默沙东 诊疗手册

欢迎来到默沙东诊疗手册专业版医讯网站 本网站旨在为医药专业人员提供在线服务,如果您不是医药专业人员,建议您退出网站,登录默沙东中国官方网站了解相关信息。默沙东诊疗手册网站将对所有注册用户信息进行验证,医药专业人员必须接受并遵守用户协议条款才能使用本网站。如注册人员信息没能通过验证,默沙东诊疗手册网站有权终止该用户使用本网站的权利,在本网站每一网页下方均有链接功能,您可随时通过链接浏览用户使用协议条款与网站保护政策。

honeypot link

甲状腺癌

作者:

Jerome M. Hershman

, MD, MS, David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA

最后一次全面审校/修订者 4月 2018| 内容末次修改日期 4月 2018
点击此处 进行患者培训

甲状腺癌总体有4种类型:多数甲状腺癌表现为无症状的结节。偶然在淋巴结、肺部或骨骼处的转移灶而表现出症状。诊断主要依靠细针抽吸活检,但可能要用到其他检查。治疗方法为手术切除,通常继以放射性碘来祛除残余癌组织。

(另见 甲状腺功能概述。)

甲状腺癌总体有4种类型:

  • 乳头状癌

  • 滤泡

  • 髓质

  • 未分化

大多数甲状腺癌表现为无症状的结节。

除未分化癌外,大多数甲状腺癌恶性程度不高,很少危及生命。

大多数甲状腺癌表现为无症状结节。很少有淋巴结、肺或骨转移引起小甲状腺癌的症状。诊断主要依靠细针抽吸活检,但可能要用到其他检查。

治疗方法为手术切除,通常继以放射性碘来祛除残余癌组织。

甲状腺乳头状癌

乳头状癌占所有甲状腺癌的80%~90%。女性:男性比例为3:1。高达5%的患者可能是家族性的。大多数患者年龄在30~60岁。在老年患者中肿瘤生长较为迅速。许多乳头状癌含有 滤泡成分。其中一种是非侵袭性滤泡状甲状腺肿瘤,具有类乳头状核特征(以前称为非侵袭性包膜滤泡型乳头状甲状腺癌[1])。

在1/3的患者中,肿瘤经淋巴管蔓延至局部淋巴结,并可转移到肺部。患者在55岁以下,肿瘤体积小并局限于甲状腺,预后良好。

>4cm或向四周扩展的癌肿常需要进行甲状腺完全或次全切除术,并在术后患者出现甲状腺功能减退时用大剂量131I清除残余甲状腺组织;视需要可每6~12个月重复治疗。6至12个月后可重复治疗以消融任何剩余的甲状腺组织。治疗后给予TSH抑制剂量 L-甲状腺素,血清甲状腺球蛋白水平有助于检测复发或持续性疾病。颈部超声检查可检测淋巴结复发。约20-30%的患者,主要是老年患者,具有反复性或持续性疾病。

对于有包膜的、<4cm并局限于一叶的甲状腺乳头状癌,虽然有人主张甲状腺广泛切除,但大多数仅切除其患侧叶及峡部;手术可使绝大部分患者痊愈。术后给予一定量的甲状腺激素以抑制TSH分泌,使任何可能残留的微小乳头状癌组织都难以继续生长并促使其退化。

甲状腺乳头状癌

  • 1.Nikiforov YE, Seethala RR, Tallini G, et al: Nomenclature revision for encapsulated follicular variant of papillary thyroid carcinoma: A paradigm shift to reduce overtreatment of indolent tumors.(包膜滤泡型甲状腺乳头状癌的命名修订:减少惰性肿瘤过度治疗的范式转变)JAMA Oncol Published online April 14, 2016.doi:10.1001/jamaoncol.2016.0386.

