默沙东 诊疗手册

Please confirm that you are not located inside the Russian Federation

加载中

婴儿和儿童甲状腺功能亢进症

作者:

Andrew Calabria

, MD, Perelman School of Medicine at The University of Pennsylvania

最后一次全面审校 2月 2019| 内容末次修改日期 2月 2019
点击此处进入专业版
注: 此为家庭版。 医生: 点击此处进入专业版
点击此处进入专业版
主题资源

甲状腺功能亢进症是指甲状腺激素生成量增加的疾病。

  • Graves 病是甲状腺功能亢进的常见原因,但甲状腺生长(结节)或炎症、药物和感染也可能是甲状腺功能亢进的原因。

  • 症状取决于儿童年龄,但通常会包括身体机能加快。

  • 诊断基于血检和影像学检查。

  • 出生前未接受治疗的婴儿可能出现智力残疾、生长不足和身材矮小,一些婴儿患者可能会死亡。

  • 治疗通常包括抗甲状腺药物和 β-受体阻断剂。

(另见成人甲状腺功能亢进。)

甲状腺是位于颈部的内分泌腺。内分泌腺分泌激素进入血液。激素是影响身体另一部分活动的化学信使。

甲状腺分泌甲状腺激素。甲状腺激素控制机体的代谢速度,包括心跳速率和机体的体温调节方式。如果甲状腺生成过多甲状腺激素,则这些功能会加速。

甲状腺的位置

甲状腺的位置

甲状腺功能亢进症可能发生于发育中胎儿或婴儿(见新生儿甲状腺功能亢进症)或者在儿童期或青春期发生。

婴幼儿

甲状腺功能亢进症在婴儿中很少见,但可能会危及生命。该病症出现在患有或曾患有 Graves 病的女性的胎儿中。对于 Graves 病,异常抗体刺激甲状腺生成过多的甲状腺激素。这些抗体可能穿过胎盘并刺激胎儿的甲状腺,进而可导致早产或甚至死亡。由于出生后婴儿不再暴露于母亲的抗体,因此新生儿 Graves 病通常为暂时性疾病但是持续时间有所不同。

儿童和青少年

对于 90% 以上的甲状腺功能亢进症儿童和青少年患者,病因是 Graves 病

较不常见的病因包括甲状腺上的生长物(结瘤)、甲状腺炎症(甲状腺炎,此情况下甲状腺功能亢进症为暂时性的,随后会发生甲状腺功能减退症。)和一些药物。暂时性甲状腺功能亢进症偶尔可能由感染所致,包括细菌(急性甲状腺炎)和病毒性(亚急性甲状腺炎)感染。

症状

根据儿童年龄不同,甲状腺功能亢进症的症状有所不同。

胎儿

胎儿的甲状腺功能亢进症症状可能早在中期妊娠时便会出现。受影响的胎儿表现出生长不良、心率很快和甲状腺肿大(甲状腺肿)。如果疾病在出生前很长一段时间内没有得到治疗,则约有 10% 至 15% 的婴儿死亡,而其他婴儿则出现智力发育损害、生长发育不良和身材矮小。

婴幼儿

在婴儿中,症状包括易怒、喂养问题、血压较高、心率较快、眼睛凸出、先天性甲状腺肿和颅骨异常。其他症状包括发育停滞、呕吐和腹泻。

大龄儿童和青少年

甲状腺功能亢进症的症状反映了身体功能的加快:

  • 入睡困难

  • 活动过度

  • 出汗

  • 疲劳

  • 体重减轻

  • 心率加快,血压上升

  • 排便次数较多

  • 震颤(颤抖)

尽管身体功能增加,但是注意力和在校表现下降。可能存在甲状腺肿。儿童可能出现眼睛发红或凸出。

急性甲状腺炎的症状突然出现。儿童会出现甲状腺压痛和发热。在亚急性甲状腺炎中,上述症状存在但是严重程度较低且可能在病毒性疾病后开始。发热可能会持续数周。

甲状腺功能亢进的并发症

甲状腺危象是甲状腺功能亢进症的一种罕见严重并发症,且是一种危及生命的紧急情况。在甲状腺危象中,甲状腺突然变得极其活跃。所有机体功能加速到了极危险的高水平。受影响儿童中的症状包括心率极快、体温较高、血压较高、心力衰竭和精神状态改变。此疾病可导致昏迷和死亡。

诊断

  • 甲状腺功能检查

  • 有时需要影像学检查

在婴儿中,如果母亲患有活动性 Graves 病或有 Graves 病史且甲状腺刺激性抗体水平高,医生会怀疑甲状腺功能亢进的诊断。为确认诊断,医生进行检查,以确定血液中的甲状腺激素水平(甲状腺功能检查)。

