默沙东 诊疗手册

欢迎来到默沙东诊疗手册专业版医讯网站 本网站旨在为医药专业人员提供在线服务,如果您不是医药专业人员,建议您退出网站,登录默沙东中国官方网站了解相关信息。默沙东诊疗手册网站将对所有注册用户信息进行验证,医药专业人员必须接受并遵守用户协议条款才能使用本网站。如注册人员信息没能通过验证,默沙东诊疗手册网站有权终止该用户使用本网站的权利,在本网站每一网页下方均有链接功能,您可随时通过链接浏览用户使用协议条款与网站保护政策。

honeypot link

心导管术

作者:

Michael J. Shea

, MD, Michigan Medicine at the University of Michigan

最后一次全面审校/修订者 9月 2017| 内容末次修改日期 9月 2017
点击此处 进行患者培训
主题资源

心导管术是指经外周动脉或静脉将导管插入心腔内、肺动脉或冠状动脉的过程。

心导管检查可以用来做各种测试,包括

  • 血管造影

  • 血管内超声检查(IVUS)

  • 心排血量测定

  • 检测和量化心内缺损的分流

  • 心内膜心肌活检

  • 心肌代谢的测量

这些检查可明确冠状动脉解剖、心脏解剖、心脏功能以及肺动脉血流动力学,以确立诊断并帮助选择治疗。

心导管术也是多种介入性治疗的基础操作(见经皮冠脉内介入治疗章节)

操作步骤

进行心导管术前病人须禁食4~6个小时。如果没有接受介入治疗,大多数病人无需留院过夜。

左心导管术

左心脏导管术是最常用的评估

  • 心脏解剖

左心脏导管术也可以用来评估

  • 动脉血压

  • 体循环血管阻力

  • 主动脉瓣功能

  • 二尖瓣功能

  • 左心室压力和功能

操作时经皮穿刺股动脉、锁骨下动脉、桡动脉或肱动脉,将导管送至冠状动脉开口处或经主动脉瓣进入左心室。

偶尔在进行右心导管术时穿刺房间隔将导管插入到左心房(LA)和左心室(LV)。

右心脏导管插入术

右心脏导管最常用来评估

PAOP接近左心房和左心室舒张末期压力。对于病情严重的患者,PAOP有助于评估容量状态,与心输出量(CO)同时测定可帮助指导治疗。

右心导管术也有助于评估心脏充盈压、肺血管阻力、三尖瓣和肺动脉瓣功能、心内缺损的分流以及右心室压。

非侵入性检查不能提供诊断价值时,右心脏压力检测则可以有助于心肌病、缩窄性心包炎和心包填塞的诊断,并且它还是评估心脏移植或机械心脏支持的一个重要部分(例如,使用一个心室辅助装置) 。

程序可经股静脉,锁骨下静脉,颈内静脉或肘静脉穿刺完成。导管可经右房、三尖瓣进入右室,然后跨肺动脉瓣进入肺动脉。

也可以将导管选择性插入冠状静脉窦。

心动周期图,图示心腔压力曲线、心音、颈静脉波和心电图(ECG)

心动周期的各个时相为:心房收缩期(a)、等容收缩期(b)、最大射血期(c)、减慢射血期(d)、舒张早期(e)、等容舒张期(f)、快速充盈期(g)和舒张末期或缓慢充盈期(h)。为了说明的目的,瓣膜事件之间的时间间隔有改动,z点延长。

AO=主动脉瓣开放,AC=主动脉瓣关闭,LV=左心室,LA=左心房,RV=右心室,RA=右心房,MO=二尖瓣开放。

心动周期图,图示心腔压力曲线、心音、颈静脉波和心电图(ECG)

心导管术中的特殊检查方法

血管造影

在某些情况下将不透X线的对比剂注入冠状动脉、肺动脉、主动脉以及心腔内进行造影有助于诊断。数字减影血管造影可用于不移动的动脉造影或心腔电影血管造影。

经左心导管施行的冠状动脉造影用于在各种临床情况下评估冠状动脉解剖,如怀疑有冠状动脉粥样硬化性疾病或先天性冠状动脉疾病、瓣膜病行瓣膜置换术前或不能解释的心力衰竭病人。

