默沙东 诊疗手册

Please confirm that you are not located inside the Russian Federation

加载中

老年人运动

作者:

Brian D. Johnston

, Exercise Specialist, International Association of Resistance Training

最后一次全面审校 9月 2018| 内容末次修改日期 9月 2018
点击此处进入专业版
注: 此为家庭版。 医生: 点击此处进入专业版
点击此处进入专业版

至少 75% 的 65 岁以上老人虽然了解锻炼的健康益处,但并不进行推荐水平的锻炼。

  • 延长寿命

  • 改善生活质量(如耐力、力量、情绪、灵活性、睡眠质量、精神状态)

此外,许多老年人并不了解锻炼强度以及他们所能承受的锻炼量。

锻炼是改善健康的最安全方式之一。由于老年人因年龄增长而体能下降且更常出现疾病,因此他们在锻炼中获得的益处可能多于年轻人。现已证明,即使在晚年开始锻炼也会受益。基本的适度力量训练有助于老年人进行日常生活活动。

身体活动不活跃的人开始锻炼后,健康受益最大,尤其在进行有氧运动时。

力量随年龄增长而减小,而力量减小可能使得功能受损。力量训练可增加肌肉质量,有意义的改善功能。肌肉质量增加后,相同程度的肌肉活动所需的心血管活动较小。增加腿肌力量可加快步行速度和爬梯速度。参加锻炼的老年人在发生重大疾病时的预后可能更佳。

并非所有老年人都可以安全地进行锻炼。一些心脏疾病和非受控高血压或糖尿病可能使得锻炼对一些人来说非常危险。关节炎等其他疾病可能会妨碍锻炼。不过,大多数老年人都可参加锻炼,即使那些患有心脏疾病的老年人。他们可能需要遵循特殊设计的锻炼项目或在医师、理疗师或注册训练师的监护下进行锻炼。如果锻炼过程中出现胸痛、头晕目眩或者感觉心跳不规律或过快(心悸),应停止锻炼并就医。

开始锻炼项目前,老年人应接受医生评估以检测心脏疾病和身体方面对锻炼的限制。通常无需进行心电图(ECG)检查,除非病史或体检过程中发现可能有问题。对于计划慢慢开始锻炼并逐渐增加强度的老年人,通常没有必要进行锻炼压力测试。对于身体活动不活跃且计划开始剧烈锻炼的人,尤其是如果医生怀疑他们有糖尿病、肺病或心脏疾病,医生可能会进行压力测试。

锻炼项目

与年轻人一样,适合老年人的综合性锻炼项目应包括

  • 有氧活动

  • 力量训练

  • 柔韧性和平衡训练

通常,医生或锻炼专业人员会设计出个体化项目帮助个人实现所有锻炼目标。力量训练可增加肌肉质量、耐力及力量。如通过全方位运动进行力量训练,许多锻炼都可提高柔韧性,且肌肉力量增加可改善关节稳定性因而改善平衡。此外,如果尽量减少两组运动之间的休息时间,运动变为有氧运动,因此也可改善心血管功能。

老年人有氧活动的持续时间与年轻成人相近,但锻炼的强度应较低。通常在锻炼过程中,锻炼人员应能够舒适地交谈。如果老年人没有限制锻炼的疾病,可逐渐将目标心率增至使用基于年龄的公式计算出的心率( 通常的最大和目标心率)。

对于有些身体不活跃的老年人,需要通过力量训练改善功能性能力之后才可进行有氧运动。

进行力量训练时遵循与年轻成人相同的原则和技术。最初用力(负荷/阻力)应较轻(例如,使用锻炼带或轻重量[2磅或1千克]或从座椅上起身),然后在耐受后增加。

为帮助增加柔韧性,应每天伸展一次主要肌群,理想情况下是在锻炼后肌肉的伸展阻力最小时进行。

平衡训练旨在通过不稳定环境中的锻炼(如单腿站立或使用平衡板)来寻找重心。平衡训练通常用于试图预防老年人跌倒,尤其当他们的位置感觉受损时。然而,其可能无效,因为任何平衡活动都需要专门技能(即在平衡板上站立时保持良好平衡并不会提高不相似活动中的平衡)。此外,此类平衡训练本身可能会使人跌倒。在大多数老年人中,柔韧性和力量训练可更有效地预防跌倒。此类项目发展关节周围力量从而增加稳定性,有助于人们在站立和走路时更有效地保持体位。

注: 此为家庭版。 医生: 点击此处进入专业版
点击此处进入专业版
获得

其他感兴趣资源

最新

顶部

Not Found

Find information on medical topics, symptoms, drugs, procedures, news and more, written in everyday language.

