默沙东 诊疗手册

欢迎来到默沙东诊疗手册专业版医讯网站 本网站旨在为医药专业人员提供在线服务,如果您不是医药专业人员,建议您退出网站,登录默沙东中国官方网站了解相关信息。默沙东诊疗手册网站将对所有注册用户信息进行验证,医药专业人员必须接受并遵守用户协议条款才能使用本网站。如注册人员信息没能通过验证,默沙东诊疗手册网站有权终止该用户使用本网站的权利,在本网站每一网页下方均有链接功能,您可随时通过链接浏览用户使用协议条款与网站保护政策。

加载中

嗜酸性粒细胞增多症

作者:

Jane Liesveld

, MD, James P. Wilmot Cancer Institute, University of Rochester Medical Center;


Patrick Reagan

, MD, University of Rochester Medical Center

最后一次全面审校/修订者 11月 2016| 内容末次修改日期 11月 2016
点击此处 进行患者培训
主题资源

嗜酸性粒细胞增多的定义是外周血嗜酸性粒细胞计数>500/μl。病因和相关的疾病是多种多样的,但常提示过敏反应或寄生虫感染。诊断包括针对临床上的可疑原因进行筛查试验。应针对病因进行治疗。

嗜酸性粒细胞增多症具有免疫反应的特征:如Trichinella spiralis 可引起相当低水平的嗜酸性粒细胞反应;然而重复暴露可致增强或继发的嗜酸性粒细胞反应。肥大细胞和嗜碱粒细胞释放的一些化合物可引起IgE介导的嗜酸性粒细胞生成。这些物质包括过敏性嗜酸性粒细胞趋化因子、白三烯B4、补体复合物(C5-C6-C7)和组胺(浓度在小范围内波动)。

外周血嗜酸粒细胞增多的定义为

  • 轻度(500~1500/μL)

  • 中度(1500~5000/μL)

  • 重度(>5000/μL)

轻度嗜酸性粒细胞增多症不会引起症状,但≥1500/μL可能引起器官损害。由于组织炎症及对募集到组织的嗜酸性粒细胞以及免疫细胞释放的细胞因子和趋化因子的相应反应,常可发生器官损害。尽管任何器官均可受累,但主要影响心、肺、肝、脾、皮肤和神经系统(出现临床症状 高嗜酸性细胞综合征患者的异常表现)。偶见严重嗜酸性粒细胞增多的患者,(如嗜酸性粒细胞计数>100,000/μl),通常见于嗜酸性粒细胞性白血病,可因嗜酸性粒细胞形成聚合物堵塞小血管,引起组织缺血及微梗死,从而出现并发症([XRef])。典型的临床表现有脑或肺的低氧血症(如脑病、呼吸困难或呼吸衰竭)。

高嗜酸性粒细胞综合征以外周血嗜酸性粒细胞增多为特点,伴有与嗜酸性粒细胞增多相关的器官系统受累或功能异常的临床表现,且未发现寄生虫、过敏或其他引起嗜酸性粒细胞增多的原因。

病因

嗜酸性粒细胞增多可为

在美国最常见的病因

  • 过敏性/变应性疾病(主要是呼吸道和皮肤疾病)

其他常见的病因包括

  • 感染(特别是寄生虫)

  • 特定的肿瘤(血液系统或实体的,良性或恶性的)