经右心导管施行的肺动脉造影可被用来诊断肺栓塞。腔内充盈缺损或动脉截断征象具有诊断意义。不透X线的对比剂选择性地注入一侧或双侧肺动脉或它们的分支。然而,计算机断层肺动脉造影(computed tomographic pulmonary angiography,CTPA)已在很大程度上取代右心导管术用于肺栓塞的诊断

经左心导管施行的主动脉造影用于评估主动脉瓣反流、主动脉缩窄、动脉导管未闭和动脉夹层。

心室造影用于观察室壁运动和心室流出道,包括瓣下、瓣膜和瓣上区域。它也可以用来评估二尖瓣反流的严重程度,并确定其病理生理学机制。从单平面或双平面心室造影测得左心室质量和容积后,即可算出收缩末期容积和舒张末期容积以及射血分数。

血管内超声(IVUS)

应用置于导管顶端的微型超声换能器可获得冠脉内腔和管壁的图像以及冠脉血流情况。冠状动脉造影的同时进行血管内超声检查正被越来越多地应用于临床。

光学相干断层扫描(OCT)

光学相干断层扫描(OCT)是一种光学模拟冠状动脉内超声显像,通过测量反向散射光的振幅,确定冠状动脉斑块的温度,并可以帮助确定病变斑块未来是否存在高的破裂风险(导致 急性冠脉综合征)。

心脏分流检查

连续在心脏和大血管的不同水平上测定氧含量可帮助确定中心性分流的存在、分流的方向和分流量。不同结构之间的氧含量的最大参考差值如下:

  • 肺动脉和右心室:0.5毫升/分升

  • 右心室,右心房:0.9毫升/分升

  • 右心房和上腔静脉:1.9毫升/分升

如果某处心腔的血氧含量与其上游心腔的血氧含量之差超过上述数值,则可能在该心腔水平存在左向右分流。当左心房、左心室或动脉血O2 饱和度下降(92%)且吸入纯O2(吸入氧分数O2=1.0)不能改善时,则强烈提示存在右向左分流。左侧心脏或动脉血O2饱和度降低并且分流部位远侧的右侧心腔血氧含量增加提示双向分流。

心排血量和血流测定

心排血量(CO)指心脏每分钟的排血量(静息状态下正常值:4~8 L/min)。用于计算心排血量的技术({blank} 心排血量计算公式)包括。

  • 菲克心输出法

  • 指示剂稀释法

  • 热稀释法

表格
icon

心排血量计算公式

Fick法

equation

分子是肺脏吸收的氧O2(mL/min)。

指示剂稀释法

equation

分母是染料浓度(C)在每个时间间隔(t)的积分。

温度稀释法

equation

TB–TI是机体与注射物之间的温度差,注射物通常用葡萄糖或生理盐水。分母是温度变化在每个时间间隔(t)的积分。

SaO2 =动脉血O2饱和度(%);SvO2=混合静脉血O2饱和度,在肺动脉内测量。

应用Fick法时,CO与O2耗量和动静脉O2差的比值成比例。

稀释法依据这样的假设,即将指示剂注入循环后它的出现与消失与CO成比例。

通常,CO与体表面积(BSA)结合起来,用心脏指数(cardiac index,CI)表示为L/min/m2(即CI=CO/BSA—{blank} 心脏指数及其相关测量的正常值)。BSA用DuBois的身高(ht)-体重(wt)公式计算:

equation

表格
icon

心脏指数及其相关测量的正常值

测定指标

正常值

SD

氧气摄取

143mL/min/m2*

14.3

动静脉氧差

4.1dL

0.6

心脏指数

3.5L/min/m2

0.7

心搏指数

46mL/心搏/m2

8.1

体循环总阻力

1130达因-秒-cm-5

178

肺循环总阻力

205达因-秒-cm-5

51

肺小动脉阻力

67达因-秒-cm-5

23

*随BMI变化

SD=标准差

引自:Barratt-Boyes BG, Wood EH: Cardiac output and related measurements and pressure values in the right heart and associated vessels, together with an analysis of the hemodynamic response to the inhalation of high oxygen mixtures in healthy subjects.Journal of Laboratory and Clinical Medicine 51:72–90, 1958.

