默沙东 诊疗手册

欢迎来到默沙东诊疗手册专业版医讯网站 本网站旨在为医药专业人员提供在线服务,如果您不是医药专业人员,建议您退出网站,登录默沙东中国官方网站了解相关信息。默沙东诊疗手册网站将对所有注册用户信息进行验证,医药专业人员必须接受并遵守用户协议条款才能使用本网站。如注册人员信息没能通过验证,默沙东诊疗手册网站有权终止该用户使用本网站的权利,在本网站每一网页下方均有链接功能,您可随时通过链接浏览用户使用协议条款与网站保护政策。

honeypot link

如何评估脑神经

作者:

George Newman

, MD, PhD, Albert Einstein Medical Center

最后一次全面审校/修订者 2月 2018| 内容末次修改日期 2月 2018
点击此处 进行患者培训
主题资源

第一对颅神经

嗅觉功能由第一对颅神经(嗅神经)支配。嗅觉检查一般只在脑外伤、前颅窝病变(如脑膜瘤)或患者主诉闻到异常气味时进行。

将一些有气味的物品(如肥皂、咖啡、丁香)分别置于患者的左、右侧鼻孔,同时堵住另一侧鼻孔,让患者辨别。而酒精、氨水等刺激性物品,通常仅用于检查患者第五对颅神经(三叉神经)的功能,所以在这里仅用于判断患者是否诈病。

第Ⅱ对脑神经

第II对颅神经(视神经)的检查主要包括:用Snellen表测远视力及手持式视力表测近视力,测试时需把其中的一个眼睛遮住,分别测两个眼睛的视力。

色觉测试时让病人辨认标准假等色板上由点组成的特定颜色的字母或数字。

视野测试时,检查者和患者面对面,从而粗略的判断患者四个象限的视野的异常。另外需检查患者瞳孔的直接和间接对光反射。还需要进行眼底镜检查

第3、第4、第6对颅神经

检查第3(动眼)、第4(滑车)、第6对(外展)颅神经,观察眼球运动的对称性、眼球位置、睑裂的不对称性或下垂(上睑下垂)、是否有眼球或眼睑的抽搐或跳动。检查这些神经控制的眼外肌运动:要求患者注视并跟踪一个移动目标(如检查者的手指、笔形灯),从中位至所有四个象限(越过中线)并朝向鼻尖;该检查可以检测眼肌的眼球震颤和麻痹。短暂的轻微振幅的眼球震颤在终末侧向凝视时是正常的。

在光线昏暗的房间里应注意瞳孔大小的差异。测试瞳孔对光反射的对称性和快速性。

第5对颅神经

对于第5对脑神经(三叉神经),用针刺法检测3个感觉分区(眼周、上颌骨、下颌骨)以评估面部感觉,将一缕棉絮轻触角膜下部或外侧角膜以评估角膜反射。如果患者存在面部感觉减退或消失,则需进一步检查其下颌角的感觉情况,如果该区域感觉(由C2脊神经根支配)保留,则说明三叉神经受损。由面肌无力(第VII对颅神经麻痹)引起的瞬目减少需与角膜反射减退或消失鉴别,后者在隐形眼镜佩戴者中非常常见。面肌无力者即使有瞬目减少,其双侧的面部感觉是正常的。

检测三叉神经运动功能的方法:患者咬紧牙关时触诊咀嚼肌,并要求患者张开嘴抵抗阻力。若一侧翼状肌较弱,张开嘴时下颌就会偏向该侧。

第VII对颅神经

第7对颅神经(面神经)通过检测有无半侧面肌无力来评估。在病人说话,尤其是微笑时,面肌运动的不对称会比较明显;对于神志不清的病人,给予疼痛刺激使其做出痛苦表情时也会比较明显。面瘫的一侧,鼻唇沟比另一侧浅,睑裂比另一侧宽。如果患者只有下面部的无力(即皱额及闭目正常),则说明面神经的损害是中枢性的。

