默沙东 诊疗手册

欢迎来到默沙东诊疗手册专业版医讯网站 本网站旨在为医药专业人员提供在线服务,如果您不是医药专业人员,建议您退出网站,登录默沙东中国官方网站了解相关信息。默沙东诊疗手册网站将对所有注册用户信息进行验证,医药专业人员必须接受并遵守用户协议条款才能使用本网站。如注册人员信息没能通过验证,默沙东诊疗手册网站有权终止该用户使用本网站的权利,在本网站每一网页下方均有链接功能,您可随时通过链接浏览用户使用协议条款与网站保护政策。

加载中

唐氏综合征(21-三体)

(唐氏综合征;G三体)

作者:

Nina N. Powell-Hamilton

, MD, Sidney Kimmel Medical College at Thomas Jefferson University

最后一次全面审校/修订者 3月 2016| 内容末次修改日期 5月 2016
点击此处 进行患者培训
注: 此为专业版。 家庭用户: 点击此处进入家庭版
主题资源

唐氏综合征是由21染色体异常引起,可导致 智力低下、小头、身材矮小及特殊面貌。根据特殊的体格表现和智能落后考虑诊断,确诊需进行细胞遗传学分析。根据特殊表现和畸形给予相应的治疗。

唐氏综合征在活产婴儿中的发病率为1/700,随着母亲年龄增大而风险亦随之增高。母亲年龄〈20岁,发病率为1/2000,母亲年龄 35岁,发病率为1/365,母亲年龄〉40岁,发病率可增加到1/100。但大多数唐氏综合征是由年轻母亲所生,大多数孕育唐氏综合征儿童的母亲年龄<35岁,仅20%的唐氏综合征由>35岁母亲所生。

病因

95%的唐氏综合征病例,多一条21号染色,这条额外的染色体几乎均来自母亲。这样的人有47条染色体。

余下的患有唐氏综合症的人群中,有5%有46条染色体的正常计数,但有一个额外的21号染色体易位到另一个染色体(这种异常的染色体在数目统计上仍然只计为1)。

最常见的染色体易位是t(14;21),即外加的21号染色体附着到14号染色体上。约1/2病例患有t(14:21)异位,父母均为正常核型,患儿染色体为新发易位。另外约1/2病例,尽管母亲表型正常,但其染色体仅为45条,其中一条染色体为t(14;21)。理论上,母亲携带者出生唐氏综合征患儿的比例为1∶3,但由于未知原因,实际的比例为1∶10,父亲携带者引起唐氏综合征患儿的比例为1∶20。如果父亲是携带者,风险仅为1:20。

下一个最常见的易位为t(21; 22)。在这些病例中,母亲携带者有1∶10几率出生唐氏综合征患儿,父亲的几率要低许多。

21q21q易位染色体,额外的21号染色体附于另一个21号染色体,这种情况很少见。确定父母是否是21q21q易位的携带者,或嵌合体,(嵌合体有一些正常细胞和某些含有与21q21q易位的45个染色体的细胞)是特别重要的。在这种情况下,染色体异位的携带者的每一个后代或者是唐氏综合征,或者是21单体(后者通常是不能存活的)。如果父亲是嵌合体,虽然这些人也可能有染色体正常的后代,但是风险是相似的。

唐氏综合征嵌合体 据推测是在胚胎期细胞分裂时染色体未分离所致(染色体未能分离进入单独的细胞内)。唐氏综合征嵌合体有两种细胞株,一株为46对染色体,一株有47对染色体,其中包含有额外的21号染色体。患者智力的预后并发症的风险,可能与不同组织内的21三体的比例有关,包括大脑。然而,在实践中,风险是无法预测的,这是因为,无法明确身体内每一个细胞的基因型。有些唐氏综合征嵌合体的临床体征十分轻微,智力可能是正常的;但是,即使是在不可检测的嵌合体人群中,其临床特征的差别也是很大的。在21三体综合征中,嵌合型的发病率尚不明确,如果父母生殖细胞有21-三体嵌合型,生产第二个患儿的几率就会大大增加。

病理生理

大多数情况下,唐氏综合征是由于染色体不平衡所导致的结果,唐氏综合征影响多个系统,并导致人体结构和功能的缺陷( 唐氏综合征的一些并发症*)。并不是所有的缺陷都存在于每个人。

表格
icon

唐氏综合征的一些并发症*

系统

缺陷

心脏

先天性心脏疾病,最常见的是室间隔缺损VSD和房室通道

二尖瓣脱垂主动脉瓣关闭不全(成人更为常见)风险增加

中枢神经系统

认知功能障碍(轻度到重度)