心内膜心肌活检

心内膜心肌活检可帮助评估心脏移植排斥反应以及由感染和浸润性疾病引起的心肌疾病。可将活检导管(bioptome)置入任何一个心室,通常是右心室。从室间隔心内膜取3~5块心肌组织。心内膜心肌活检主要的并发症是心脏穿孔,发生率为0.3%~0.5%,导致心包积血和心脏压塞。也可能会出现伤害三尖瓣和腱索,并可能导致三尖瓣关闭不全。

冠状动脉血流测定

冠状动脉造影能显示冠状动脉狭窄的存在及其程度,但是不能说明病变的功能意义(如有多少血流通过狭窄病变处),或某个特定的病灶是否有可能导致疾病发生。

使用带有压力传感器或多普勒血流传感器的极细的导丝,从这些传感器获得的资料可用于估计血流,用血流储备分数(fractional flow reserve,FFR)表示。这些传感器的数据可用于估计冠状动脉血流,以血流储备分数描述(FFR)用FFR估计的血流与介入治疗需求及长期后果的相关性很好。

这些血流评估与是否需干预以及长期预后密切相关;若病变FFR > 0.8 似乎不能从支架植入中获益。这种血流测定方法对临界病变(40%~70%狭窄)和多处病变(确定临床上最重要的病变)特别有用。

心导管术的禁忌证包括

心导管术的相对禁忌证包括

  • 肾功能不全

  • 凝血功能障碍

  • 发热

  • 全身感染

  • 未能控制的心律失常或高血压

  • 失代偿性心力衰竭

  • 未经预先处理的对对比剂过敏的病人 。

心导管术的并发症

心导管术并发症的发生率从0.8%至8%不等,这取决于病人的因素,技术因素,和操作者的经验。病人方面的因素包括

  • 年龄

  • 心脏衰竭

  • 心瓣膜病变

  • 以及外周动脉病变

  • 慢性阻塞性肺病(COPD)

  • 慢性肾脏病

  • 胰岛素依赖型糖尿病

大多数并发症是轻微的,可以很容易地处理。严重的并发症(如心脏骤停、过敏反应、休克、癫痫发作、发绀、肾毒性)少见。死亡率是0.1〜0.2%。心肌梗死(0.1%)和休克(0.1%),可能会导致显著病态。年龄 > 80岁的患者卒中的发生率比较高。

总体说来,并发症包括

  • 造影剂

  • 导管的影响

  • 访问网站

造影剂并发症

大多数病人在注射造影剂时产生短暂的全身发热的感觉。也可发生心动过速、血压轻度下降、CO增加、恶心、呕吐和咳嗽。偶尔,在注射大量对比剂时发生心动过缓,嘱病人咳嗽常可恢复正常节律。

更严重反应(亦见放射性造影剂和造影剂反应)包括

  • 过敏性造影剂反应

  • 造影剂肾病

过敏反应可能包括荨麻疹和结膜炎,静注50mg苯海拉明常可奏效。全身过敏反应, 支气管痉挛,喉头水肿,呼吸困难是罕见的反应;吸入沙丁胺醇或肾上腺素0.3至0.4毫升SC处理。过敏性休克可用肾上腺素和其他支持措施处理。有造影剂过敏的患者可在在注射造影剂前需预先使用强的松(造影剂注射前13小时、7小时和1小时各口服50mg)和苯海拉明(造影剂注射前1小时口服或皮下注射50mg)。如果患者需要急诊检查,可以给予苯海拉明(造影剂注射前1小时口服或皮下注射50mg),以及给予其氢化可的松,每4小时静注一次,直到X线摄影完成。