滤泡性甲状腺癌

甲状腺癌中约10%为滤泡癌。多见于老年患者和缺碘地区。其恶性程度较 乳头状癌为高,可血行播散、远处转移。

治疗同乳头状癌,需行甲状腺次全切除术,术后用放射性碘清除残余甲状腺组织。与乳头状癌的转移灶相比,滤泡癌的转移灶对放射性碘较敏感。术后给适量l-甲状腺素抑制TSH的分泌。测定血清甲状腺球蛋白及颈部超声检查以发现复发或持续存在的病变。

甲状腺髓样癌

甲状腺癌中约4%为髓样癌,由滤泡旁细胞(C细胞)构成,产生降钙素。 可为散发性(多发生于一侧);但常有家族性,由原癌基因ret突变引起。 calcitonin. It may be sporadic (usually unilateral); however, it is often familial, caused by a mutation of the ret可表现为单一性肿瘤,也可为多发性内分泌瘤(MEN)综合征2A和2B型的一个组成部分。虽然 降钙素能使血钙和血磷下降,但血钙仍正常,因高水平的 降钙素最终使其受体向下调节。淀粉样蛋白沉积为该病特征,可用刚果红染色。

甲状腺髓样癌通过淋巴系统播散,可转移至颈部和纵隔淋巴结,有时可达肝、肺和骨骼。

本病的典型临床表现为一无症状的甲状腺结节,但现在通过对MEN-IIA或IIB家族成员的常规筛选,许多病例在肿瘤可触及之前已得到诊断。

甲状腺髓样癌如伴有其他激素或多肽的异位分泌(例如,ACTH、血管活性肠肽、前列腺素、血管舒缓素、血清素),其生化发现可明显异常。

最有价值的实验室发现是血清降钙素显著增高,钙激发试验(15mg/kg,在4小时内经静脉输入)时 降钙素分泌过多。钙(15mg/kg IV 4小时以上)会引起 降钙素过度分泌

X射线可能显示致密、均匀的砾岩钙化。

所有的甲状腺髓样癌患者均应进行遗传学检查;其中有基因突变者的亲属亦应进行遗传学检查及测定 降钙素基础值和激发后水平。

即使对侧无明显病变,也必需切除全部甲状腺及有关淋巴结。淋巴结也被解剖。如果存在甲状旁腺功能亢进症,则需要切除增生性或腺瘤性甲状旁腺。

嗜铬细胞瘤,如果存在,通常是双侧的。甲状腺切除术前应鉴别并排除嗜铬细胞瘤,以免术中引发高血压危象。髓样癌和MEN 2A患者的长期生存率很高;超过三分之二的受影响患者在10年后仍然活着。散发型髓样癌和MEN 2B患者的预后较差。

甲状腺髓样癌患者的家族成员如有降钙素增高而无甲状腺肿块,仍应接受甲状腺切除术,因在此阶段治愈的可能性较大。 有些专家认为这些家族成员即使血清降钙素基础值和激发试验都正常,只要有原癌基因ret突变,也应进行手术。 calcitonin level without a palpable thyroid abnormality should undergo thyroidectomy because there is a greater chance of cure at this stage. Some experts recommend surgery in relatives who have normal basal and stimulated serum calcitonin levels but who have the ret

甲状腺未分化癌

未分化癌是一种未分化的癌症,约占甲状腺癌的1%。它主要发生于老年患者,女性更常发生。肿瘤的特征是快速、疼痛性增大。甲状腺快速增大也可能提示甲状腺淋巴瘤,特别是与桥本甲状腺炎相关的。

没有有效的治疗方法,而且这种疾病通常是致命的。约80%的患者在确诊后1年内死亡。少数患者肿瘤较小,经甲状腺切除继以放射治疗可得痊愈。化疗尚在试验阶段。

辐射诱发的甲状腺癌

甲状腺暴露于大量环境辐射后可发生甲状腺肿瘤,如原子弹爆炸、核反应堆意外事故或放疗时甲状腺偶然受到辐射。肿瘤可在受到辐射后10年出现,但危险性的增高可持续30~40年。这样的肿瘤一般为良性,但约有10%为甲状腺乳头状癌。这些肿瘤常呈多灶性或弥漫性。

甲状腺受过辐射的患者应每年进行甲状腺触诊与超声波检查。甲状腺扫描并不总能反映受累区域。

如超声检查时发现结节,应做细针抽吸活检。许多内科医生建议在没有可疑或癌性病变的情况下,终生服用一定剂量的甲状腺激素,使 TSH降低,甲状腺功能受到抑制,可能会减少发生甲状腺肿瘤的机会。

如果细针抽吸活检结果提示癌肿,则需手术。应选用甲状腺次全或全切除术,如发现为癌肿,则根据体积大小,组织学特征和扩散情况,用放射性碘清除所有残留的甲状腺组织。

点击此处 进行患者培训
注: 此为专业版。 家庭用户: 点击此处进入家庭版
获得

其他感兴趣资源

顶部

Not Found
Locations

Find information on medical topics, symptoms, drugs, procedures, news and more, written for the health care professional.