* This is the Consumer Version. *

Exercise in the Elderly

By Brian D. Johnston

At least 75% of people over age 65 do not exercise at recommended levels despite the known health benefits of exercise

  • Longer survival

  • Improved quality of life (eg, endurance, strength, mood, flexibility, mental function)

Furthermore, many older people are not aware of how hard to exercise and do not know how much exercise they are capable of.

Exercise is one of the safest ways to improve health. Because of the decline in physical capability due to aging and disorders that are more common among older people, older people may benefit from exercise more than younger people. Exercise has proven benefits even when begun in later years. Basic, modest strength training helps older people carry out activities of daily living.

The largest health benefits occur, particularly with aerobic exercise, when people who are not physically active begin exercising.

Strength decreases with age, and decreased strength can compromise function. Strength training can increase muscle mass, meaningfully improving function. With a larger muscle mass. the same degree of muscle work demands less cardiovascular exertion. Increasing leg muscle strength improves walking speed and stair climbing. Older people who exercise are likely to have a better prognosis during a critical illness.

Not all older people can exercise safely. Some heart disorders and uncontrolled high blood pressure or diabetes mellitus may make exercise dangerous for some people. Other disorders, such as arthritis, may make exercise difficult. However, most older people, even those with heart disorders, are able to exercise. They may need to follow a specially designed exercise program or exercise under the supervision of a trainer. People should stop exercising and seek medical help if they develop chest pains, light-headedness, or awareness of irregular or rapid heartbeats (palpitations) during exercise.

Before beginning an exercise program, older people should be evaluated by their doctors to detect heart disorders and physical limitations to exercise. Electrocardiography (ECG) is not usually needed unless the person's medical history or findings during the physical examination suggest a problem. Exercise stress testing is usually unnecessary for older people who plan to begin exercising slowly and increase intensity only gradually. Doctors may do stress testing for people who are not physically active who plan to begin intense exercise, especially if doctors suspect they have diabetes, a lung disorder, or a heart disorder.

Exercise program

As for younger people, a comprehensive exercise program for older people should include

  • Aerobic activity

  • Strength training

  • Flexibility and balance training

Often doctors or exercise professionals can design a single program to help the person achieve all exercise goals. Strength training improves muscle mass, endurance, and strength. If strength training is done through a full range of motion, many exercises improve flexibility, and the enhanced muscle strength improves joint stability and, consequently, balance. Moreover, if rests between sets are minimal, exercise can be aerobic and thus cardiovascular function can also improve.

Duration of aerobic activity for older people is similar to that for younger adults, but exercise should be less intense. Usually during exercise, the person should be able to comfortably converse. Older people who have no disorders that limit exercise can gradually increase their target heart rate to the one calculated by use of age-based formulas (see Table: Usual Maximum and Target Heart Rates).

Some older people who are not physically active need to improve their functional abilities by strength training before they will be able to do aerobic exercise.

Strength training is done according to the same principles and techniques as in younger adults. Lighter forces (loads/resistance) should be used initially (for example, using exercise bands or light weights [2 pounds, or 1 kilogram] or arising from a chair) and increased as tolerated.

To help increase flexibility, major muscle groups should be stretched once daily, ideally after exercise when muscles are least resistant to being stretched.

Balance training aims to challenge the center of gravity by exercising in unstable environments, such as standing on one leg or using balance boards. Balance training is often used in an attempt to prevent falls in older people, particularly if their position sensation is impaired. However, it may be ineffective because any balance activity is skill specific (that is, good balance while standing on a balance board does not improve balance in dissimilar activities). Also, such balance training itself can cause falls. For most older people, flexibility and strength training exercises prevent falls more effectively. Such a program develops strength around the joints, increasing stability, and helps people hold body positions more effectively while standing and walking.

* This is the Consumer Version. *