a maintenance dosage of 0.25 g once/day. Effects may persist for 3 to 7 days after the last dose. Periodic physician visits are needed to encourage continuation of disulfiram as part of an abstinence program.

Disulfiram’s general usefulness has not been established, and many patients are nonadherent. Adherence usually requires adequate social support, such as observation of drinking. For these reasons, use of disulfiram is now limited. Disulfiram is most effective when given under close supervision to highly motivated patients.

Naltrexone, an opioid antagonist, decreases the relapse rate and number of drinking days in most patients who take it consistently. Naltrexone 50 mg po once/day is typically given, although there is evidence that higher doses (eg, 100 mg once/day) may be more effective in some patients. Even with counseling, adherence rates with oral naltrexone are modest. A long-acting depot form is also available: 380 mg IM once/mo. Naltrexone is contraindicated in patients with acute hepatitis or liver failure and in those who are opioid dependent.

Acamprosate, a synthetic analogue of gamma-aminobutyric acid, is given as 2 g po once/day. Acamprosate may decrease the relapse rate and number of drinking days in patients who relapse.

Nalmefene, an opioid antagonist, and topiramate are under study for their ability to decrease alcohol craving.

More Information

Resources In This Article

* This is the Professional Version. *