* This is the Professional Version. *

Thyroid Cancers

By Jerome M. Hershman, MD

Click here for
Patient Education

There are 4 general types of thyroid cancer. Most thyroid cancers manifest as asymptomatic nodules. Rarely, lymph node, lung, or bone metastases cause the presenting symptoms of small thyroid cancers. Diagnosis is often by fine-needle aspiration biopsy but may involve other tests. Treatment is surgical removal, usually followed by ablation of residual tissue with radioactive iodine.

There are 4 general types of thyroid cancer:

  • Papillary

  • Follicular

  • Medullary

  • Anaplastic

Papillary and follicular carcinoma together are called differentiated thyroid cancer because of their histologic resemblance to normal thyroid tissue and because differentiated function (eg, thyroglobulin secretion) is preserved.

Except for anaplastic and metastatic medullary carcinoma, most thyroid cancers are not highly malignant and are seldom fatal.

Most thyroid cancers manifest as asymptomatic nodules. Rarely, lymph node, lung, or bone metastases cause the presenting symptoms of small thyroid cancers. Diagnosis is often by fine-needle aspiration biopsy but may involve other tests.

Treatment is surgical removal, usually followed by ablation of residual tissue with radioactive iodine.

Papillary thyroid carcinoma

Papillary carcinoma accounts for 80 to 90% of all thyroid cancers. The female:male ratio is 3:1. It may be familial in up to 5% of patients. Most patients present between ages 30 and 60. The tumor is often more aggressive in elderly patients. Many papillary carcinomas contain follicular elements. One variant is called noninvasive follicular thyroid neoplasm with papillary-like nuclear features (previously known as noninvasive encapsulated follicular variant of papillary thyroid carcinoma [ 1]).

The tumor spreads via lymphatics to regional lymph nodes in one third of patients and may metastasize to the lungs. Patients <45 yr with small tumors confined to the thyroid have an excellent prognosis.

Tumors > 4 cm or that are diffusely spreading require total or near-total thyroidectomy with postoperative radioiodine ablation of residual thyroid tissue with appropriately large doses of 131I administered when the patient is hypothyroid or after recombinant TSH injections. Treatment may be repeated every 6 to 12 mo to ablate any remaining thyroid tissue. TSH-suppressive doses of l-thyroxine are given after treatment, and serum thyroglobulin levels help detect recurrent or persistent disease. Neck ultrasonography will detect recurrence in lymph nodes. About 20 to 30% of patients, mainly elderly patients, have recurrent or persistent disease.

Treatment for encapsulated tumors < 1.5 cm localized to one lobe is usually near-total thyroidectomy, although some experts recommend only lobectomy and isthmusectomy; surgery is almost always curative. Thyroid hormone in thyroid-stimulating hormone (TSH)–suppressive doses is given to minimize chances of regrowth and cause regression of any microscopic remnants of papillary carcinoma.

Papillary thyroid carcinoma reference

  • 1. Nikiforov YE, Seethala RR, Tallini G, et al . Nomenclature revision for encapsulated follicular variant of papillary thyroid carcinoma: A paradigm shift to reduce overtreatment of indolent tumors. JAMA Oncol Published online April 14, 2016. doi:10.1001/jamaoncol.2016.0386.

Follicular thyroid carcinoma

Follicular carcinoma, including the Hürthle cell variant, accounts for about 10% of thyroid cancers. It is more common among elderly patients and in regions of iodine deficiency. It is more malignant than papillary carcinoma, spreading hematogenously with distant metastases.

Treatment requires near-total thyroidectomy with postoperative radioiodine ablation of residual thyroid tissue as in treatment for papillary carcinoma. Metastases are more responsive to radioiodine therapy than are those of papillary carcinoma. TSH-suppressive doses of l-thyroxine are given after treatment. Serum thyroglobulin and neck ultrasongraphy should be monitored to detect recurrent or persistent disease.