在较大儿童和青少年中,医生进行甲状腺功能检查。如果甲状腺摸上去不对称或在甲状腺上触摸到生长物(结瘤),则医生也会对患有 Graves 病的大龄儿童进行超声检查。如果在超声检查过程中发现结瘤,则医生会用针取出一块(称为细针抽吸活检术)来确定此患儿是否患有甲状腺癌。医生也可进行放射性核素扫描,以确定结瘤是否是甲状腺激素过量的病因。

预后

如果出生前未检测出甲状腺功能亢进症,则在胎儿期出现甲状腺功能亢进症的婴儿可能会受到严重影响。颅骨间空隙可能过早闭合(称为颅缝早闭),他们可能出现智力残疾、生长不足及身材矮小。约 10% 至 15% 的婴儿患者可能会死亡。

患有新生儿 Graves 病的婴儿几乎总会在 6 个月内恢复。如果母亲未在妊娠时服用减少腺体的甲状腺激素生成量的药物(抗甲状腺药物),则婴儿会在出生时患有甲状腺功能亢进症。如果母亲正在服用药物,则在出生后约 3 至 7 天内婴儿可能不会显示出甲状腺功能亢进症的症状。

如果抗甲状腺药物无效或症状重新出现,则患有 Graves 病的大龄儿童可能会对甲状腺药物有反应或可能需要其他治疗,以永久治疗此疾病。

治疗

  • 抗甲状腺药物

  • β-受体阻滞剂

  • 有时进行放射性碘或手术治疗

向患儿给予可减少甲状腺的甲状腺激素生成量的抗甲状腺药物(如甲巯咪唑)。β-受体阻断剂是可使心率变慢的药物,仅当心率过快或血压过高时才可使用此类药物。在抗甲状腺药物生效后,停止 β-受体阻断剂治疗。患有新生儿甲状腺功能亢进症的婴儿几乎总会在 6 个月内恢复,且不再需要抗甲状腺药物。接受抗甲状腺药物治疗的大龄儿童的症状最终可消失(称为缓解),但是在一些患儿中症状可重新出现(称为复发),他们可能需要进一步治疗。

有时 Graves 病患儿需要其他治疗,以永久性治疗此疾病。如果抗甲状腺药物无效(或儿童未服用药物)或者如果药物产生了严重副作用,则可能需要永久性治疗(最终治疗)。在根治性治疗中,用放射性碘破坏甲状腺或通过手术切除甲状腺。然而,通常不会向 10 岁以下儿童给予放射性碘,且在甲状腺较大的患者中通常无效。因此,可对出现这些因素的儿童和青少年进行手术。

手术切除结节。

使用抗生素治疗急性甲状腺炎。不使用抗生素治疗亚急性甲状腺炎,但是会给予非甾体抗炎药物 (NSAID) 以缓解疼痛。不会向儿童给予抗甲状腺药物,但是可能给予 β-受体阻断剂。

注: 此为家庭版。 医生: 点击此处进入专业版
点击此处进入专业版
获得

其他感兴趣资源

视频

查看全部
Overview of Cerebral Palsy
视频
Overview of Cerebral Palsy
3D 模型
查看全部
普通感冒
3D 模型
普通感冒

最新

顶部

Not Found

Find information on medical topics, symptoms, drugs, procedures, news and more, written in everyday language.

* This is the Consumer Version. *

Hyperthyroidism in Infants and Children

By Andrew Calabria, MD

Hyperthyroidism is increased production of thyroid hormone.

  • Graves disease is the usual cause of hyperthyroidism, but growths on or inflammation of the thyroid gland, drugs, and infections can be causes too.

  • Symptoms depend on the child's age but typically include speeding up of bodily functions.

  • The diagnosis is based on blood tests and imaging tests.

  • Infants who are not treated until birth may have intellectual disability, growth failure, and short stature, and some may die.

  • Treatment typically includes antithyroid drugs and beta-blockers.

(For adults, also see Hyperthyroidism.)

The thyroid gland secretes thyroid hormone. Thyroid hormone controls the speed of the body's metabolism, including how fast the heart beats and how the body regulates temperature. If the thyroid gland produces too much thyroid hormone, these functions speed up.

Hyperthyroidism can occur in a developing fetus or infant (see Hyperthyroidism in the Newborn) or during childhood or adolescence.


Hyperthyroidism is rare in infants but can be life-threatening. It develops in fetuses of women who have or have had Graves disease. In Graves disease, abnormal antibodies stimulate the thyroid gland to produce excess thyroid hormone. These antibodies may cross the placenta and stimulate the thyroid gland in the fetus, which may cause premature birth or even death. Because infants are no longer exposed to the mother's antibodies after birth, Graves disease in the newborn (neonatal Graves disease) is usually temporary but the duration varies.

Children and adolescents

The cause of hyperthyroidism in more than 90% of children and adolescents is Graves disease.