运动和语言发育迟缓

自闭症行为

胃肠道

十二指肠闭锁或狭窄

内分泌

糖尿病

EENT

眼耳鼻喉科,眼科疾病(如先天性白内障、青光眼、斜视、屈光不正)

听力损失

中耳炎的发生率增加

生长

身材矮小

肥胖

血液系统

血小板减少症

新生儿红细胞增多症

暂发性骨髓增生异常

急性巨核细胞白血病

肌肉骨骼

骨骼寰枢椎和寰枕不稳

关节松弛

*不是所有的并发症都存在于一个给定的患者,但与未受影响的人口相比,发病率增加。

AV=房室;EENT=眼睛,耳朵,鼻子和喉咙;VSD=室间隔缺损

大多数受累患者都有一定程度的认知功能障碍,分为严重的(IQ 20~35)轻度的(IQ50~75)。在生命的早期,粗动作和语言延误也明显存在。身高通常降低,并且该人肥胖的风险增加。约50%的受累新生儿患有先天性心脏病;最常见的是室间隔缺损和房室管缺陷(心内膜垫)。大约有5%的受累患者有胃肠道异常,特别是十二指肠闭锁,有时伴有环状胰腺。先天性巨结肠症和腹腔疾病也较常见。很多人发生了内分泌疾病,包括甲状腺疾病(最常见的甲状腺功能减退症)和糖尿病。寰枕和寰枢椎肥大,以及颈椎骨异常,可引起寰枕,颈椎不稳,可能会导致无力和瘫痪。大约有60%的人眼睛有问题,包括先天性白内障,青光眼,斜视,屈光不正。大多数人有听力损失和耳部感染是很常见的。

唐氏综合征患儿衰老较快,平均死亡年龄为49岁,也有许多可达到50或60岁。平均预期寿命约为55岁;然而,最近,一些受累患者已经活到他们的70多岁和80多岁。预期寿命降低的主要原因是心脏疾病,感染及急性髓细胞性白血病是其次的原因。许多患儿在年轻时就表现出 阿尔默茨综合征 的危险度增高,尸检发现唐氏综合征成人的脑部有显微改变。最近的研究结果表明,患有唐氏综合症的黑人比白人大大缩短寿命。该发现或许是较差的医疗、教育和其他支持性服务的结果。

唐氏综合征妇女有50%几率其胎儿也患有唐氏综合征。但是,许多受累的胎儿易于自发流产。唐氏综合征男性,除了嵌合体外,多不育。

症状和体征

一般状况

唐氏综合征的新生儿较安静,很少哭,肌肉松弛。多数患者有平坦的面部轮廓(特别是扁平的鼻梁),但某些患者在出生时并不具有明显的异常特性,然后在婴儿期逐渐出现更为明显的面部特征。较为常见的特征是扁平的枕部,小头畸形,围绕颈部后的额外皮肤。眼睛都向上倾斜,并且通常有内角内眦褶皱。可见布鲁什菲尔德斑(虹膜周围存在类似于盐沉积的灰色至百色的斑点)。常张口,沟裂舌,舌外伸,沟舌无中央沟。耳朵往往小而圆。

该手短而宽,往往有一个猿痕(单一手掌折痕)。手指常是短的,伴有指弯曲(内侧弯曲),第五指常常只有2节指骨。第一和第二脚趾之间的间距可能较大,足底沟经常向后延伸。手及脚均显示特征性的皮纹。

生长和发育

当唐氏综合征患儿长大后,其体格及智力发育迟缓会越来越明显。身材矮小,平均智商为50。提示 注意力缺陷/多动症 的行为常出现在儿童期,自闭症行为的发生率增加(特别是严重 智力残疾的儿童)。抑郁症常见于儿童和成人。

心脏症状

心脏疾病的症状是由心脏畸形的类型和程度的。婴幼儿 室间隔缺损 可以是无症状或是具有心脏衰竭的迹象(例如,呼吸困难,呼吸频率快,喂养困难,盗汗,体重增加)。根据缺陷的大小不同,可能会出现的高频率,2/6或大声的收缩期杂音。房室管缺陷的婴儿最初可以出现心脏衰竭的迹象或症状。特征性的心脏杂音包括第二声音内容广泛固定分裂。杂音可能不能识别,但是,可能有许多不同的杂音。