造影剂肾病 指静脉注射造影剂48至72小时之内发生的肾功能损害 (血清肌酐增加25%或绝对值增加0.5mg/dL)对于有发生造影剂肾病高风险的病人,术前4至6小时静滴生理盐水,术中使用低渗或等渗对比度,术后再用生理盐水静滴6至12小时,可以降低造影剂肾病发生的风险。最近,造影剂使用前1~2天给予他汀类药物已被证明可以降低肾功能恶化的可能性。有肾功能损害风险的患者,注射造影剂48小时后需检测血肌酐。

导管相关的并发症

如果导管头接触到心内膜,诱发室性心律失常还是常见的,但室颤比较罕见。如果发生室颤, 立即执行直流电复律(DC心脏电复律)。

导管接触可致斑块的破裂,可释放出粥样硬化栓子。从主动脉脱落栓子可能造成中风或肾病。从冠状动脉脱落栓子可能导致心肌梗塞。

冠状动脉夹层也是可能发生的。

穿刺相关的并发症

穿刺相关的并发症包括

  • 出血

  • 血肿

  • 假性动脉瘤

  • 动静脉瘘

  • 肢体缺血

穿刺部位出血,通常用压迫止血即可。轻微瘀伤和小血肿比较常见,一般不需要特殊的检查或处理。

一个大的或者不断扩大肿块应行超声检查,以区分血肿及假性动脉瘤。穿刺部位的血管杂音(伴有或不伴有疼痛)往往提示有动静脉瘘,这点超声可以明确。血肿通常可以自愈,一般不需要特殊治疗。假性动脉瘤和动静脉瘘通常需要压迫处理;如果持续存在则需要手术修复。

与经股动脉途径相比,经桡动脉途径介入会让病人更舒适,并且血肿或假性动静脉瘘发生的风险要低得多。

更多信息

点击此处 进行患者培训
注: 此为专业版。 家庭用户: 点击此处进入家庭版
获得

其他感兴趣资源

顶部

Not Found
Locations

Find information on medical topics, symptoms, drugs, procedures, news and more, written for the health care professional.

* This is the Professional Version. *

Cardiac Catheterization

By Michael J. Shea, MD, University of Michigan Health Systems

Click here for
Patient Education

Cardiac catheterization is the passage of a catheter through peripheral arteries or veins into cardiac chambers, the pulmonary artery, and coronary arteries and veins.

Cardiac catheterization can be used to do various tests, including

  • Angiography

  • Intravascular ultrasonography

  • Measurement of cardiac output (CO)

  • Detection and quantification of shunts

  • Endomyocardial biopsy

  • Measurements of myocardial metabolism

These tests define coronary artery anatomy, cardiac anatomy, cardiac function, and pulmonary arterial hemodynamics to establish diagnoses and help select treatment.

Cardiac catheterization is also the basis for several therapeutic interventions (see Percutaneous Coronary Interventions).

Procedure

Patients must be npo for 4 to 6 h before cardiac catheterization. Most patients do not require overnight hospitalization unless a therapeutic intervention is also done.

Left heart catheterization

Left heart catheterization is most commonly used to assess

  • Cardiac anatomy

Left heart catheterization is also used to assess

  • Aortic blood pressure

  • Systemic vascular resistance

  • Aortic valve function

  • Mitral valve function

  • Left ventricular pressure and function

The procedure is done via femoral, subclavian, radial, or brachial artery puncture, with a catheter passed into the coronary artery ostia or across the aortic valve into the LV.

Catheterization of the left atrium (LA) and LV is occasionally done using transseptal perforation during right heart catheterization.

Right heart catheterization

Right heart catheterization is most commonly used to assess

PAOP approximates left atrial and left ventricular end-diastolic pressure. In seriously ill patients, PAOP helps assess volume status and, with simultaneous measurements of cardiac output, can help guide therapy.

