默沙东 诊疗手册

Please confirm that you are not located inside the Russian Federation

加载中

儿童中男性性腺机能减退

作者:

Andrew Calabria

, MD, Perelman School of Medicine at The University of Pennsylvania

最后一次全面审校 2月 2019| 内容末次修改日期 2月 2019
点击此处进入专业版
注: 此为家庭版。 医生: 点击此处进入专业版
点击此处进入专业版

性腺机能减退是指男性中睾酮、精子或两者的生成量下降。

  • 睾丸存在问题或者垂体或下丘脑(向睾丸发出信号生成 睾酮和精子)存在问题时,会发生性腺功能减退。

  • 根据 睾酮缺乏开始的年龄不同,症状有所不同。

  • 诊断基于检查、血检,有时会进行染色体分析。

  • 治疗取决于病因,但是可包括激素疗法。

垂体分泌称为促性腺激素的促卵泡激素和促黄体激素,它们刺激男性性器官产生男性性激素 睾酮和刺激睾丸产生精子。当缺乏 睾酮时,生长和性发育可能较慢、精子生成量较低、且阴茎可能较小。

性腺机能减退可能于胎儿在子宫内发育时或在儿童期早期或晚期发生。

性腺机能减退有两种基本类型

  • 原发性性腺机能减退:睾丸活动低下,不能生成足量的 睾酮

  • 继发性性腺机能减退:下丘脑或垂体不分泌刺激睾丸的激素。

原发性性腺机能减退

睾丸中存在问题时,会发生原发性性腺机能减退。最常见的原因是克兰费尔综合征。

Klinefelter 综合征

克兰费尔综合征的发生率约为 1/1,000 名男婴。它是由男孩中有两条或更多 X 染色体和一条 Y 染色体的染色体异常引起的。通常情况下男孩有一条 X 染色体和一条 Y 染色体。

睾丸通常较小且坚硬,仅生成少量 睾酮。这些男孩往往身高较高且手臂和腿异常长,可能出现乳房组织(男子乳腺发育),往往肌肉质量较低,并且与其他男孩相比面部和身体毛发较少。青春期发育(性成熟)可能不存在、延迟或不完整。

通常会于青春期发育时,因注意到性发育不充分而首先鉴别出此综合征,或在进行不育调查时于较晚期发现此症。

隐睾

在隐睾(睾丸未降)中,一个或两个睾丸留在腹腔。通常睾丸会在出生前不久降至阴囊内。在出生时,约 3% 的男孩存在睾丸未降,但是,其中大多数男孩的睾丸会在前四个月内自发降至阴囊内。隐睾的病因尚不清楚。

睾丸逸失综合征(双侧无睾症)

睾丸逸失综合征(双侧无睾症)的发生率约为 1/20,000 名男婴。子宫内早期发育期间睾丸可能存在,但是在出生之前或之后身体将其重新吸收。如果没有睾丸,则这些儿童无法生成 睾酮或精子。如果没有 睾酮或精子,则他们无法出现男性第二性征(如面部毛发和肌肉质量)且不育。

睾丸间细胞不存在

睾丸间细胞不存在(睾丸中通常会产生 睾酮的细胞)会导致生殖器部分发育或生殖器不明。生殖器不明是指不能明确判定是男性还是女性。出现这些缺陷的原因是,未生成足以刺激胎儿出现正常男性生殖器的 睾酮

努南综合征

努南综合征导致睾丸较小且不能生成足量的 睾酮。出现此综合征的原因是可遗传或较早发生于发育中胎儿的基因异常。儿童可能出现颈蹼、低耳、身材矮小、第四根手指(无名指)短以及心脏和血管异常。

继发性性腺机能减退

当垂体或下丘脑(控制垂体的大脑部分)出现问题,从而阻止垂体分泌可刺激睾丸的激素时,出现继发性性腺机能减退。一些病因涉及会导致许多其他异常的遗传性疾病。

全垂体功能减退

垂体停止生成激素或生成量减少时,会发生全垂体功能减退。当垂体受损时(如由于肿瘤或损伤),可能会发生此疾病。另请参见垂体功能减退症

卡尔曼综合征

卡尔曼综合征是一种导致青春期发育延迟和嗅觉受损的遗传性疾病。患有此综合征的儿童缺乏适量促黄体激素和促卵泡激素。受影响的男孩存在异常小的阴茎和未降的睾丸。

劳伦斯-穆恩综合征

劳伦斯-穆恩综合征是一种遗传性疾病,会导致肥胖、智力残疾、目盲和多指、多趾或两者(多指(趾)畸形)。随着眼睛后部的感光结构(视网膜)功能逐渐下降(名为色素性视网膜炎的疾病),会发生目盲。