几乎所有寄生虫侵袭组织均可引起嗜酸性粒细胞增多,然而原虫和非侵袭性后生生物常不引起嗜酸性粒细胞增多。

在造血系统肿瘤中,霍奇金淋巴瘤可引起明显的嗜酸性粒细胞增多,而非霍奇金淋巴瘤、慢性粒细胞白血病及急性淋巴细胞性白血病,嗜酸性粒细胞增多症较少见。

嗜酸性粒细胞综合征的肺浸润包括外周血嗜酸性粒细胞增多和嗜酸性粒细胞肺部浸润为特征的多种临床表现([XRef]),但常病因不明。

药物反应性嗜酸性粒细胞增多的患者可能没有症状,或有多种症状,包括间质性肾炎、血清病、胆汁淤积性黄疸、过敏性血管炎及免疫母细胞性淋巴细胞病。

嗜酸性粒细胞增多 - 肌痛综合征罕见;原因不明。然后,在1989年已报道有几百例因镇静或精神支持治疗而服用l-色氨酸后出现嗜酸性粒细胞-肌痛综合征的患者。这种综合征可能由污染物所致,而非l-色氨酸。症状包括严重的肌痛、腱鞘炎、肌肉水肿及皮疹可持续数周至数月,并可能导致死亡。

伴嗜酸性粒细胞增多和全身症状(DRESS)的药物反应是一种罕见的综合征,表现为发热、皮疹、嗜酸粒细胞增多、不典型淋巴细胞增多、淋巴结肿大及与终末器官受累相关(常为心脏,肺,脾,皮肤,神经系统)的症状和体征。

表格
icon

嗜酸性粒细胞增多相关的重要疾病和治疗

病因或相关疾病

例如

过敏性或特发性疾病

药物反应(如,抗生素或NSAIDs)

阵发性血管水肿伴嗜酸细胞增多

牛奶蛋白过敏

职业性肺病

结缔组织病、血管炎或肉芽肿性疾病(特别是累及肺布的疾病)

嗜酸性筋膜炎

特发性嗜酸性滑膜炎

炎性肠病

心肌梗死后综合征(Dressler 综合征)

进行性系统性硬化病(硬皮病)

内分泌疾病

肾上腺功能减低

免疫性疾病(常伴有湿疹)

先天性免疫缺陷综合征(如,IgA缺乏、高IgE综合征、Wiskott-Aldrich综合征)

骨髓增殖性疾病

急性或慢性嗜酸性粒细胞白血病

急性淋巴细胞白血病(特定类型)

非寄生虫感染

小儿衣原体肺炎

球孢子菌病(急性)

传染性淋巴细胞增多症

分枝杆菌病

寄生虫感染(特别是多细胞动物侵犯组织)

囊尾蚴病(猪肉绦虫Taenia solium引起)

丝虫病

卡式肺囊虫Pneumocystis jirovecii感染

皮肤疾病

天疱疮

肺部嗜酸性粒细胞浸润综合征

热带肺嗜酸性粒细胞增多症

肿瘤

与全身症状和自身免疫性溶血性贫血相关的血管免疫母细胞性T细胞淋巴瘤(以前称为血管免疫母细胞性淋巴结病伴异常蛋白血症或AILD)

肺、胰腺、结肠、子宫或卵巢癌或肉瘤

混合类型

肝硬化

家族性嗜酸性粒细胞增多症

腹膜透析

放疗

评估

可能的病因和相关的疾病有很多。应首先考虑常见的病因(如过敏,感染或肿瘤性疾病),但通常很难确诊,因此需要详细询问病史并进行全面的体格检查。

病史

最有帮助的问题多关于以下几点:

  • 旅行(提示可能的寄生虫暴露史)

  • 过敏史

  • 药物使用史

  • 中草药的使用和膳食补充,包括l-色氨酸

  • 全身症状(如,发热、消瘦、肌痛、关节痛、皮疹、淋巴结病)

全身症状可提示由轻度过敏反应或药物原因引起的可能性较小,应详细评估感染、肿瘤、结缔组织病或其他系统性疾病的可能。其他重要的病史包括血液病家族史及详细的系统回顾,包括过敏的症状,肺部、心脏、消化道和神经系统的功能障碍。

体格检查

全面的体格检查应关注心脏、皮肤、神经系统和呼吸系统。特定的体检发现可揭示病因或相关的疾病。包括皮疹(过敏性、皮肤性或血管性疾病),异常的肺部表现(哮喘、肺部感染或肺嗜酸性粒细胞浸润综合征),以及全身性淋巴结肿大或脾大(骨髓增殖性疾病或肿瘤)。