消化系统表现

婴幼儿先天性巨结肠症通常有胎粪排出延迟,出生后48小时。严重感染的婴儿可能有肠梗阻的迹象(例如,胆汁性呕吐、不排便、腹胀)。十二指肠闭锁或狭窄,可以是明显的胆汁性呕吐或没有症状,视狭窄的程度而定。

诊断

  • 产前绒毛取样和/或羊膜穿刺术有核型分析和/或染色体微阵列分析

  • 新生儿染色体核型分析(如果没有进行产前核型分析)

胎儿期可应用胎儿产前超声检测到发育异常(颈部透明带增加)可确诊唐氏综合征,或根据在出生后前三个月末浓度异常的血浆蛋白A,以及α-甲胎蛋白,β-HCG(人绒毛膜促性腺激素),在早期的第二个三个月(15〜16周妊娠)母血筛检时的未结合雌三醇和抑制素。最近,无创产前筛查(NIPS),来自母体循环中获得的胎儿DNA的检测,已经成为21三体筛查选项。

如果孕妇血清筛查试验或超声检查可疑唐氏综合征,推荐进行胎儿或新生儿确认性检测。确认性检测方法包括绒毛取样和/或羊膜穿刺术,进行核型分析和/或染色体微阵列分析(CMA)的检测。尤其在筛选结果不确定或不明确的情况下,需要进行确认性检测;对于年轻女性,NIPS的阳性预测值较低;诊断其他胎儿染色体异常。管理决策,包括终止妊娠,不应该仅仅依据于NIPS检查结果。核型分析也可用于诊断相关的易位,由此家长可以收到有关复发的风险的适当遗传咨询。

不论产妇年龄多大,都推荐对所有怀孕前20周,正在进行产前保健的妊娠产妇,进行唐氏综合征的孕妇血清筛查和诊断测试。

妇产科委员会的美国大学遗传学和协会母胎医学委员会意见,非整倍体的高危人群建议行无细胞胎儿DNA检测。在高危患者包括孕妇年龄≥35年,以及胎儿超声检查结果表明风险增加的情况下。委员会建议,无细胞胎儿DNA不会取代产前绒毛取样或羊膜穿刺术的准确性和诊断精确度。

如果在出生前没有做出诊断,那么出生后根据异常的体格发育及核型分析确诊。

伴随的疾病

某些特定年龄的常规筛查有助于确定唐氏综合症相关的状况(参见2011美国儿科学会指南唐氏综合症儿童的健康监测):

  • 超声心动图:在产前检查或分娩时

  • 甲状腺筛查(促甲状腺激素[TSH]水平)——出生时,6个月,12个月进行,而且此后每年进行1次

  • 听力评估——出生时,每6个月1次直至听力正常(四岁),直至3岁,以后每年进行1次

  • 眼科评价——6个月时进行,接着每年一次直至5岁;接着每2年一次直至13岁,接着每3年一次直至21岁(如有指征,可更频繁地评估)

  • 生长:身高,体重和头围,在健康管理就诊时,使用唐氏综合征的生长散点图绘制

  • 阻塞性睡眠呼吸暂停的评估需在4岁前完成。

不再推荐进行寰枢椎不稳和乳糜泻常规筛查。基于临床怀疑对儿童进行检测,并建议有着颈部疼痛,根性痛,虚弱,或任何其他神经症状病史的患者接受检测,建议脊髓病患者行中间位颈椎的x线检测;如果没有可疑的异常,应该在弯曲位和伸展位进行X线检测。

治疗

  • 需治疗的特殊表现

  • 遗传咨询

目前无根治方法治疗策略视所出现的特殊临床表现而定。某些先天性心脏畸形需要外科手术纠治。甲状腺功能减退需甲状腺激素替代治疗。

护理还应包括家庭 遗传咨询 ,社会支持和适合智力功能的水平教育节目( 智力障碍)。

关键点

  • 唐氏综合征包括额外的21号染色体,后者是一条独立的染色体,或者是易位至另一个染色体。

  • 基于胎儿超声检查异常(例如,颈部半透明带增加),第一孕期晚期的母体血的无细胞胎儿DNA分析,或是母体多标记物筛查血清蛋白A水平;第二孕期晚期的α胎蛋白,β-人绒毛膜促性腺激素(测试版绒毛膜促性腺激素),游离雌三醇,可以在产前就怀疑该诊断。