单一性促黄体激素缺乏症

仅缺失一种垂体激素,即促黄体激素时,会发生单一性促黄体激素缺乏症。缺失促黄体激素时,睾丸会发育并生成精子,原因是这些功能也受到促卵泡激素的控制。然而,睾丸不能生成足量的 睾酮,所以受影响的男孩不会出现第二性征。这些男孩会继续生长,手臂和腿部可能异常长。

Prader-Willi 综合征

Prader-Willi 综合征是一种遗传性疾病,发生原因是一条染色体的一部分缺失。生殖器官功能异常减退,从而限制生长和性发育。患病男孩存在未降的睾丸和发育不全的阴茎和阴囊。

体质性青春期发育延迟

一些儿童其他方面正常但是未在通常年龄开始青春期发育,这种现象称为体质性青春期发育延迟。通常将出现体质性青春期发育延迟的儿童称为身体晚熟者。体质性延迟更常见于男孩中,且很多患儿有父母或兄弟姐妹青春期发育延迟的家族史。

对于患有体质性延迟的儿童,儿童期和青少年期身材矮小较常见,但由于通常在青春期发生的生长突增发生延迟,在预期的青春期发育时间生长会有所衰退。因此,在青春期初期受影响儿童与其同龄人之间的身高存在明显差异。这些儿童通常到 18 岁时表现出青春期发育迹象,并且最终达到正常身高并正常发育。然而,延迟可能导致焦虑。

生长缓慢并非由激素或遗传问题或潜在疾病(例如炎症性肠病或进食障碍)引起,但医生会评估儿童以排除其他原因导致身材矮小和青春期发育延迟

症状

性腺机能减退的症状因 睾酮缺乏症的发病年龄而异。

对于男性胎儿,在妊娠第 12 周之前 睾酮缺乏会导致生殖器发育不完全。尿道可能会在阴茎下方打开,而不是在阴茎末端。如果妊娠后期出现 睾酮缺乏症,则男性胎儿的阴茎可能异常小或睾丸不会降入阴囊。

患病男婴的生殖器可能男性化不足或看上去偏女性化,有时将此现象称为生殖器不明。

在男孩中,预期的青春期发育时间段发生的 睾酮缺乏会导致性发育不完全。受累的男孩声音音调高,跟同龄人相比肌肉发育欠佳。阴茎、睾丸和阴囊发育不全。阴毛和腋毛较稀疏且没有体毛。乳房可能增大(男子乳腺发育),手臂和腿异常长。

诊断

  • 血液化验

  • 染色体分析

当一个男孩出现发育异常或青春期发育延迟时,医生会怀疑并作出性腺机能减退的诊断。医生会检查男孩的阴茎和睾丸,以了解相对于年龄而言发育是否正常。

为确认诊断,医生进行血检,以测量 睾酮、促黄体激素和促卵泡激素水平。促黄体激素和促卵泡激素水平帮助医生确定性腺机能减退为原发性还是继发性疾病。

医生可进行染色体分析,特别是当他们怀疑出现 Klinefelter 综合征时。可通过分析血液样品进行染色体和基因评估 ( 染色体和基因异常的检测)。

治疗

  • 有时需要进行手术

  • 激素替代疗法

根据性腺机能减退病因,进行多种治疗。

对于隐睾,医生会进行手术,将未降的睾丸移入阴囊内,这通常可使睾丸发挥正常功能。手术修复有助于防止未来的并发症。

对于继发性性腺机能减退,医生会治疗任何垂体或下丘脑基础疾病。会给予睾酮补充剂,并在 18 至 24 个月后增加剂量。

对于 睾酮缺乏,与继发性性腺机能减退中一样,医生每隔 2 至 4 周向青少年患者注射睾酮,并在 18 至 24 个月后增加剂量。 睾酮也可以通过皮肤上的贴剂或凝胶形式输送。

对于青春期生长缓慢,医生可以注射睾酮 4 至 6 个月。低剂量的 睾酮能诱发青春期发育,促使一些男性特征(男性化)出现,而且不会危及青少年达到成年身高的可能性。

遗传性疾病无法治愈,但是激素疗法可帮助性征发育。

注: 此为家庭版。 医生: 点击此处进入专业版
点击此处进入专业版
获得

其他感兴趣资源

视频

查看全部
糖尿病
视频
糖尿病
在消化过程中,大部分吃下的食物会转换为葡萄糖,通常称为血糖。葡萄糖在血流中循环,并用作机体细胞的养料。但是细胞自身无法吸收葡萄糖。胰腺中生成的称为胰岛素的激素必须首先结合至细胞表面...
哮喘
视频
哮喘
哮喘,又称反应性气道疾病,是一种因支气管发炎导致呼吸受限的慢性疾病。支气管是肺部的大气道。哮喘发生于 3-5% 的成人和 7-10% 的儿童。重度哮喘发作每年可导致数以万计的死亡。...