检查患者舌前2/3味觉时,分别把蘸有甜、酸、咸、苦味的液体的棉花棒置于患者一侧的舌部,然后是另一侧,让患者辨别。

听觉过敏提示镫骨肌无力,可通过振动音叉靠近耳边检测。

第Ⅷ脑神经

由于第VIII对颅神经(前庭蜗神经、听神经)支配前庭平衡觉及听觉的传入,故该对脑神经的检查包括

听力 首先在只耳朵上进行测试,方法是在堵住另一只耳朵的同时低语。如怀疑有听力损伤则应进行正式的 听力测试来确认,并帮助区分传导性耳聋和感音神经性耳聋。可在床旁行韦伯和林纳测试 以区分两者,但需有专业设备,否则检查难以有效执行。

前庭功能可以通过眼球震颤检查来评估。前庭性眼震的存在及特征(如方向、持续时间、诱发因素)有助于确诊前庭疾病,并且有时可用来区分中枢性和外周性眩晕。前庭性眼球震颤分为两种类型:

  • 前庭输入受损引起的慢相偏斜

  • 快速的、矫正性的,导致相反方向的偏斜(称为跳动型)

由于快相便于观察,故将快相所指的方向作为眼震的方向。眼震的方向可为旋转性、垂直性或水平性,可以是自发性的,也可是凝视性或头位运动引起。

当试图区分中枢和外周眩晕的原因时,以下指南是可靠的,应在发作时就考虑:

  • 单侧听力丧失没有中枢性原因,因为周围神经进入脑桥时,来自两耳的外周感觉输入几乎是瞬间结合的。

  • 外周病灶不会引起中枢性体征。如果中枢神经系统征(例如小脑性共济失调)与眩晕同时出现,则定位化几乎可以确定为中枢。

下列情况下使用眼震试验评估眩晕特别有用:

  • 患者在检查过程中出现眩晕时

  • 患者有急性前庭综合征时

  • 当患者有发作性、体位性眩晕时

如果患者在检查时出现急性眩晕, 检查过程中的眼球震颤通常很明显。但是,注视可以抑制眼球震颤。在这种情况下,要求患者佩戴+30屈光度或Frenzel镜片以防止注视,以便观察到眼球震颤(如果有的话)。帮助区分这些患者是中枢性或外周性眩晕的线索有:

  • 如果眼球震颤在患者注视时缺如,而佩戴Frenzel镜片后出现,则可能是外周性眩晕。

  • 如果眼球震颤改变方向(如注视方向改变时,眼球震颤从一侧转向另一侧),则可能是中枢性的。但是,缺乏这一发现并不排除中枢原因。

如果眼球震颤是周围性的,那么眼睛就会远离功能失调的一侧。

评估急性前庭综合征患者时 (严重眩晕迅速发作,恶心呕吐,自发性眼球震颤和姿势不稳定),甩头试验可帮助区分中枢性眩晕和周围性眩晕。病人坐着时,检查员稳定病人头部,并要求病人专注于检查者鼻子等物体。然后检查员突然将患者头部迅速地向左或向右转动约20°。通常,眼睛保持对焦(通过前庭眼反射)。其他临床结果解释如下:

  • 如果眼睛暂时离开物体,然后前额矫正眼震使眼睛返回到物体,则眼球震颤可能是周围性的(如前庭神经炎)。一侧前庭器官功能紊乱。头部转向越快,矫正眼震越明显。

  • 如果眼睛集中在物体上,不需要纠正眼震,则眼球震颤可能是中枢性的(如小脑卒中)。

当眩晕是发作性的并因头位改变诱发,采用Dix-Hallpike(或Barany)手法检测移位的耳石对后半规管的阻塞(即良性阵发性位置性眩晕[BPPV])。这项检查要求病人端坐在检查台上。患者迅速向后仰卧至仰卧位,头部在水平面以下(在检查台的边缘上)45°,并向一侧(例如,向右侧)旋转45°。观察眼震的方向和持续时间,以及有无眩晕。患者恢复直坐姿势,重复该操作并旋转到另一侧。继发于BPPV的眼球震颤具有以下近乎特征性的特点:

  • 潜伏期5~10秒

  • 通常当眼震快相转离受影响的耳朵时呈垂直(向上跳动)的眼球震颤;当眼睛转向受影响的耳朵时呈旋转式眼球震颤

  • 重复Dix-Hallpike手法后会出现疲劳性眼球震颤

相反,与CNS功能障碍有关的位置性眩晕和眼球震颤没有潜伏期并且不会疲劳。

双侧均可进行Epley管手法复位,有助于确诊BPPV。如果患者有BPPV,在Epley操作后症状消失的概率很高(高达90%),重复Dix-Hallpike操作的结果将为阴性。

第9和第10对颅神经

第IX对颅神经(舌咽神经)和第X对颅神经(迷走神经)的检查通常是一起的。当患者说“啊”时,注意观察其软腭上抬是否对称。如果一侧麻痹,悬雍垂将抬离偏瘫侧。可用压舌板分别轻触患者的两侧咽后壁,评价患者的咽反射的对称情况。双侧咽反射消失在正常人中也很常见,所以可能没有病理意义。

对于意识不清、气管插管的病人,气管内吸痰正常情况下可以引发咳嗽。

如果患者存在声音嘶哑,则应做声带的检查。单纯的声音嘶哑(正常咽音和软腭升高)提示应寻找压迫喉返神经的病变(如纵隔淋巴瘤、主动脉瘤)。

第11对颅神经

第11对颅神经(脊副神经)的检查主要是通过其支配的肌肉来评估。

  • 胸锁乳突肌肌力检查时,让患者尽力向一侧转颈,检查者施以阻力,另一手触诊收缩的肌肉(转颈的对侧)。

  • 检查斜方肌肌力时,让患者用力克服检查者的阻力做耸肩动作。

第十二对颅神经

检查第XII对颅神经(舌下神经)时,让患者伸舌,检查者注意观察舌肌是否有萎缩、纤颤及偏斜(舌尖偏向病灶侧)。

点击此处 进行患者培训
注: 此为专业版。 家庭用户: 点击此处进入家庭版
获得

其他感兴趣资源

顶部

Not Found

Find information on medical topics, symptoms, drugs, procedures, news and more, written for the health care professional.

* This is the Professional Version. *

How to Assess the Cranial Nerves

By George Newman, MD, PhD

Click here for
Patient Education

1st Cranial nerve

Smell, a function of the 1st (olfactory) cranial nerve, is usually evaluated only after head trauma or when lesions of the anterior fossa (eg, meningioma) are suspected or patients report abnormal smell or taste.

The patient is asked to identify odors (eg, soap, coffee, cloves) presented to each nostril while the other nostril is occluded. Alcohol, ammonia, and other irritants, which test the nociceptive receptors of the 5th (trigeminal) cranial nerve, are used only when malingering is suspected.

2nd Cranial nerve

For the 2nd (optic) cranial nerve, visual acuity is tested using a Snellen chart for distance vision or a handheld chart for near vision; each eye is assessed individually, with the other eye covered.

Color perception is tested using standard pseudoisochromatic Ishihara or Hardy-Rand-Ritter plates that have numbers or figures embedded in a field of specifically colored dots.

Visual fields are tested by directed confrontation in all 4 visual quadrants. Direct and consensual pupillary responses are tested. Funduscopic examination is also done.

3rd, 4th, and 6th Cranial nerves

For the 3rd (ocolomotor), 4th (trochlear), and 6th (abducens) cranial nerves, eyes are observed for symmetry of movement, globe position, asymmetry or droop of the eyelids (ptosis), and twitches or flutters of globes or lids. Extraocular movements controlled by these nerves are tested by asking the patient to follow a moving target (eg, examiner’s finger, penlight) to all 4 quadrants (including across the midline) and toward the tip of the nose; this test can detect nystagmus and palsies of ocular muscles. Brief fine amplitude nystagmus at end-lateral gaze is normal.