  • 应在第一孕期利用绒毛膜取样行染色体微阵列分析(CMA)或核型分析,在第二孕期行羊膜腔穿刺术,或出生后由血液样品的细胞遗传学测试来确认。

  • 预期寿命的降低主要归因于心脏疾病,次要原因是由于易于患有感染,急性髓细胞性白血病,和早发性阿尔茨海默病。

  • 做好常规年龄特异的筛查,检测相关的疾病(例如,心脏畸形,甲状腺功能减退症)。

  • 对症治疗,并提供社会和教育的支持及遗传咨询。

更多信息

点击此处 进行患者培训
注: 此为专业版。 家庭用户: 点击此处进入家庭版
获得

其他感兴趣资源

视频

查看全部
如何给男婴或小孩导尿
视频
如何给男婴或小孩导尿
如何进行新生儿复苏
视频
如何进行新生儿复苏

最新

顶部

Not Found

Find information on medical topics, symptoms, drugs, procedures, news and more, written for the health care professional.

* This is the Professional Version. *

Down Syndrome (Trisomy 21)

(Down's Syndrome; Trisomy G)

By Nina N. Powell-Hamilton, MD, FAAP, FACMG

Click here for
Patient Education

Down syndrome is an anomaly of chromosome 21 that can cause intellectual disability, microcephaly, short stature, and characteristic facies. Diagnosis is suggested by physical anomalies and abnormal development and confirmed by cytogenetic analysis. Treatment depends on specific manifestations and anomalies.

Overall incidence among live births is about 1/700, but the risk increases with increasing maternal age. At 20 yr of maternal age, the risk is 1/2000 births; at 35, it is 1/365; and at 40, it is 1/100. However, because most births occur among younger women, the majority of children with Down syndrome are born to women < 35 yr; only about 20% of infants with Down syndrome are born to mothers > 35 yr.


In about 95% of cases, there is an extra whole chromosome 21 (trisomy 21), which is almost always maternally derived. Such people have 47 chromosomes.

The remaining 5% of people with Down syndrome have the normal count of 46 chromosomes but have an extra chromosome 21 translocated to another chromosome (the resulting abnormal chromosome is still counted only as 1).

The most common translocation is t(14;21), in which a piece of an additional chromosome 21 is attached to chromosome 14. In about half of people with the t(14;21) translocation, both parents have normal karyotypes, indicating a de novo translocation. In the other half, one parent (almost always the mother), although phenotypically normal, has only 45 chromosomes, one of which is t(14;21). Theoretically, the chance that a carrier mother will have a child with Down syndrome is 1:3, but the actual risk is lower (about 1:10). If the father is the carrier, the risk is only 1:20.

The next most common translocation is t(21;22). In these cases, carrier mothers have about a 1:10 risk of having a child with Down syndrome; the risk is smaller for carrier fathers.

A 21q21q translocation chromosome, which occurs when the extra chromosome 21 is attached to another chromosome 21, is much less common. It is particularly important to determine whether a parent is a carrier of, or mosaic for, translocation 21q21q (such mosaics have some normal cells and some 45 chromosome cells with the 21q21q translocation). In such cases, each offspring of a carrier of the translocation will either have Down syndrome or monosomy 21 (the latter is not typically compatible with life). If the parent is mosaic, the risk is similar, although these people may also have offspring with normal chromosomes.

Down syndrome mosaicism presumably results from nondisjunction (when chromosomes fail to pass to separate cells) during cell division in the embryo. People with mosaic Down syndrome have two cell lines, one with the normal 46 chromosomes and another with 47 chromosomes, including an extra chromosome 21. The prognosis for intelligence and risk of medical complications probably depends on the proportion of trisomy 21 cells in each different tissue, including the brain. However, in practice, risk cannot be predicted because it is not feasible to determine the karyotype in every single cell in the body. Some people with mosaic Down syndrome have very subtle clinical signs and may have normal intelligence; however, even people with no detectable mosaicism can have very variable findings. If a parent has germline mosaicism for trisomy 21, an increased risk exists for a second affected child.


As with most conditions that result from chromosome imbalance, Down syndrome affects multiple systems and causes both structural and functional defects (see Table: Some Complications of Down Syndrome*). Not all defects are present in each person.

Some Complications of Down Syndrome*




Congenital heart disease, most often VSD and AV canal

Increased risk of mitral valve prolapse and aortic regurgitation (more frequently seen in adults)


Cognitive impairment (mild to severe)

Motor and language delay

Autistic behavior


Duodenal atresia or stenosis




Ophthalmic disorders (eg, congenital cataracts, glaucoma, strabismus, refractive errors)

Hearing loss

Increased incidence of otitis media


Short stature




Neonatal polycythemia

Transient myelodysplastic disorder

Acute megakaryoblastic leukemia


Atlantoaxial and atlanto-occipital instability

Joint laxity

*Not all complications are present in a given patient, but incidence is increased compared with unaffected population.