Right heart catheterization is also useful for assessing pulmonary vascular resistance, tricuspid or pulmonic valve function, intracardiac shunts, and right ventricular pressure

Right heart pressure measurements may help in the diagnosis of cardiomyopathy, constrictive pericarditis, and cardiac tamponade when noninvasive testing is nondiagnostic, and it is an essential part of the assessment for cardiac transplantation or mechanical cardiac support (eg, use of a ventricular assist device).

The procedure is done via femoral, subclavian, internal jugular, or antecubital vein puncture. A catheter is passed into the RA, through the tricuspid valve, into the RV, and across the pulmonary valve into the pulmonary artery.

Selective catheterization of the coronary sinus can also be done.

Diagram of the cardiac cycle, showing pressure curves of the cardiac chambers, heart sounds, jugular pulse wave, and the ECG.

The phases of the cardiac cycle are atrial systole (a), isometric contraction (b), maximal ejection (c), reduced ejection (d), protodiastolic phase (e), isometric relaxation (f), rapid inflow (g), and diastasis, or slow LV filling (h). For illustrative purposes, time intervals between valvular events have been modified, and the z point has been prolonged.

AO = aortic valve opening; AC = aortic valve closing; LV = left ventricle; LA = left atrium; RV = right ventricle; RA = right atrium; MO = mitral valve opening.

Specific Tests During Cardiac Catheterization

Angiography

Injection of radiopaque contrast agent into coronary or pulmonary arteries, the aorta, and cardiac chambers is useful in certain circumstances. Digital subtraction angiography is used for nonmoving arteries and for chamber cineangiography.

Coronary angiography via left heart catheterization is used to evaluate coronary artery anatomy in various clinical situations, as in patients with suspected coronary atherosclerotic or congenital disease, valvular disorders before valvular replacement, or unexplained heart failure.

Pulmonary angiography via right heart catheterization can be used to diagnose pulmonary embolism. Intraluminal filling defects or arterial cutoffs are diagnostic. Radiopaque contrast agent is usually selectively injected into one or both pulmonary arteries and their segments. However, computed tomographic pulmonary angiography (CTPA) has largely replaced right heart catheterization for diagnosis of pulmonary embolism.

Aortic angiography via left heart catheterization is used to assess aortic regurgitation, coarctation, patent ductus arteriosus, and dissection.

Ventriculographyis used to visualize ventricular wall motion and ventricular outflow tracts, including subvalvular, valvular, and supravalvular regions. It is also used to estimate severity of mitral valve regurgitation severity and determine its pathophysiology. After LV mass and volume are determined from single planar or biplanar ventricular angiograms, end-systolic and end-diastolic volumes and ejection fraction can be calculated.

Intravascular ultrasonography

Miniature ultrasound transducers on the end of coronary artery catheters can produce images of coronary vessel lumina and walls and delineate blood flow. This technique is being increasingly used at the same time as coronary angiography.

Optical coherence tomography

Optical coherence tomography (OCT) is an optical analog of intracoronary ultrasound imaging that measures the amplitude of backscattered light to determine the temperature of coronary plaques and can help determine whether lesions are at high risk of future rupture (leading to acute coronary syndromes).

Tests for cardiac shunts

Measuring blood oxygen content at successive levels in the heart and great vessels can help determine the presence, direction, and volume of central shunts. The maximal normal difference in oxygen content between structures is as follows:

  • The pulmonary artery and right ventricle: 0.5 mL/dL

  • The right ventricle and right atrium: 0.9 mL/dL

  • The right atrium and superior vena cava: 1.9 mL/dL

If the blood oxygen content in a chamber exceeds that of the more proximal chamber by more than these values, a left-to-right shunt at that level is probable. Right-to-left shunts are strongly suspected when LA, LV, or arterial oxygen saturation is low ( 92%) and does not improve when pure oxygen (fractional inspirational O2 = 1.0) is given. Left heart or arterial desaturation plus increased oxygen content in blood samples drawn beyond the shunt site on the right side of circulation suggests a bidirectional shunt.