实验室检查

嗜酸性粒细胞增多症常因由于其它原因而行全血细胞计数后被发现。其他的检查通常包括:

  • 大便虫卵和寄生虫检查

  • 其他检查用来明确器官损害或根据临床发现明确特定病因

一般情况下,如果根据临床表现不怀疑是药物或过敏原因所致的,则至少需采集3次粪便样本进行虫卵和寄生虫检查;然而,阴性结果并不能排除寄生虫感染(如旋毛虫需肌肉活检;内脏蚴虫移行症和丝虫感染需要其他组织活检;而除外特殊寄生虫如类圆线虫则可能需要行十二指肠抽吸术)。

其他特殊的诊断检查应当根据临床表现来决定(特别是旅行史),可能包括胸部X线检查、尿液检查、肝肾功能检查以及针对寄生虫病和结缔组织病的血清学检查。如果患者有全身淋巴结肿大、脾肿大、或全身症状,应进行血液学检查。血清维生素B12增高或外周血涂片发现异常提示可能有骨髓增殖性疾病,骨髓穿刺、活检与细胞遗传学检查可能有助于诊断。若常规评估也未能明确病因,则应检查有无脏器损害。检查包括前面提及的检查,还有LDH、肝功能检查(提示肝脏损害或可能的骨髓增殖性疾病),超声心动图以及肺功能检查。一旦明确特定的病因,可能还需进行进一步检查。

治疗

  • 有时可使用糖皮质激素

使用糖皮质激素治疗高嗜酸性粒细胞综合征, 高嗜酸性粒细胞综合征 : 早期治疗

停用可引起嗜酸性粒细胞增多的药物。针对其他明确病因给予治疗。

如果没有发现病因,应对患者的并发症进行随访。如果嗜酸性粒细胞增多是继发性的(比如过敏、结缔组织病或寄生虫感染)而非原发性的,短暂给予小剂量糖皮质激素试验性治疗或可降低嗜酸性粒细胞数。如果在没有可处理的病因情况下,嗜酸性粒细胞持续或进行性增高,则应进行该试验。

点击此处 进行患者培训
注: 此为专业版。 家庭用户: 点击此处进入家庭版
获得

其他感兴趣资源

视频

查看全部
ADP受体概述
视频
ADP受体概述
ADP受体是血小板膜的整合蛋白。当与ADP结合时,它会引发纤维蛋白原受体的构象变化,使纤维蛋白原结合到受体上,以桥接的形式将血小板连接在一起,并作为凝血过程的一部分。
骨髓活检
视频
骨髓活检

最新

顶部

Not Found
Locations

Find information on medical topics, symptoms, drugs, procedures, news and more, written for the health care professional.

* This is the Professional Version. *

Eosinophilia

By Jane Liesveld, MD, University of Rochester ; Patrick Reagan, MD, University of Rochester Medical Center

Click here for
Patient Education

1 iOS Android

Eosinophilia is defined as a peripheral blood eosinophil count > 500/μL. Causes and associated disorders are myriad but often represent an allergic reaction or a parasitic infection. Diagnosis involves selective testing directed at clinically suspected causes. Treatment is directed at the cause.

Eosinophilia has features of an immune response: an agent such as Trichinella spiralis invokes a primary response with relatively low levels of eosinophils, whereas repeated exposures result in an augmented or secondary eosinophilic response. Several compounds released by mast cells and basophils induce IgE-mediated eosinophil production. Such substances include eosinophil chemotactic factor of anaphylaxis, leukotriene B4, complement complex (C5-C6-C7), and histamine (over a narrow range of concentration).