AV =atrioventricular; EENT = eyes, ears, nose, and throat; VSD = ventricular septal defect.

Most affected people have some degree of cognitive impairment, ranging from severe (IQ 20 to 35) to mild (IQ 50 to 75). Gross motor and language delays also are evident early in life. Height is often reduced, and there is an increased risk of obesity. About 50% of affected neonates have congenital heart disease; ventricular septal defect and atrioventricular canal (endocardial cushion) defect are most common. About 5% of affected people have GI anomalies, particularly duodenal atresia, sometimes along with annular pancreas. Hirschsprung disease and celiac disease also are more common. Many people develop endocrinopathies, including thyroid disease (most often hypothyroidism) and diabetes. Atlanto-occipital and atlantoaxial hypermobility, as well as bony anomalies of the cervical spine, can cause atlanto-occipital and cervical instability; weakness and paralysis may result. About 60% of people have eye problems, including congenital cataracts, glaucoma, strabismus, and refractive errors. Most people have hearing loss, and ear infections are very common.

The aging process seems to be accelerated. The average life expectancy is about 55 yr; however, more recently, some affected people have been living into their 70s and 80s. Life expectancy is decreased primarily by heart disease and, to a lesser degree, by increased susceptibility to infections and acute myelogenous leukemia. There is an increased risk of Alzheimer disease at an early age, and at autopsy, brains of adults with Down syndrome show typical microscopic findings. The results of recent research indicate that blacks with Down syndrome have a substantially shorter life span than whites. This finding may be the result of poor access to medical, educational, and other support services.

Affected women have a 50% chance of having a fetus that also has Down syndrome. However, many affected fetuses abort spontaneously. Men with Down syndrome are infertile, except for those with mosaicism.

Symptoms and Signs

General appearance

Affected neonates tend to be placid, rarely cry, and have hypotonia. Most have a flat facial profile (particularly flattening of the bridge of the nose), but some do not have obviously unusual physical characteristics at birth and then develop more noticeable characteristic facial features during infancy. A flattened occiput, microcephaly, and extra skin around the back of the neck are common. The eyes are slanted upward, and epicanthal folds at the inner corners usually are present. Brushfield spots (gray to white spots resembling grains of salt around the periphery of the iris) may be visible. The mouth is often held open with a protruding, furrowed tongue that lacks the central fissure. The ears are often small and rounded.

The hands are short and broad and often have a simian crease (a single, palmar crease). The fingers are often short, with clinodactyly (incurving) of the 5th digit, which often has only 2 phalanges. The feet may have a wide gap between the 1st and 2nd toes, and a plantar furrow often extends backward on the foot. Hands and feet show characteristic dermatoglyphics.

Growth and development

As affected children grow, delay of physical and mental development quickly becomes apparent. Stature is short, and the mean IQ is about 50. Behavior suggestive of attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder is often present in childhood, and the incidence of autistic behavior is increased (particularly in children with profound intellectual disability). Depression is common among children and adults.

Cardiac manifestations

Symptoms of heart disease are determined by the type and extent of the cardiac anomaly. Infants with ventricular septal defects can either be asymptomatic or show signs of heart failure (eg, labored breathing, fast respiratory rate, difficulty with feeding, sweating, poor weight gain). A high-frequency, 2/6 or louder systolic murmur may be present depending on the size of the defect. Infants with atrioventricular canal defects can show signs of heart failure or be asymptomatic initially. Characteristic heart sounds include a wide fixed splitting of the second sound. Murmurs may not be appreciated; however, a number of different murmurs are possible.

GI manifestations

Infants with Hirschsprung disease usually have delay in passage of meconium for 48 h after birth. Severely affected infants may have signs of intestinal obstruction (eg, bilious vomiting, failure to pass stool, abdominal distention). Duodenal atresia or stenosis can manifest with bilious vomiting or with no symptoms, depending on the extent of the stenosis.