Measurement of cardiac output and flow

Cardiac output (CO) is the volume of blood ejected by the heart per minute (normal at rest: 4 to 8 L/min). Techniques used to calculate CO include.

  • Fick cardiac output technique

  • Indicator-dilution technique

  • Thermodilution techniques (see Table: Cardiac Output Equations)

Cardiac Output Equations

Fick technique

equation

Numerator is O2 absorbed by lungs (mL/min).

Indicator-dilution technique

equation

Denominator is the sum of dye concentrations (C) at each time interval (t).

Thermodilution technique

equation

TB – TI is the difference between body and injectate temperatures; injectate is usually dextrose or saline. Denominator is the sum of changes in temperature at each time interval (t).

SaO2 = arterial O2 saturation (%); SvO2= mixed venous O2 saturation (%), measured in the pulmonary artery.

With the Fick technique, CO is proportional to oxygen consumption divided by arteriovenous oxygen difference.

Dilution techniques rely on the assumption that after an indicator is injected into the circulation, it appears and disappears proportionately to CO.

Usually, CO is expressed in relation to body surface area (BSA) as the cardiac index (CI) in L/min/m2 (ie, CI = CO/BSA—see Table: Normal Values for Cardiac Index and Related Measurements). BSA is calculated using DuBois height (ht)-weight (wt) equation:

equation

Normal Values for Cardiac Index and Related Measurements

Measurement

Normal Value

SD

Oxygen uptake

143 mL/min/m2*

14.3

Arteriovenous oxygen difference

4.1 dL

0.6

Cardiac index

3.5 L/min/m2

0.7

Stroke index

46 mL/beat/m2

8.1

Total systemic resistance

1130 dynes-sec-cm-5

178

Total pulmonary resistance

205 dynes-sec-cm-5

51

Pulmonary arteriolar resistance

67 dynes-sec-cm-5

23

*Varies with body mass index.

SD = standard deviation.

Adapted from Barratt-Boyes BG, Wood EH: Cardiac output and related measurements and pressure values in the right heart and associated vessels, together with an analysis of the hemodynamic response to the inhalation of high oxygen mixtures in healthy subjects. Journal of Laboratory and Clinical Medicine 51:72–90, 1958.

Endomyocardial biopsy

Endomyocardial biopsy helps assess transplant rejection and myocardial disorders due to infection or infiltrative diseases. The biopsy catheter (bioptome) can be passed into either ventricle, usually the right. Three to 5 samples of myocardial tissue are removed from the septal endocardium. The main complication of endomyocardial biopsy, cardiac perforation, occurs in 0.3 to 0.5% of patients; it may cause hemopericardium leading to cardiac tamponade. Injury to the tricuspid valve and supporting chordae may also occur and can lead to tricuspid regurgitation.

Coronary artery flow measurements

Coronary angiography shows the presence and degree of stenosis but not the functional significance of the lesion (ie, how much blood flows across the stenosis) or whether a specific lesion is likely to be causing symptoms.

Extremely thin guidewires are available with pressure sensors or Doppler flow sensors. Data from these sensors can be used to estimate coronary artery blood flow, which is expressed as fractional flow reserve (FFR). FFR is the ratio of maximal flow through the stenotic area to normal maximal flow; an FFR of < 0.75 to 0.8 is considered abnormal.

These flow estimates correlate well with the need for intervention and long-term outcome; lesions with FFR > 0.8 do not seem to benefit from stenting. These flow measurements are most useful with intermediate lesions (40 to 70% stenosis) and with multiple lesions (to identify those that are clinically most significant).