Medullary thyroid carcinoma

Medullary carcinoma constitutes about 3% of thyroid cancers and is composed of parafollicular cells (C cells) that produce calcitonin . It may be sporadic (usually unilateral); however, it is often familial, caused by a mutation of the ret proto-oncogene. The familial form may occur in isolation or as a component of multiple endocrine neoplasia (MEN) syndrome type 2A and MEN 2B. Although calcitonin can lower serum calcium and phosphate levels, serum calcium is normal because the high level of calcitonin ultimately down-regulates its receptors. Characteristic amyloid deposits that stain with Congo red are also present.

Metastases spread via the lymphatic system to cervical and mediastinal nodes and sometimes to liver, lungs, and bone.

Patients typically present with an asymptomatic thyroid nodule, although many cases are now diagnosed during routine screening of affected kindreds with MEN 2A or MEN 2B before a palpable tumor develops.

Medullary carcinoma may have a dramatic biochemical presentation when associated with ectopic production of other hormones or peptides (eg, ACTH, vasoactive intestinal polypeptide, prostaglandins, kallikreins, serotonin).

The best test is measurement of serum calcitonin , which is greatly elevated. A challenge with calcium (15 mg/kg IV over 4 h) provokes excessive secretion of calcitonin .

X-rays may show a dense, homogenous, conglomerate calcification.

All patients with medullary carcinoma should have genetic testing; relatives of those with mutations should have genetic testing and measurement of basal and stimulated calcitonin levels.

Total thyroidectomy is indicated even if bilateral involvement is not obvious. Lymph nodes are also dissected. If hyperparathyroidism is present, removal of hyperplastic or adenomatous parathyroids is required.

Pheochromocytoma, if present, is usually bilateral. Pheochromocytomas should be identified and removed before thyroidectomy because of the danger of provoking hypertensive crisis during the operation. Long-term survival is common in patients with medullary carcinoma and MEN 2A; more than two thirds of affected patients are alive at 10 yr. Medullary carcinoma of the sporadic type has a worse prognosis.

Relatives with an elevated calcitonin level without a palpable thyroid abnormality should undergo thyroidectomy because there is a greater chance of cure at this stage. Some experts recommend surgery in relatives who have normal basal and stimulated serum calcitonin levels but who have the ret proto-oncogene mutation.

Anaplastic thyroid carcinoma

Anaplastic carcinoma is an undifferentiated cancer that accounts for about 2% of thyroid cancers. It occurs mostly in elderly patients and slightly more often in women. The tumor is characterized by rapid, painful enlargement. Rapid enlargement of the thyroid may also suggest thyroid lymphoma, particularly if found in association with Hashimoto thyroiditis.

No effective therapy exists, and the disease is generally fatal. About 80% of patients die within 1 yr of diagnosis. In a few patients with smaller tumors, thyroidectomy followed by external beam radiation therapy has been curative. Chemotherapy is mainly experimental.

Radiation-induced thyroid cancer

Thyroid tumors develop in people whose thyroid is exposed to large amounts of environmental radiation, as occurs as a result of atomic bomb blasts, nuclear reactor accidents, or incidental thyroid irradiation due to radiation therapy. Tumors may be detected 10 yr after exposure, but risk remains increased for 30 to 40 yr. Such tumors are usually benign; however, about 10% are papillary thyroid carcinoma. The tumors are frequently multicentric or diffuse.

Patients who had thyroid irradiation should undergo yearly thyroid palpation, ultrasonography, and measurement of thyroid autoantibodies (to exclude Hashimoto thyroiditis). A thyroid scan does not always reflect areas of involvement.

If ultrasonography reveals a nodule, fine-needle aspiration biopsy should be done. In the absence of suspicious or malignant lesions, many physicians recommend lifelong TSH-lowering doses of thyroid hormone to suppress thyroid function and thyrotropin secretion and possibly decrease the chance of developing a thyroid tumor.

Surgery is required if fine-needle aspiration biopsy suggests cancer. Near-total or total thyroidectomy is the treatment of choice, to be followed by radioiodine ablation of any residual thyroid tissue if a cancer is found (depending on the size, histology, and invasiveness).

* This is the Professional Version. *