Peripheral eosinophilia is characterized as

  • Mild: 500 to 1500/μL

  • Moderate: 1500 to 5000/μL

  • Severe: > 5000/μL

Mild eosinophilia itself does not cause symptoms, but levels ≥1500/μL may cause organ damage. Organ damage typically occurs because of tissue inflammation and reaction to the cytokines and chemokines released by the eosinophils as well as to immune cells which are recruited to the tissues. Although any organ may be involved, the heart, lungs, spleen, skin, and nervous system are typically affected (for manifestations see Table: Abnormalities in Patients With Hypereosinophilic Syndrome). Occasionally, patients with very severe eosinophilia (eg, eosinophil counts of >100,000/μL), usually with eosinophilic leukemia, develop complications when eosinophils form aggregates that occlude small blood vessels, causing tissue ischemia and microinfarctions. Manifestations typically include those of brain or lung hypoxia (eg, encephalopathy, dyspnea, respiratory failure).

Hypereosinophilic syndrome is a condition characterized by peripheral blood eosinophilia with manifestations of organ system involvement or dysfunction directly related to eosinophilia in patients who do not have parasitic, allergic, or other causes of eosinophilia.

Etiology

Eosinophilia may be

  • Primary: A clonal proliferation of eosinophils associated with hematologic disorders such as leukemias and myeloproliferative disorders

  • Secondary: Caused by or associated with nonhematologic disorders (see Table: Important Disorders and Treatments Associated With Eosinophilia)

  • Idiopathic: Causes cannot be identified

The most common cause in the US is

  • Allergic or atopic disorders (typically respiratory or dermatologic)

Other common causes include

  • Infections (typically parasitic)

  • Certain tumors (hematologic or solid, benign or malignant)

Almost any parasitic invasion of tissues can elicit eosinophilia, but protozoa and noninvasive metazoa usually do not.

Of hematologic tumors, Hodgkin lymphoma may elicit marked eosinophilia, whereas eosinophilia is less common in non-Hodgkin lymphoma, chronic myelogenous leukemia, and acute lymphocytic leukemia.

The pulmonary infiltrates with eosinophilic syndrome comprise a spectrum of clinical manifestations characterized by peripheral eosinophilia and eosinophilic pulmonary infiltrates but is usually of unknown cause.

Patients with eosinophilic drug reactions may be asymptomatic or have various syndromes, including interstitial nephritis, serum sickness, cholestatic jaundice, hypersensitivity vasculitis , and immunoblastic lymphadenopathy.

Eosinophilia-myalgia syndrome is rare; the cause is unknown. However, in 1989, several hundred patients were reported to have developed this syndrome after taking l-tryptophan for sedation or psychotropic support. This syndrome was probably caused by a contaminant rather than by l-tryptophan. The symptoms, including severe muscle pain, tenosynovitis, muscle edema, and rash, lasted weeks to months, and several deaths occurred.

Drug reaction with eosinophilia and systemic symptoms (DRESS) is a rare syndrome characterized by fever, rash, eosinophilia, atypical lymphocytosis, lymphadenopathy, and signs and symptoms related to end-organ involvement (typically, heart, lungs, spleen, skin, nervous system).

Important Disorders and Treatments Associated With Eosinophilia

Cause or Associated Disorder

Examples

Allergic or atopic disorders

Drug reactions (eg, to antibiotics or NSAIDs)

Episodic angioedema with eosinophilia

Milk-protein allergy

Occupational lung disease

Connective tissue, vasculitic, or granulomatous disorders (especially those involving the lungs)

Eosinophilic fasciitis

Idiopathic eosinophilic synovitis

Inflammatory bowel disease

Progressive systemic sclerosis (scleroderma)

SLE

Endocrine disorders

Adrenal hypofunction

Immune disorders (often with eczema)

Congenital immunodeficiency syndrome (eg, IgA deficiency, hyper-IgE syndrome, Wiskott-Aldrich syndrome)

Myeloproliferative disorders

Acute or chronic eosinophilic leukemia

Acute lymphocytic leukemia (certain types)

Nonparasitic infections

Chlamydial pneumonia of infancy

Infectious lymphocytosis

Mycobacterial disease

Parasitic infections (especially due to tissue-invasive metazoans)