  • Prenatal chorionic villus sampling and/or amniocentesis with karyotype analysis and/or chromosomal microarray analysis

  • Neonatal karyotype analysis (if prenatal karyotype analysis not done)

Diagnosis of Down syndrome may be suspected prenatally based on physical anomalies detected by fetal ultrasonography (eg, increased nuchal translucency) or based on abnormal levels of plasma protein A in late 1st trimester and alpha-fetoprotein, beta-hCG (human chorionic gonadotropin), unconjugated estriol, and inhibin in early 2nd trimester (15 to 16 wk gestation) on maternal serum screening. More recently, noninvasive prenatal screening (NIPS), in which fetal DNA obtained from the maternal circulation is tested, has become a screening option for trisomy 21.

If Down syndrome was suspected based on maternal serum screening tests or ultrasonography, fetal or neonatal confirmatory testing is recommended. Confirmatory methods include chorionic villus sampling and/or amniocentesis with testing by karyotype analysis and/or chromosomal microarray analysis (CMA). Confirmatory testing is done particularly in cases where the screening result is indeterminate or unclear; in younger women, in whom the positive predictive value of NIPS is lower; and to diagnose other fetal chromosomal disorders. Management decisions, including termination of pregnancy, should not be made based on NIPS testing alone. Karyotyping can also be used to diagnose an associated translocation so parents can receive appropriate genetic counseling regarding recurrence risk.

Maternal serum screening and diagnostic testing for Down syndrome are recommended for all women who present for prenatal care before 20 wk gestation regardless of maternal age.

The American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists Committee on Genetics and the Society for Maternal–Fetal Medicine committee opinion advises that cell-free fetal DNA testing be offered to patients at increased risk of aneuploidy. At-risk patients include women ≥ 35 yr and in cases where fetal ultrasonographic findings indicate an increased risk. The committee advises that cell-free fetal DNA does not replace the accuracy and diagnostic precision of prenatal diagnosis with chorionic villus sampling or amniocentesis.

If diagnosis is not made prenatally, then neonatal diagnosis is based on physical anomalies and confirmed by cytogenetic testing.

Concomitant medical conditions

Certain age-specific routine screening helps identify conditions associated with Down syndrome (see the 2011 American Academy of Pediatrics Guidelines Health Supervision for Children with Down Syndrome ):

  • Echocardiography: At prenatal visit or at birth

  • Thyroid screening (thyroid-stimulating hormone [TSH] levels): At birth, 6 mo, 12 mo, and annually thereafter

  • Hearing evaluations: At birth, every 6 mo thereafter until normal hearing established (about age 4 yr), then annually

  • Ophthalmology evaluation: By 6 mo, then annually until age 5; then every 2 yr until age 13 and every 3 yr until age 21 (more frequently as indicated)

  • Growth: Height, weight, and head circumference plotted at each health supervision visit using a Down syndrome growth chart

  • Evaluation for obstructive sleep apnea completed by age 4 yr

Routine screening for atlantoaxial instability and celiac disease is no longer recommended. Children are tested based on clinical suspicion, and it is recommended that patients with a history of neck pain, radicular pain, weakness, or any other neurologic symptoms that suggest myelopathy have x-rays of the cervical spine in the neutral position; if no suspicious abnormalities are seen, they should have x-rays done in flexion and extension positions.


  • Specific manifestations treated

  • Genetic counseling

The underlying disorder cannot be cured. Management depends on specific manifestations. Some congenital cardiac anomalies are repaired surgically. Hypothyroidism is treated with thyroid hormone replacement.

Care should also include genetic counseling for the family, social support, and educational programming appropriate for the level of intellectual functioning (see Intellectual Disability).

Key Points

  • Down syndrome involves an extra chromosome 21, either a separate chromosome or a translocation onto another chromosome.

  • Diagnosis may be suspected prenatally based on anomalies detected by fetal ultrasonography (eg, increased nuchal translucency) or based on cell-free fetal DNA analysis of maternal blood or maternal multiple marker screening for levels of plasma protein A in late 1st trimester and levels of alpha-fetoprotein, beta-human chorionic gonadotropin (beta-hCG), unconjugated estriol, and inhibin in early 2nd trimester.

  • Diagnosis should be confirmed by karyotype analysis, or chromosomal microarray analysis (CMA) from chorionic villus sampling in the 1st trimester or amniocentesis in the 2nd trimester, or postnatally by cytogenetic testing of a blood sample.

  • Life expectancy is decreased primarily by heart disease and, to a lesser degree, by increased susceptibility to infections, acute myelocytic leukemia, and early-onset Alzheimer disease.

  • Do routine age-specific screening to detect associated medical conditions (eg, cardiac anomalies, hypothyroidism).

  • Treat specific manifestations, and provide social and educational support and genetic counseling.

More Information

Resources In This Article

* This is the Professional Version. *