Contraindications to Cardiac Catheterization

Relative contraindications to cardiac catheterization include

  • Renal insufficiency

  • Coagulopathy

  • Fever

  • Systemic infection

  • Uncontrolled arrhythmia or hypertension

  • Uncompensated heart failure

  • Radiopaque contrast agent allergies in patients who have not been appropriately premedicated

Complications of Cardiac Catheterization

The incidence of complications after cardiac catheterizations ranges from 0.8 to 8%, depending on patient factors, technical factors, and the experience of the operator. Patient factors that increase risk of complications include

  • Increasing age

  • Heart failure

  • Valvular heart disease

  • Peripheral arterial disease

  • COPD

  • Chronic kidney disease

  • Insulin-dependent diabetes

Most complications are minor and can be easily treated. Serious complications (eg, cardiac arrest, anaphylactic reactions, shock, seizures, cyanosis, renal toxicity) are rare. Mortality rate is 0.1 to 0.2%. Myocardial infarction (0.1%) and stroke (0.1%) may result in significant morbidity. Incidence of stroke is higher in patients > 80 yr.

In general, complications involve

  • The contrast agent

  • Effects of the catheter

  • The access site

Contrast agent complications

Injection of radiopaque contrast agent produces a transient sense of warmth throughout the body in many patients. Tachycardia, a slight fall in systemic pressure, an increase in CO, nausea, vomiting, and coughing may occur. Rarely, bradycardia occurs when a large amount of a contrast agent is injected; asking the patient to cough often restores normal rhythm.

More serious reactions (see also Radiographic Contrast Agents and Contrast Reactions) include

  • Allergic-type contrast reactions

  • Contrast nephropathy

Allergic reactions may include urticaria and conjunctivitis, which usually respond to diphenhydramine 50 mg IV. Anaphylaxis, with bronchospasm, laryngeal edema, and dyspnea are rare reactions; they are treated with inhaled albuterol or epinephrine 0.3 to 0.4 mL sc. Anaphylactic shock is treated with epinephrine and other supportive measures. Patients with a history of allergic reaction to contrast may be premedicated with prednisone (50 mg po 13 h, 7 h, and 1 h before injection of contrast) and diphenhydramine (50 mg po or IM 1 h before the injection). If patients require imaging immediately, they can be given diphenhydramine 50 mg po or IM 1 h before injection of contrast and hydrocortisone 200 mg IV q 4 h until imaging is completed.

Contrast nephropathy is defined as impairment of renal function (either a 25% increase in serum creatinine from baseline or a 0.5 mg/dL increase in absolute value) within 48 to 72 h of IV contrast administration. For patients at risk, use of low-osmolar or iso-osmolar contrast, and infusion of normal saline IV for 4 to 6 h before angiography and 6 to 12 h afterward reduces this risk. In such patients, assess serum creatinine 48 h after injection of contrast.

Catheter-related complications

If the catheter tip contacts the ventricular endocardium, ventricular arrhythmias commonly occur, but ventricular fibrillation is rare. If it occurs, direct current (DC) cardioversion is administered immediately.

Disruption of an atherosclerotic plaque by the catheter can release a shower of atheroemboli. Emboli from the aorta may cause stroke or nephropathy. Emboli from the coronary arteries may cause myocardial infarction.

Coronary artery dissection is possible.

Access site complications

Access site complications include

  • Bleeding

  • Hematoma

  • Pseudoaneurysm

  • Arteriovenous (AV) fistula

  • Limb ischemia

Bleeding from the access site may occur and usually resolves with compression. Mild bruises and small hematomas are common and do not require specific investigation or treatment.

A large or enlarging lump should be investigated using ultrasonography to distinguish hematoma from pseudoaneurysm. A bruit at the site (with or without pain) suggests an AV fistula, which can be diagnosed using ultrasonography. Hematomas usually resolve with time and do not require specific therapy. Pseudoaneurysms and AV fistulas usually resolve with compression; those that persist may require surgical repair.

Radial artery access is in general more comfortable for the patient and carries a much lower risk of hematoma or pseudoaneurysm or AV fistula formation when compared with femoral artery access.

More Information

Resources In This Article

* This is the Professional Version. *