Cysticercosis (caused by Taenia solium)

Filariasis

Pneumocystis jirovecii infection

Skin disorders

Pemphigus

Syndromes of pulmonary infiltration with eosinophilia

Tropical pulmonary eosinophilia

Tumors

Angioimmunoblastic T-cell lymphoma (previously known as angioimmunoblastic lymphadenopathy with dysproteinemia or AILD) in association with systemic symptoms and autoimmune hemolytic anemia

Carcinomas and sarcomas of the lung, pancreas, colon, cervix, or ovary

Miscellaneous

Cirrhosis

Familial eosinophilia

Peritoneal dialysis

Radiation therapy

Evaluation

The number of possible causes and associated disorders is very large. Common causes (eg, allergic, infectious, or neoplastic disorders) should be considered first, but even they are often difficult to identify, so a thorough history and physical examination are always required.

History

The questions most likely to be helpful pertain to the following:

  • Travel (suggesting possible parasite exposure)

  • Allergies

  • Drug use

  • Use of herbal products and dietary supplements, including l-tryptophan

  • Systemic symptoms (eg, fever, weight loss, myalgias, arthralgias, rashes, lymphadenopathy)

Systemic symptoms suggest that a minor allergic or drug cause is less likely, and a detailed evaluation for an infectious, neoplastic, connective tissue, or other systemic disorder should be done. Other important parts of the history include family history of blood dyscrasias and a complete review of systems, including symptoms of allergies and pulmonary, cardiac, GI, and neurologic dysfunction.

Physical examination

General physical examination should focus on the heart, skin, and neurologic and pulmonary systems. Certain physical findings may suggest causes or associated disorders. Examples include rash (allergic, dermatologic, or vasculitic disorders), abnormal lung findings (asthma, lung infections, or syndromes of pulmonary infiltration with eosinophilia), and generalized lymphadenopathy or splenomegaly (myeloproliferative disorders or cancer).

Testing

Eosinophilia is typically recognized when CBC is done for other reasons. Additional testing often includes the following:

  • Stool ova and parasite testing

  • Other tests to detect organ damage or for specific causes based on clinical findings

In general, if a drug or allergic cause is not suspected based on clinical findings, 3 stool specimens should be examined for ova and parasites; however, negative findings do not rule out a parasitic cause (eg, trichinosis requires a muscle biopsy; visceral larva migrans and filarial infections require other tissue biopsies; duodenal aspirates may be needed to exclude specific parasites, eg, Strongyloides sp).

Other specific diagnostic tests are determined by the clinical findings (particularly travel history) and may include chest x-ray, urinalysis, liver and kidney function tests, and serologic tests for parasitic and connective tissue disorders. If patients have generalized lymphadenopathy, splenomegaly, or systemic symptoms, blood tests are done. An elevated serum vitamin B12 level or abnormalities on the peripheral blood smear suggest an underlying myeloproliferative disorder, and a bone marrow aspirate and biopsy with cytogenetic studies may be helpful. Also, if routine evaluation does not reveal a cause, tests are done to detect organ damage. Testing can include some of the tests previously mentioned as well as LDH and liver function tests (suggesting liver damage or possibly a myeloproliferative disorder), echocardiography, and pulmonary function tests. Once a specific cause has been determined, additional testing may be needed.

Treatment

  • Sometimes corticosteroids

For corticosteroid treatment of hypereosinophilic syndrome, see Hypereosinophilic Syndrome : Immediate therapy.

Drugs known to be associated with eosinophilia are stopped. Other identified causes are treated.

If no cause is detected, the patient is followed for complications. A brief trial with low-dose corticosteroids may lower the eosinophil count if eosinophilia is secondary (eg, to allergy, connective tissue disorders, or parasitic infection) rather than primary. Such a trial is indicated if eosinophilia is persistent and progressive in the absence of a treatable cause.

Resources In This Article

* This is the Professional Version. *