最新

顶部

Not Found
Locations

Find information on medical topics, symptoms, drugs, procedures, news and more, written in everyday language.

* This is the Consumer Version. *

Male Hypogonadism in Children

By Andrew Calabria, MD, Perelman School of Medicine at The University of Pennsylvania;The Children's Hospital of Philadelphia

Hypogonadism is decreased production of testosterone, sperm, or both in males.

  • Hypogonadism occurs when there is a problem in the testes or a problem in the pituitary gland or the hypothalamus (which signal the testes to produce testosterone and sperm).

  • Symptoms vary depending at which age the testosterone deficiency begins.

  • The diagnosis is based on an examination, blood tests, and sometimes an analysis of the chromosomes.

  • Treatment depends on the cause but may include hormone therapy.

The pituitary gland secretes the hormones (called gonadotropins) that stimulate the testes to produce sperm (follicle-stimulating hormone and luteinizing hormone) and the male sex organs to produce the male sex hormone (androgen) testosterone. When testosterone is lacking, growth and sexual development may be slow, sperm production is low, and the penis may be small.

Hypogonadism can occur while a fetus is developing in the womb or can occur during early or later childhood.

There are two basic types of hypogonadism:

  • Primary hypogonadism: The testes are underactive and do not produce enough testosterone.

  • Secondary hypogonadism: The pituitary gland does not secrete the hormones that stimulate the testes.

Primary Hypogonadism

Primary hypogonadism occurs when there is a problem in the testes. The most common cause is Klinefelter syndrome.

Klinefelter syndrome

Klinefelter syndrome occurs in about 1 in every 1,000 male births. It is caused by a chromosomal abnormality in which boys have two or more X chromosomes and one Y chromosome. Boys normally have one X and one Y.

The testes are often small and firm and produce low amounts of testosterone. Boys tend to be tall with abnormally long arms and legs, may develop breast tissue (gynecomastia), and often have low muscle mass and less facial and body hair compared to other boys. Puberty (sexual maturity) may be absent, delayed, or incomplete.

The syndrome is usually first identified at puberty, when inadequate sexual development is noted, or later, when infertility is investigated.

Cryptorchidism

In cryptorchidism (undescended testes), one or both of the testes remain in the abdomen (see Undescended and Retractile Testes). Usually the testes descend into the scrotum shortly before birth. At birth, about 3% of boys have undescended testes, but, in most of them, the testes spontaneously descend on their own within the first 4 months of life. The cause of cryptorchidism is usually unknown.

Vanishing testes syndrome (bilateral anorchia)

Vanishing testes syndrome (bilateral anorchia) occurs in about 1 in every 20,000 male births. The testes are likely present during early development in the womb but are resorbed by the body before or after birth. Without testes, these children cannot produce testosterone or sperm. Without testosterone or sperm, they cannot develop male secondary sexual characteristics (such as facial hair and muscle mass) and are infertile.

Absence of Leydig cells

Absence of Leydig cells (cells in the testes that normally produce testosterone) leads to the development of partially developed genitals or ambiguous genitals (male pseudohermaphroditism). Ambiguous genitals are not clearly male or female. These defects develop because not enough testosterone is produced to stimulate the fetus to develop normal male genitals.

Noonan syndrome

Noonan syndrome results in small testes that do not produce enough testosterone. This syndrome is caused by a genetic abnormality that may be inherited or occur early in a developing fetus. Children may have webbing of the neck, low-set ears, short stature, shortened fourth (ring) fingers, and heart and blood vessel abnormalities.

Secondary Hypogonadism

Secondary hypogonadism occurs when there is a problem in the pituitary gland or the hypothalamus that prevents the pituitary gland from secreting the hormones that stimulate the testes. Some of the causes involve genetic disorders that cause many other abnormalities.

Panhypopituitarism

Panhypopituitarism is a disorder that occurs when the pituitary gland stops or decreases producing hormones. This disorder can occur when the pituitary gland is damaged (such as by a tumor or an injury). Also see Hypopituitarism.