Anisocoria or differences in pupillary size should be noted in a dimly lit room. The pupillary light response is tested for symmetry and briskness.

5th Cranial nerve

For the 5th (trigeminal) nerve, the 3 sensory divisions (ophthalmic, maxillary, mandibular) are evaluated by using a pinprick to test facial sensation and by brushing a wisp of cotton against the lower or lateral cornea to evaluate the corneal reflex. If facial sensation is lost, the angle of the jaw should be examined; sparing of this area (innervated by spinal root C2) suggests a trigeminal deficit. A weak blink due to facial weakness (eg, 7th cranial nerve paralysis) should be distinguished from depressed or absent corneal sensation, which is common in contact lens wearers. A patient with facial weakness feels the cotton wisp normally on both sides, even though blink is decreased.

Trigeminal motor function is tested by palpating the masseter muscles while the patient clenches the teeth and by asking the patient to open the mouth against resistance. If a pterygoid muscle is weak, the jaw deviates to that side when the mouth is opened.

7th Cranial nerve

The 7th (facial) cranial nerve is evaluated by checking for hemifacial weakness. Asymmetry of facial movements is often more obvious during spontaneous conversation, especially when the patient smiles or, if obtunded, grimaces at a noxious stimulus; on the weakened side, the nasolabial fold is depressed and the palpebral fissure is widened. If the patient has only lower facial weakness (ie, furrowing of the forehead and eye closure are preserved), etiology of 7th nerve weakness is central rather than peripheral.

Taste in the anterior two thirds of the tongue can be tested with sweet, sour, salty, and bitter solutions applied with a cotton swab first on one side of the tongue, then on the other.

Hyperacusis, indicating weakness of the stapedius muscle, may be detected with a vibrating tuning fork held next to the ear.

8th Cranial nerve

Because the 8th (vestibulocochlear, acoustic, auditory) cranial nerve carries auditory and vestibular input, evaluation involves

Hearing is first tested in each ear by whispering something while occluding the opposite ear. Any suspected loss should prompt formal audiologic testing to confirm findings and help differentiate conductive hearing loss from sensorineural hearing loss. The Weber and Rinne tests may be done at the bedside to attempt to differentiate the two, but they are difficult to do effectively except in specialized settings.

Vestibular function can be evaluated by testing for nystagmus. The presence and characteristics (eg, direction, duration, triggers) of nystagmus help identify vestibular disorders and sometimes differentiate central from peripheral vertigo. Vestibular nystagmus has 2 components:

  • A slow component caused by vestibular input

  • A quick, corrective component that causes movement in the opposite direction (called beating)

The direction of the nystagmus is defined by the direction of the quick component because it is easier to see. Nystagmus may be rotary, vertical, or horizontal and may occur spontaneously, with gaze, or with head motion.

When trying to differentiate central from peripheral causes of vertigo, the following guidelines are reliable and should be considered at the onset:

  • There are no central causes of unilateral hearing loss because peripheral sensory input from the 2 ears is combined virtually instantaneously as the peripheral nerves enter the pons.

  • There are no peripheral causes of CNS signs. If a CNS sign (eg cerebellar ataxia) appears at the same time as the vertigo, the localization is virtually certain to be central.

Evaluation of vertigo using nystagmus testing is particularly useful in the following situations:

  • When patients are having vertigo during the examination

  • When patients have acute vestibular syndrome

  • When patients have episodic, positional vertigo

If patients have acute vertigo during the examination, nystagmus is usually apparent during inspection. However, visual fixation can suppress nystagmus. In such cases, the patient is asked to wear +30 diopter or Frenzel lenses to prevent visual fixation so that nystagmus, if present, can be observed. Clues that help differentiate central from peripheral vertigo in these patients include the following:

  • If nystagmus is absent with visual fixation but present with Frenzel lenses, it is probably peripheral.