Less common causes include growths (nodules) on the thyroid gland, inflammation of the thyroid gland ( thyroiditis in which hyperthyroidism is temporary, being followed by hypothyroidism), and some drugs. Occasionally, temporary hyperthyroidism can be caused by infections, including bacterial (acute thyroiditis) and viral ( subacute thyroiditis) infections.


Symptoms of hyperthyroidism differ depending on the age of the child.


Symptoms of hyperthyroidism in fetuses may appear as early as the second trimester. Affected fetuses have poor growth, a very fast heart rate, and an enlarged thyroid gland ( goiter). If the disorder is present and untreated for a long period before birth, about 15% of infants die and others have impaired intellectual development, poor growth, and short stature.


In infants, symptoms include irritability, feeding problems, high blood pressure, fast heart rate, bulging eyes, congenital goiter, and skull abnormalities. Other symptoms include failure to thrive, vomiting, and diarrhea.

Children and adolescents

Symptoms of hyperthyroidism reflect the speeding up of bodily functions:

  • Sleep difficulties

  • Hyperactivity

  • Sweating

  • Fatigue

  • Weight loss

  • Increased heart rate and blood pressure

  • Frequent bowel movements

  • Tremors (shakiness)

Although bodily functions increase, concentration and school performance decrease. Goiter may be present. Children may have red or bulging eyes.

Symptoms of acute thyroiditis develop suddenly. Children have tenderness over the thyroid gland, and fever. In subacute thyroiditis, these symptoms are present but are less severe and may begin after a viral illness. Fever may last for several weeks.


Thyroid storm is a rare, severe complication of hyperthyroidism and a life-threatening emergency. In thyroid storm, the thyroid gland becomes suddenly and extremely active. All body functions are accelerated to dangerously high levels. Symptoms in affected children include an extremely fast heart rate, high body temperature, high blood pressure, heart failure, and changes in mental status. This disorder can lead to coma and death.


  • Thyroid function tests

  • Sometimes imaging tests

Doctors suspect the diagnosis of hyperthyroidism in infants whose mothers have active Graves disease or a history of Graves disease and high levels of thyroid-stimulating antibodies. To confirm the diagnosis, doctors do tests to determine levels of thyroid hormones in the blood ( thyroid function tests).

In older children and adolescents, doctors do thyroid function tests. Doctors also do ultrasonography on older children who have Graves disease if the thyroid gland feels asymmetric or they feel a growth (nodule) on the thyroid gland. If a nodule is found during ultrasonography, doctors remove a piece of it using a needle (called fine-needle aspiration biopsy) to determine whether the child has thyroid cancer. Doctors may also do radionuclide scanning to see whether the nodule is the source of the excess thyroid hormone.


Infants who developed hyperthyroidism as a fetus may be severely affected if hyperthyroidism is not detected until birth. The space between their skull bones may close too soon (called craniosynostosis) and they may have intellectual disability, growth failure, and short stature. About 10 to 15% of infants may die.

Infants who have neonatal Graves disease almost always recover within 6 months. If the mother did not take drugs that decrease the gland's production of thyroid hormones (antithyroid drugs) while pregnant, infants have hyperthyroidism at birth. If the mother is taking drugs, infants may not show symptoms of hyperthyroidism for about 3 to 7 days.

Older children who have Graves disease may respond to antithyroid drugs or may need additional treatments to permanently treat the disorder if antithyroid drugs are not effective or if symptoms return.


  • Antithyroid drugs

  • Beta-blockers

  • Sometimes radioactive iodine or surgery

Children are given antithyroid drugs (such as methimazole) which decrease the thyroid gland's production of thyroid hormones. Beta-blockers are drugs that slow the heart rate and are used only if the heart rate is too fast or blood pressure is too high. Treatment with beta-blockers is stopped after the antithyroid drugs have taken effect. Infants who have neonatal hyperthyroidism almost always recover by 6 months and no longer need antithyroid drugs. Symptoms in older children treated with antithyroid drugs may eventually disappear (called remission), but symptoms may return (called relapse) in some children and they may need further treatment.

Sometimes children with Graves disease need additional treatments to permanently treat the disorder. Permanent treatment (definitive therapy) may be needed if the antithyroid drugs do not work (or the child does not take them) or if the drugs are causing serious side effects. In definitive therapy, the gland is destroyed with radioactive iodine or surgery. However, radioactive iodine is usually not given to children who are under age 10 and is often not effective in people who have larger thyroid glands. Therefore, surgery may be done instead for children and adolescents who have these factors.

Nodules are removed surgically.

Acute thyroiditis is treated with antibiotics. Subacute thyroiditis is not treated with antibiotics, but nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAIDs) are given for pain. Children are not given antithyroid drugs, but beta-blockers may be given.

* This is the Consumer Version. *