Kallmann syndrome

Kallmann syndrome is a genetic disorder that causes delayed puberty and an impaired sense of smell. Children who have this syndrome are lacking proper amounts of luteinizing hormone and follicle-stimulating hormone. Affected boys have an unusually small penis and undescended testes.

Laurence-Moon syndrome

Laurence-Moon syndrome is a genetic disorder that causes obesity, intellectual disability, loss of vision, and extra fingers, toes, or both (polydactyly). Loss of vision occurs as the light-sensing structure at the back of the eye (the retina) gradually deteriorates (a disorder called retinitis pigmentosa).

Isolated luteinizing hormone deficiency

Isolated luteinizing hormone deficiency occurs when only one pituitary hormone, luteinizing hormone, is missing. When luteinizing hormone is missing, the testes develop and produce sperm, because these functions are also controlled by follicle-stimulating hormone. However, the testes do not produce enough testosterone, so affected boys do not develop secondary sexual characteristics. Boys do continue to grow and may have abnormally long arms and legs.

Prader-Willi syndrome

Prader-Willi syndrome is a genetic disorder that occurs because part of a chromosome is missing. The function of the reproductive organs is abnormally decreased, which limits growth and sexual development. Boys have undescended testes and an underdeveloped penis and scrotum.

Constitutional Delay of Puberty

Some children are normal but simply do not start puberty at the usual age, a phenomenon called constitutional delay of puberty. Children with constitutional delay of puberty are often referred to as late bloomers. Constitutional delay is more common among boys, and many children have a family history of delayed puberty in a parent or sibling.

Short stature is common during childhood and adolescence in children with constitutional delay, but at the expected time of puberty, growth often declines because the growth spurt that typically occurs at puberty is delayed. As a result, there is a noticeable difference in height between affected children and their peers during the early adolescent years. These children typically show signs of puberty by age 18 and ultimately reach a normal height and develop normally. However, the delay may cause anxiety.

Constitutional delay is not caused by hormonal or genetic problems or an underlying disorder (such as inflammatory bowel disease or eating disorders), but doctors evaluate children to rule out other causes of short stature and delayed puberty.

Symptoms

Symptoms vary depending at which age the testosterone deficiency begins.

In a male fetus,testosterone deficiency before the 12th week of pregnancy causes incomplete development of the genitals. The urethra may open on the underside of the penis instead of at its end. If testosteronedeficiency develops later in pregnancy, a male fetus may have an abnormally small penis or testes that do not descend into the scrotum.

A male infant may have genitals that appear less masculine (undervirilized) or appear more female, sometimes referred to as ambiguous genitalia.

In male children,testosterone deficiency that occurs at the time when puberty is expected results in incomplete sexual development. An affected boy retains a high-pitched voice and has poor muscle development for his age. The penis, testes, and scrotum are underdeveloped. Pubic and underarm hair is sparse and body hair does not exist. The breasts may enlarge (gynecomastia), and the arms and legs are abnormally long.

Diagnosis

  • Blood tests

  • Chromosomal analysis

Doctors suspect the diagnosis of hypogonadism when a boy has developmental abnormalities or delayed puberty. Doctors examine the boy's penis and testes to see whether they are normally developed for his age.

To confirm the diagnosis, doctors do blood tests to measure the levels of testosterone, luteinizing hormone, and follicle-stimulating hormone. The levels of luteinizing hormone and follicle-stimulating hormone help doctors determine whether hypogonadism is primary or secondary.

Doctors may do a chromosomal analysis, especially if they suspect Klinefelter syndrome. Chromosomes and genes can be evaluated by analyzing a sample of blood (see Testing for chromosomal and genetic abnormalities).

Treatment

  • Sometimes surgery

  • Replacement of hormones

Various treatments are done depending on the cause of hypogonadism.

For cryptorchidism, doctors do surgery to move the undescended testes into the scrotum, which usually enables the testes to function normally. Surgical repair helps prevent future complications.

For secondary hypogonadism, doctors treat any underlying disorder of the pituitary gland or hypothalamus. Supplements of testosterone are given, and the dose is increased over a period of 18 to 24 months.

For testosterone deficiency, as in secondary hypogonadism, doctors give adolescents injections of testosterone every 2 to 4 weeks, and the dose is increased over a period of 18 to 24 months. Testosterone can also be delivered through a patch on the skin or as a gel.

For constitutional delay of puberty, doctors give testosterone injections for 4 to 6 months. At low doses, testosteronestarts puberty, causes the development of some masculine characteristics (virilization), and does not prevent adolescents from reaching their adult height potential.

Genetic disorders cannot be cured, but hormone therapy may help sexual characteristics develop.

* This is the Consumer Version. *