  • If nystagmus changes direction (eg, from one side to the other when, for example, when the direction of gaze changes), it is probably central. However, absence of this finding does not exclude central causes.

If nystagmus is peripheral, the eyes beat away from the dysfunctional side.

When evaluating patients with acute vestibular syndrome (rapid onset of severe vertigo, nausea and vomiting, spontaneous nystagmus, and postural instability), the most important maneuver to help differentiate central vertigo from peripheral vertigo is the head thrust maneuver. With the patient sitting, the examiner holds the patient's head and asks the patient to focus on an object, such as the examiner's nose. The examiner then suddenly and rapidly turns the patient's head about 20° to the right or left. Normally, the eyes stay focused on the object (via the vestibular ocular reflex). Other findings are interpreted as follows:

  • If the eyes temporarily move away from the object and then a frontal corrective saccade returns the eyes to the object, nystagmus is probably peripheral (eg, vestibular neuronitis). The vestibular apparatus on one side is dysfunctional. The faster the head is turned, the more obvious is the corrective saccade.

  • If the eyes stay focused on the object and there is no need for a corrective saccade, nystagmus is probably central (eg, cerebellar stroke).

When vertigo is episodic and provoked by positional change, the Dix-Hallpike (or Barany) maneuver is done to test the for obstruction of the posterior semicircular canal with displaced otoconial crystals (ie, for benign paroxysmal positional vertigo [BPPV]). In this maneuver, the patient sits upright on the examining table. The patient is rapidly lowered backward to a supine position with the head extended 45° below the horizontal plane (over the edge of the examining table) and rotated 45° to one side (eg, to the right side). Direction and duration of nystagmus and development of vertigo are noted. The patient is returned to an upright position, and the maneuver is repeated with rotation to the other side. Nystagmus secondary to BPPV has the following nearly pathognomic characteristics:

  • A latency period of 5 to 10 sec

  • Usually, vertical (upward-beating) nystagmus when the eyes are turned away from the affected ear and rotary nystagmus when the eyes are turned toward the affected ear

  • Nystagmus that fatigues when the Dix-Hallpike maneuver is repeated

In contrast, positional vertigo and nystagmus related to CNS dysfunction have no latency period and do not fatigue.

The Epley canalith repositioning maneuver can be done for both sides to help confirm the diagnosis of BPPV. If the patient has BPPV, there is a high probability (up to 90%) that the symptoms will disappear after the Epley maneuver, and results of a repeat Dix-Hallpike maneuver will then be negative.

9th and 10th Cranial nerves

The 9th (glossopharyngeal) and 10th (vagus) cranial nerves are usually evaluated together. Whether the palate elevates symmetrically when the patient says "ah" is noted. If one side is paretic, the uvula is lifted away from the paretic side. A tongue blade can be used to touch one side of the posterior pharynx, then the other, and symmetry of the gag reflex is observed; bilateral absence of the gag reflex is common among healthy people and may not be significant.

In an unresponsive, intubated patient, suctioning the endotracheal tube normally triggers coughing.

If hoarseness is noted, the vocal cords are inspected. Isolated hoarseness (with normal gag and palatal elevation) should prompt a search for lesions (eg, mediastinal lymphoma, aortic aneurysm) compressing the recurrent laryngeal nerve.

11th Cranial nerve

The 11th (spinal accessory) cranial nerve is evaluated by testing the muscles it supplies:

  • For the sternocleidomastoid, the patient is asked to turn the head against resistance supplied by the examiner’s hand while the examiner palpates the active muscle (opposite the turned head).

  • For the upper trapezius, the patient is asked to elevate the shoulders against resistance supplied by the examiner.

12th Cranial nerve

The 12th (hypoglossal) cranial nerve is evaluated by asking the patient to extend the tongue and inspecting it for atrophy, fasciculations, and weakness (deviation is toward the side of a lesion).

Resources In This Article

* This is the Professional Version. *